We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, Unique Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous, Unique Hotel!”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Pyrgos is great for lots of reasons. It is in a renovated villa, with an outdoor patio next to a grove of orange trees. There are lots of comfortable places to sit within the rooms, inside the house, and outside on the patio. The suite was impeccably clean and very comfortable. The decor of the house is a delightful change from the standardized, bland five-star hotel chain sort of thing, with interesting furniture and decorations. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic, with lots of home made breads, pies, and cakes, in addition to sliced meat, cheese, fruit, olives, fresh squeezed orange juice, and eggs made to order. But really the best thing about the hotel is the staff. We had the most contact with Maria, who was warm and friendly without being invasive, and who anticipated our needs. She is very knowledgeable about the area, and about hotel management. We had a fabulous time, and while we were only there two nights, we left feeling as if we had stayed longer because we were so comfortable with the place and the staff.
A couple of points to consider, however: Our suite was on two levels, and in fact the rooms to the best of my knowledge are all on the second floor. There is no elevator, and so anyone who has trouble with stairs should be warned. Also, the hotel has a discreet sign on the outside, but it's in Greek only, so if you don't know the Greek alphabet, you could encounter some confusion trying to locate the hotel for the first time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
75
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We have planned to travel around Peloponnese this spring and I had to visit this magical place called Mystras. We had the most amazing time walking around the old town with the gorgeous views and the flowers. I have never stayed in Mystras before but when I found this hotel on the internet I was tempted. I can tell you we weren't disappointed. We had the junior suite and it was good value for money for such a stunning room. It was so peaceful and also a short walk from the main square for evening drinks and dinner. Our hostess Maria was extremely nice offering us much needed refreshments when we arrived after all that walking up the castle. We had an amazing welcome with herbal tea and Greek cakes in the patio overlooking a small garden with orange trees. The smells from the flowers and the trees were divine. I think spring time is the best time to visit Mystras to enjoy nature. We had the most amazing breakfast with local products and homemade cakes and marmalades. Overall all it was such an amazing experience and we were really sorry when we had to leave to continue our journey. Definitely planning to come back and spend more time in this great little town staying in the best hotel of the area.

Room Tip: Maria will help you with all your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelikasiap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
199 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Other tips.

I ate at the restaurant "The Castle" - twice - it was marginal to poor. Look elsewhere.

As noted the location is not as shown by booking.com or other sites. Another posts on this site provides GPS locations. Even so, I had to call the hotel. The name on the building - it has a red door - is in Greek - not English.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My friend discovered this amazing place on-line, last minute. Beautiful, intimate accomodations and world class service from Maria and staff. Renovated within the past few years, the room where we stayed was beautiful, with a chaise lounge, a big, soft bed...and fantastic claw-foot tub. The breakfast was huge...and delicious. Saw the ruins the next day, and the view from the top of the medieval city was breathtaking. To sum up, the Hotel Pyrgos and surrounding sights made Mystras the best part of our trip!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snag517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Mystra is a lovely little village with this amazingly comfortable "boutique" hotel. We were immediately made to feel at home on arrival, sitting down to sample some of the sweets made by staff. Our room was sooo comfortable with pillow top mattresses, flat screen TV, complete heating system for our room, and lots of bathroom amenities. The hotel is surrounded by orange trees where one can pick an orange or two.
The staff are very well trained and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The owners are not on site but have picked staff who treat the hotel as their home and you as their personal guests. We came for only 1 night but had to stay for 2 because we were so comfortable and felt so well taken care of by the staff.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank auntsukies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

A great place to stay. Warm, welcoming, wonderful staff. Delicious breakfast with local treats available all day and evening. The rooms and public spaces are all excellent. Everything about our stay here was perfect

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

i dont know from where to start to describe this paradise.the hotel is renovated tower .you feel like you are leaving in the another period of time , where knights and princess existed .
The staff in this boutique hotel is more than welcome to accomplice every wish of yours.
When you arrive they offer homemade cakes and drinks which they are available 24 hours in the breakfast area.
The breakfast is homemade also, cakes , a variety of pies etc.
if you want to spoil yourself even for one weekend go to Pyrgos Mystra.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NedaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
7.2 mi away
Ilaeira Mountain Resort
3.0 mi away
Menelaion Hotel
Menelaion Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lakonia Hotel
Lakonia Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Dioscouri
Hotel Dioscouri
#7 of 10 in Sparta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
14.2 mi away
Pritanio Guesthouse
Pritanio Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Sparta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Guesthouse Mazaraki
Guesthouse Mazaraki
#1 of 6 in Mystras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pyrgos Mystra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pyrgos Mystra

Property: Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
Address: 3 Manousaki str. | Mystras, Sparta 231 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Sparta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pyrgos Mystra 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pyrgos Mystra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyrgos Mystra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing