We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but breakfast was spartan(humble)”
Review of Menelaion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Menelaion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Certificate of Excellence
athens
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice but breakfast was spartan(humble)”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

stayed with my daughters during an excursion with their school to Mistras and Monemvasia.Location is perfect near city centre.Rooms very well furnished and clean.Staff helpful and polite.Hotel and lobby look classy.Wifi worked properly free of charge.The only minus was breakfast which was Spartan not much choice cold food and no coffee not one of the staff availlable to bring a coffee pot.If you can just avoid to pay for breakfast and visit one of the near cafes.I can recall there were complaints from other clients that Sunday morning.My opinion it would be a 4 star rating without breakfast

Room Tip: avoid paying for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsteve70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    75
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
44
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vólos, Magnisia, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 2 night in this amazing hotel in Sparti.

Well located, clean, comfortable, helpful staff made our stay very pleasant.

The Hotel counts with an excellent restaurant and the waiters and waitresses make a great job with the advises and service.

The receptionist Despina was very kind and help us in all our doubts.

Great job!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomasvaldivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The rooms were nice and new, comfortable, the breakfast and restaurant quite good. It's clean and in the town centre. The thing i didn;t really like was that it felt cold, color-less, just ok, nothing more than that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaZachariou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Centrally located in town. This hotel offers many amenities including a pool, bar, restaurant - both seating indoors and out. The rooms are very clean and the staff is overwhelmingly friendly. I had a single room which was adequately sized. The double and triple rooms where other family members stayed had plenty of closet and open space, some even had a balcony. I was there for my niece's wedding and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. The platia - outdoor mall - is only a block away with many cafes and retail stores. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely hotel recently renovated with nice staff. We were 2 adults and 2 kids and had interconnecting rooms which was great. We had dinner and breakfast by the pool and is centrally located in Sparta. Bonus was the swimming pool as it was extremely hot in July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anavicandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavala
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Neoclassic building and fresh sparkling interior with matching staff. Polite and smiling and helpful. Gave me a universal electric plug adaptor when I forgot mine at the last stop. Excellent dining room and reasonably priced. Immediately switched rooms when the one assigned smelled of stale cigarette smoke - Fresh NO SMOKING rooms are tough to find in Greece as No SMOKING is rarely enforced. I guess higher rates of cancer and heart disease will be required before something is officially done. Great hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker - ask and insist on a strictly no smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were very impressed with this beautiful hotel. We first looked at a hotel that got great reviews from trip advisor but didn't like it and walked across the street to this hotel- WOW! What a difference and only 10€ more. We walked in and saw a cute lady in a french maid outfit dusting and piano music was coming from the lounge where a few locals were sitting around enjoying each others company. We were so comfortable that we stayed an extra night. Reserved parking on street in front of hotel, great breakfast, great shower, great location. Sparta wasn't first on our list of places to go (our daughter is studying this place and it was her bday, so we went) but because of this hotel, Sparta became one of our favorite spots on our journey through the Peloponnese. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 644Lisanord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
7.6 mi away
Ilaeira Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Lakonia Hotel
Lakonia Hotel
#5 of 10 in Sparta
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dioscouri
Hotel Dioscouri
#7 of 10 in Sparta
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maniatis
Hotel Maniatis
#6 of 10 in Sparta
130 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pritanio Guesthouse
Pritanio Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Sparta
135 reviews
16.3 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menelaion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menelaion Hotel

Property: Menelaion Hotel
Address: 91 K. Paleologou Avenue | GR-231 00 Sparti Laconia Greece, Sparta 231 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Sparta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Menelaion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Sparta! Menelaion hotel is a place with particular personality, a reference point for historic Sparta and Laconia. Menelaion hotel is located in the most central street of Sparta. The proximity of the city center, the shops and the museums, make its location unique! In Menelaion hotel, the high standard of service, the distinguishing luxury and the friendly staff will make your stay unforgettable. Enjoy your breakfast, coffee, lunch or drink throughout the day at the hotel lounge, the restaurant or next to the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menelaion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menelaion Hotel Sparta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing