We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot!”
Review of Amarillis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amarillis Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Reviewed July 5, 2008

This was a great hotel and a fantastic deal! If we're ever fortunate enough to go back to Hydra, we'll stay here!

Right in the village, only a minute or so from the harbor. A small hotel of about 10 rooms. The owner knows the balance between being overly attentive and helpful. I was a little surprised that I needed to fax my credit card info to hold the room (as if we were still booking in the early 90s), but it was well worth it. After I booked the owner increased the rates on the website... I was certain he'd charge me the extra 10 Euros/night, but he honored the original rate without me saying anything!

Don't stay here if you're looking for swanky features or hoity-toity staff. Do stay here if you want your trip to Greece to feel like you're in Greece (and not just in some McResort Hotel), and maybe a little like you're part of the family. If you're a fan of "green travel" this hotel has a few features you may appreciate, like how the room's power shuts off when you leave, and how they dry the bedding and towels on the clothesline up on the roof.

No breakfast served, but the small refrigerator and coffee pot in the hotel help out with that... as do the two nearby bakeries.

The hotel also may be on the web with different spellings (Amaryllis, etc.).

The hotel is close enough to the harbor, and there is relatively zero elevation change, so if you're able to tote your own luggage about three or four blocks, you don't need to rent/hire a donkey.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chesterjibowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 36 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Diego D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alizé B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Aurelie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ησυχα δωματια και καθαρα!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anisa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ζητήστε από νωρίς το στίλ του δωματιου που προτιμάτε (μπαλκόνι, μονό-διπλό κρεβάτι κτλ) γιατί τα δωμ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eugenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
187 reviews
0 mi away
Alkionides Pension
Alkionides Pension
#14 of 20 in Hydra
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hydra
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#5 of 20 in Hydra
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#1 of 20 in Hydra
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarillis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarillis Hotel

Address: Tobazi, 180 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range: $43 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amarillis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Amarillis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing