We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good views”
Review of Temple of Aphaia

Temple of Aphaia
Book In Advance
More Info
$205.08*
and up
Full-Day RIB Boat Tour of Aegina Island from Athens
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Aegina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good views”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

bit of a steep hill to get there ,or you could take the local bus good views of the Agina Marina island. great historic site

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dnlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    136
    21
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Temple but don`t Miss the Bus!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

On Aegina, the temple of Aphaia is a must visit site. The Temple is well preserved, very few tourists and a great little museum with all the right information. I was also impressed by the view of Athens and if you looked carefully you could see the acropolis.

We do not drive and so we decided to take the bus which was big mistake! The bus ticket vendor was easy to find as was the bus stop. Because of the infrequency of the buses it was standing room all the way, not a big problem.

After about half an hour of viewing the temple and the museum. We returned to the bus stop and found out that the bus did a quick turnaround which was not enough time for us the see the temple and go back to the port. So we missed the return bus and we were told by the cafe owner that it would be an hour before the bus heads to the town. Anyway we ordered a couple of cappuccinos, pistachio ice cream and started reading our books.

Unfortunately it was an hour and a half before the bus returned.and when the bus did come he refused to stop and we were left standing by the side of the road fuming. We went back to the shop that was so lucky to get our business and he was not at all that helpful even though we had been good patrons. Eventually we asked the ticket office to call a taxi because the prospects of another ninety minute wait, spending more money at that cafe was not appealing at all.

The taxi driver who came was very friendly and apologetic for his fellow islander driver but this still left a very bad taste in the mouth.

So if you want to visit this temple maybe a taxi is best as by the time you miss your bus and have a couple of cappuccinos the value of the bus is slowly eroded and you begin to think why bother!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Well-preserved temple!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you're on Aegina and need a ruins-fix, you can take a local bus from Aegina town (1.70 € one-way) to Aphaia. It's a well-preserved temple high on the hillside. Views are nice, but it's not necessarily a must-see. If you can't pull yourself away from the shore, don't feel guilty or feel like you're missing out if you don't get here while on your day-trip to Aegina. (Entrance fee: 4€.)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unbelievable view!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Worth visiting even just for a day trip! Boats from Peireus are travelling frequently every day. Spend one day in Aegina and feels like you've been away for at least 3 days!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil and beautiful a perfect location”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

There is a small and informative museum where multilingual descriptions of the displayed artefacts explain the chequered history of the site and good copies of missing artefacts (this being Greece) show explanations on the original items whereabouts and status. However, it is outside the museum that the temple jumps into focus. Its placement in the landscape is perfect, situated on the crest of a hill and framed by the mountains with a view to the perfect blue of the sea, this was carefully placed and built by people who felt they could communicate with their Goddess here.

Although the temple has lost much of its façade, the stone appears blindingly white in the intense sunlight, if you like the Parthenon at the Acropolis you will love this, it is a perfect gem of classical Greece. Now that we are home it is difficult to rationalise, but this temple seems to have retained the mysterious and compelling atmosphere often associated with ancient places of worship. The relentless summer heat releases the scent of the surrounding pines and this combined with the intense stillness of the temple site and the beauty of the surrounding views seem to enhance the feeling that the hand of modernity rests very lightly here. Each time I visit I become further captivated by its beauty.

There are many wonderful things to see in Greece this temple is one of them

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdhNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Aphaia also viewed

Aegina, Saronic Gulf Islands
Aegina, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Aegina, Saronic Gulf Islands
Aegina Town, Aegina
 

Been to Temple of Aphaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing