We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review - idyllic seaside location and excellent food too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Luxury Suites
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Here's a plan for a terrific day out on Hydra.
Take a boat or water taxi from the port to Vlychos (5 minutes or so) or have an energetic (about half an hour) walk along the coastal path.
On arrival, acquire sun lounger at a cost of 3 euros per person. Enjoy frappe, juice or whatever while looking out to sea. Have a dip (plastic shoes recommended as the stones on the beach here are a little harder to negotiate than some of the other Hydra beaches).
Work up appetite. Struggle a few paces to the Four Seasons beach restaurant. Simple tables under a canopy. Continue looking out to sea.
Return to sun lounger.
You can eat well prepared Greek taverna staples here and you won't go wrong. But the fish is also excellent if you are feeling more extravagant and this is certainly the place to enjoy it. Unless you are an aficionado I wouldn't worry about the lobster - Greek lobsters are skimpier than their North American counterparts and harder work. We've eaten here a number of times over the years, as a couple and as part of larger groups and so far we have never been disappointed.
Service is friendly and efficient.
I haven't seen the hotel rooms but am told that they are very nice. It's a small hotel (don't go expecting it to be part of the chain) and I imagine it would be a lovely, peaceful spot to get away from it all - especially later at night or earlier in the day when the day visitors are not around. But you will need to look elsewhere for reviews of the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofia m, Front Office Manager at Four Seasons Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear Jamie,

Many thanks for having taken the time to publish such a lovely comment of your experience at the fourseasonshydra. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your day, leaving with such a positive impression of the food, setting and service. It is always a pleasure to receive such a feedback and it would be my pleasure to share your comments with my colleagues. We hope to see you very soon and surprise you pleasantly with new homemade delicacies.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back not only at the beach and in the restaurant, but also as residents of our beautiful suites.

With very friendly greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 91 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Four Seasons Hydra. The hotel is an excellent value for the money and the service was warm and welcoming. The housekeeper knew all of our names and hugged all of our children on a daily basis. It is removed from the main port but very easy to get there either via water taxi or a lovely walk. The beach is rocky but the water was perfect. The air conditioning is excellent, the waiters were happy to help us and could not have been more friendly. We would not hesitate to return to this hidden gem. We had the winter and summer suites, 2 mothers traveling with 5 children and the space worked perfectly, lovely ocean view terrace with large table and two lounge chairs. The beach gets a bit crowded during the day with people coming for lunch and beach but it is noting unmanageable.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank NYCMom1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorresS, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Blair and Tricia

Thank you very much for sharing your remarks about your stay with us. All our staff members aim to do everything in their power to fulfill our guests’ needs and exceed their expectations, as our guests are the reason we are here. I'll share your wonderful review with our team to make sure they know how much their efforts are noticed and appreciated.

I hope your trip with your children was memorable all around

We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

With very friendly greetings from us all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We walked from our villa (2 teenagers 2 adults) along the coast path and came across this hotel - no idea if it's part of the 4 season chain as its small, restaurant is under a canopy overlooking the sea, sunbeds to hire but we only ate. We has the most amazing tasty meal : massive portion of mousakka, tarasamalata, tatziki, fried baby squid, HUGE salad, bread, pitta, halumi, fried zucchini, chips, olives, big bottle water, 2 lemonade, cola, watermelon fruit salad and orange cake for €70 - bargain!!! Waiters friendly and speak good English, defiantly best place so far we have eaten in Hydra - fresh, tasty and incredibly reasonable! A hidden gem!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pluma n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorresS, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your lunch at the fourseasonshydra restaurant and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experience.
Above all, we are happy that you enjoyed the quality of service, which is of the utmost importance for us.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again, hopefully soon, this time as guests in our unique suites.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This place is truly wonderful. We almost didn't post this review for fear of it becoming too popular. Others have said that the one downside is that its far from town. In fact, this is a HUGE plus. It is secluded and relaxing and romantic. The restaurant is great and the beach is quiet. The staff is incredibly helpful and cordial.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms and all seemed excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorresS, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Wow, thank you for your review! Here at the Fourseasonshydra we are glad that we were able to meet your expectation and make your stay with us a memorable one. Being able to ensure our guests are enjoying themselves while staying with us is of the utmost importance. We look forward to having a chance to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

One of the best holidays we have ever had. Perfect place,
excellent food,best staff you could imagine.Even if you don't stay at the hotel,the restaurant, directly located at the sea front, is worth a visit. Tanks to all at Four Seasons,who made our stay a dream-come-true. I am sure,we will be back again!
My advice: Go there, if you can!!


  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorresS, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We thank you for sharing your opinion at the Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time here at the Fourseasonshydra. Making sure our guests are comfortable is a top priority and we are excited to know that we accomplished that during your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We loved the island of Hydra and we loved the 4 Seasons Luxury Suites in Hydra. The island is remarkably beautiful. It is also remarkably quiet , as cars are banned from the island. The only way to get around is walking, boats, or donkeys. The 4 Seasons is about an 8 minute boat ride from the main town of Hydra, and that makes it even better. It is isolated and quiet. Each room (and there are only 6 rooms) is a lovely suite, and the views from my room were just astounding. The staff was great, very accommodating. There is a free breakfast on the beach each morning, and the staff was happy to accommodate our requests. The beach is rocky, not sandy, so if you like a sand beach you will have to choose another island. But we found this to be a very minor problem. All in all we could just think of one word for our stay at 4 Seasons Hydra and that word was paradise.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorresS, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for taking a moment and sharing your kind words on TripAdvisor. Our goal is to exceed our guests expectations. There is nothing more rewarding than knowing our guests are happy with our level of service and accommodations. Once again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The location of this hotel is really nice ... on the beach and away from the "city", but still very accessible by walking (40 min.) or using the hotel shuttle. The environment is quiet and beautiful, the staff is very efficient and the restaurant is very nice. Do not miss to eat there at sunset is really very romantic. A place not to be missed ... we'll definitely return !

(Don't forget your beach shoes ;-)

Room Tip: Every "suite" is appreciable, but the "Summer"-one have his own terrace !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofia m, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Bernard

It’s really very flattering and amazing to see a friend dedicating some of his precious time to share a comment. I really thank you, on behalf of the rest of the fourseasonshydra crew for your review. Such remarks are so encouraging for us all, who give the best of ourselves in order your stay to remain unforgettable in all aspects.

Once again thank you a lot, and we really hope to welcoming you again next summer.

All the best
Sofia Mores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
1.5 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#1 of 20 in Hydra
510 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#5 of 20 in Hydra
344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hydra
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Luxury Suites

Address: Vlyhos Beach, 18040, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range: $136 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Seasons Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your personal paradise!! The Fourseasonshydra in the unique island of Hydra, Greece between the mountains and the sea!!! A true luxury suite hotel with exceptional service, and beyond a doubt the absolute best location on the island to enjoy the most breathtaking sunsets and the endless blue Aegean sea Choose from a simple but elegant menu of classic Greek & Mediterranean cuisine! Our chef has carefully chosen the traditional favorites of the region tempting and tantalizing the taste buds. Add a fine list of Greek wines and a splendid finish of coffees and sweets, and your evening is complete and just within a few steps of your Fourseasonshydra home. Or stop by the Bar for a nightcap and let your magical evening continue... The luxurious and romantic suites are really part of an authentic, splendidly restored captain's mansion. Each Suite is brilliantly and traditionally designed having stayed true to the original style of the Island representing an inimitable sample of traditional Greek architecture with attention to detail Drink and Dine Watching the Sun setting in the Horizon If you are dreaming of rest, relaxation and tranquility in a stunning setting with truly personal service, then we can make your dreams come true ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Luxury Suites & Restaurant Hotel Hydra
Four Seasons Luxury Suites And Restaurant
4 Seasons Luxury Suites & Restaurant
Hydra Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing