We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Luxury Suites
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've just returned from an amazing stay at Four Seasons. We were two families, one with two children the other with one child and we rented the Winter and Summer suites which are right next to each other and share a very nice back patio with an outdoor dining table that seats 8.

Everything was perfect at the Four Seasons, from the rooms to the beach to the food to the service. We are from America and our greek is non-exisitent but that didn't matter at all as the staff was wonderfully fluent in English and extremely gracious.

We were there on a holiday weekend and so the 'organized beach' filled up, but since we were staying at the resort we were able to put towels down on the best chairs in the morning before people arrived from Hydra by boat.

We ate many meals at the Four Seasons and everything was amazing. The fish was caught that day (they show you the seafood before they cook it, it is that fresh.) Many of the vegetables are grown in their garden, and I suspect that the eggs from breakfast were from their chickens (I heard the rooster when I was up early one morning for a run.)

There is a beautiful path to run / hike out of the hotel along the coast of the island. There is a bit of a climb but all the better for some amazing views.

The beach is incredible, but has small stones so be sure to bring water shoes or sandals that you can wade into the water with.

The town of Hydra is just minutes by water taxi and has great shopping and dining as well. Kids loved jumping off small cliff right at the edge of town, followed by 'boat drinks' (virgin Pina Coladas) from a great cliff side bar at the mouth of the small harbor.

Once again, can't say enough about the Four Seasons and Hydra, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 91 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

HI FIRST OF ALL I MIGHT RAMBLE SO PLEASE BEAR WITH ME, SECONDLY I HAVE REVIEWED OTHER PLACES WE ATE IN HYDRA SO WILL COPY THIS INTRO ONTO THE OTHER REVIEWS SO IF YOU ARE INTERESTED PLEASE GO TO LINKS,o K WHERE DO I START hydra is the place LEONARD COHEN LIVED IN THE SIXTIES AND WROTE AN AWFUL LOT OF SONGS BIRD ON A WIRE CAME FROM THE FIRST ELECTRIC LINES OUTSIDE HIS HOUSE Marianne the muse to so many songs first met and then lived with Cohen here , Leonard still owns a house here but no one can ever find it , the locals just point up to the hills and say its somewhere there, Bills bar a line in another song has gone but its part of a restaurant and hotel that i have reviewed on this trip so you can still stand inside it, ( The owner died recently in Amersham England Bills Ashes where scattered in the sea around hydra )I guess by now if you came here to read a review on the four seasons and you have never heard of LC you are bemused but please if you haven't first Google him then listen to him then visit Hydra . Someone once wrote that Hydra is a magical place that is also suffocating its true i have been here several time and i always get its beauty and its darkness but do do go Ok the next thing is that hydra is expensive it just is, so live with it its a very upmarket island now finally (i hear you say ) we come to the four seasons the hotel is situated on a beach a five min boat ride from the hydra port its a free ride on the boat when you arrive and when you go in between its 3 euro a person each way the last boat is 8pm so after that you walk (40 mins ) or a water taxi 20 euro the staff are fantastic and i don't say that very often if you need a transfer from Athens Airport they will arrange everything and its fantastic value the driver speaks perfect English and its just great service, the hotel suites are perfect not quite as good as they appear on the web but good enough we stayed in spring personally i would have preferred a balcony with a front sea vie the suite next door had one but its a bit churlish to complain because there is a large patio at the back with great sea views there is no local shop i think on the web site they say there is so if you want to buy coffee or cigarettes( i know i should t ok ) then get them in hydra befor you come out oh yes and the so called satellite TV is rubbish only CNN in English but really you don't go on holiday to watch TV so its not a complaint just a fact, where i would have a small issue however would be the restaurant its on the beach the staff are great but the issue is the food very well priced for hydra and good value but always cold ( i love hot food) and half the menu always missing no sword fish no salmon ect ect its annoying second again a pet hate of mine no ambiance please please use candles a little music its a stunning location i dont get why with little effort they could make it magical it drives me mad, ok rant over good to sum up perfect location a little like being in the Bahamas without the white sand a truly beautiful island very nice rooms great staff fantastic location let down by the food but not enough to worry about would i go back and dear reader this in my mind is always the important question YES i would, thanks for reading enjoy Paul

Room Tip: ask for hot food and bring anythink you need in the shops with you before you leave Hydra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were a family of three and the first guests for the new season so we had undivided attention. The whole place was immaculate, both outside areas and our room - beautifully presented and tastefully decorated. We walked into Hydra each day, both ways, no hardship for people on vacation, with time(40 minutes). The water taxi to here is about 18 euro, we used these a couple of times too. Breakfast at the four seasons was fresh, tasty and catered to varying tastes. The restaurant offered minimal choice as it really wasn't functioning at full capacity, they were accommodating though.

Room Tip: We stayed in the autumn room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moogletpooglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Here is my trip report for the Four Seasons Hotel Suites. As I do normally, I put things in neat little categories for you all to read. As I write quickly, please forgive any grammar or spelling errors, but I think you'll get the gist...

TRANSPORTATION:

As always, we choose to travel in the highest category whenever traveling by Greek Boat. The cost is usually only minimally more. To Hydra we went on the Flying Cat 1 from Piraeus and cost my wife and me 32.00 Euros each way, a piece. The Flying Cat 1 has a dedicated Everest Café (Greek Chain fast food joint) and very comfortable, large reclining Airline style seats and a small table next to the seat, or across from you if you are in 6 seat configuration. Overall, it's nicer than the economy bunched up seating.

THE STAFF:

The staff of the Four Season's Hotel was nice, polite, and helpful. Special note goes to Matina, the young woman who works at the check-in desk who always had a great smile, day or night. We had an issue with the room initially, and they were quick to resolve it, and provided us with another room which was more suitable to our needs. The issue was just that we didn't like being on the ground floor and having to use the air conditioning but that's our issue and may not affect your decision.

AMENITIES OF THE HOTEL:

The Hotel has a full service restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with a great selection of fresh fish and Greek typical dishes. The breakfast was certainly fantastic, much different than typical Greek hotels. The breakfast could be eaten at whatever time you wanted, and we took advantage of that and had breakfast both days around 11:00AM. The breakfast had plenty of choices (all made to order and not buffet style) between American style breakfast with friend/boiled eggs, toast, bacon, coffee, fruit, yoghurt, and real fresh squeezed juice, and not the typical Greek watered down orange imitation drink. Also, if you didn't want that breakfast, you could have continental breakfast, and even a Dakos (Tomato, feta cheese, and crunchy rusk bread). Breakfast was served right on the water as well, so you had a great sea view to drink your coffee.. Overall, the service and food was tops!

THE ROOMS:

The best room (in our opinion) was the Anoiksi (Spring) room. It has windows on both sides of the master bedroom for a nice cross breeze and reminds of living in a penthouse. The only drawback is that this room did not have a balcony but as mentioned you can leave the windows (with screens) open at night and don't have to use the air conditioning, and you are high enough not to worry about unwanted visitors at night!!! But, let me state that this is a small island with no crime, so it's highly unlikely that you'd have a visitor anyways!

The room we had before was called Kalokeri (Summer) room. This room has a front balcony but it is on ground floor so you have to lock windows at night and use AC which is not optimum for us. Some people I understand still leave their windows open, but being on the ground floor with easy access into our rooms was not something we are used to or plan to do. But for those that are not concerned, this room is certainly a nice room as well.

The other preferred room we noticed is called the Fthinopero (Autumn or Fall) room. It has a window/front balcony overlooking the sea but no penthouse style window like the anoiksi (spring) room. But, you can also leave your window open at night and have a nice little balcony in front with a view to the sea.

Overall, I was impressed that these rooms had screens which most Greek places just don't have, so the owner and designer surprised me with his hindsight to have USA standards when it comes to screen windows.

HOUSEKEEPING:

Housekeeping was prompt, and the young Greek woman who cleaned our room was very polite and even spoke English a bit, so that was helpful.

OVERALL:

We truly enjoyed the view, food, hospitality and service at this "bed and breakfast" style Hotel. They don't bill it as sort, but that's about as close to a bed and breakfast you'll find in Greece, and this place was a great venue for Romance as it was very quiet and peaceful.

RESTAURANTS: We did visit a few other restaurants on the island, and I made a review on one of them which was Omilos, but I would also advise eating at Mandraki 1800, which is about a 20 min walk past the History museum. You can also take a water taxi there as well. Mandraki 1800 did not have a trip advisor template so I couldn't review it now, but I would recommend eating there as it was like being on a deserted island, and having a wonderful meal by your adopted Greek uncle and aunt, and with that cozy little harbor view. Reminds me of stories of Greece from the 1950s.. Worth the 20 minute walk there and ask for Lazarus the owner and he'll take care of you.

TOWN: Hydra town in some ways looks just like I remembered it in 1992 which was my last time I visited there. It's still a quaint little hamlet full of friendly, kitty cats, that seem to lay anywhere (and I mean anywhere) they choose. We had to move around cats frequently who were just laying in the middle of the road. But remember, other than garbage trucks, this island has no vehicles, so I guess the cats also know that!!

ATTRACTIONS: Not too many attractions but the History museum was nice, with a great collection of swords, weapons from Greek militaries of long ago, as well as some other Naval memorabilia. You can also visit some of the art galleries as well on the island, and google Hydra and New York Times to read a n article/review from 2011 of the best places to see Art while on Hydra.

Room Tip: See my review on which rooms to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USGuy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Took a day trip to Hydra from Athens and it was the best thing I did during my visit to Greece. Ended up getting a sea taxi to the Four Seasons at Plaka as it was recommended by a local. The taxi was a rip-off but the beach and restaurant were fantastic.

€3 Euros for the lounger and umbrella for the day and only 20 feet to the sea. Had lunch at the restaurant and it was one of the best meals I had during my visit.

Will be booking a proper stay there next year when I go Island hopping round Greece.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have visted Hydra for many years and spent 5 nights at the fourseasons in July. This was our first time actually staying at the hotel although we have previously visited the beach and restaurant. It was a truly memorable vacation. We stayed in the autumn suite, a spacious, well appointed room (Korres products in the bathroom) with a large rear terrace and small front balcony. Staff were exceptionally professional, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served in the restaurant on the beach and consisted of either English, Greek or Continental options. Dining in the evening was especially memorable watching the sun set behind the Peloponnese and listening to the waves gently break on the beach. The fourseasons is located at Plakes and is about a 2 mile walk from Hydra town. The hotel has a small boat that sails between the hotel and the port although the last one departs at 8pm. If you plan to have a late evening in town there are water taxis to bring you back, but make sure to reserve one if you plan to stay out after midnight!
In summary, if you are looking to escape the rat race and for somewhere to unwind and go swimming at 7am or after midnight, then look no further. This is a unique hotel on a very unique island.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ian_Pat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Escape the busy Hydra port and find paradise in this beatifully made hotel. Set right on the beach, overlooking the Peloponese and the sunset, you are sure to relax in an environment where all you hear are the sounds of the waves and the birds.. The five suites are very spacious, offering large verandas with great views, and the staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femaleaffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#5 of 20 in Hydra
343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hydra
243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#7 of 20 in Hydra
186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#6 of 20 in Hydra
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Luxury Suites

Address: Vlyhos Beach, 18040, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range: $130 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Seasons Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your personal paradise!! The Fourseasonshydra in the unique island of Hydra, Greece between the mountains and the sea!!! A true luxury suite hotel with exceptional service, and beyond a doubt the absolute best location on the island to enjoy the most breathtaking sunsets and the endless blue Aegean sea Choose from a simple but elegant menu of classic Greek & Mediterranean cuisine! Our chef has carefully chosen the traditional favorites of the region tempting and tantalizing the taste buds. Add a fine list of Greek wines and a splendid finish of coffees and sweets, and your evening is complete and just within a few steps of your Fourseasonshydra home. Or stop by the Bar for a nightcap and let your magical evening continue... The luxurious and romantic suites are really part of an authentic, splendidly restored captain's mansion. Each Suite is brilliantly and traditionally designed having stayed true to the original style of the Island representing an inimitable sample of traditional Greek architecture with attention to detail Drink and Dine Watching the Sun setting in the Horizon If you are dreaming of rest, relaxation and tranquility in a stunning setting with truly personal service, then we can make your dreams come true ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Seasons Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Luxury Suites & Restaurant Hotel Hydra
Four Seasons Luxury Suites And Restaurant
4 Seasons Luxury Suites & Restaurant
Hydra Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing