We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diethnes

Diethnes
Ranked #20 of 37 Restaurants in Sparta
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I go to Greece every year and make a point to go to Diethenes even if it is out of our way. The best oven food in Greece. We order too much because we want to try everything!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect quick taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The counter at the back shows the dozen or so specialties of the day, and these are quickly served up and brought out. I had a fine piece of pork with lemony oven potatoes; other members of my group had some excellent meatballs with lemon-egg sauce and fries, one of three different kinds of patty, a vege dish like ratatouille, and some cutlets. Friendly staff, unexciting interior, good map of Greece from the 80s.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“not what we asked for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was the only restaurant recommended in my Frommer's guidebook, so we decided to give it a try. The restaurant is cute and the owner/waiter was very nice, but the food was not very good and we didn't get what we asked for. My daughter ordered bean soup and got veal with vegetables. She sent it back and ordered vegetable soup instead (they were apparently out of bean soup) and she got fish soup with vegetables which was just not good. I ordered cannelloni and got chicken with onions and potatoes which was decent, but a far cry from what I asked for. We pointed to the menu when we ordered and it was in Greek and English so it wasn't that our waiter misunderstood, it was that they just didn't appear to have what we were asking for. There are other restaurants in the area that are very good, so I wouldn't waste your time with this one, especially if you'd like to actually choose what they serve you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jules_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazzè, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Limited Options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

There are not many options in this tiny town. Food will be the same just about everywhere. The owner does not speak much English but (very touristy of me) I had a Greek salad that was a little bland but my husband enjoy his mousakka. Super cheap. Good enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank team_m2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rookhope
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We dined here three times in May 2012! Excellent value, caters for vegetarians, Greek food as it always has been, delivered by the owners who remembered and welcomed us as old friends after the first visit. Street dining a little challenging (you're sitting on the main road under trees) but all round a very good, enjoyable restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diethnes also viewed

Sparta, Laconia Region
Sparta, Laconia Region
 
Sparta, Laconia Region
 

Been to Diethnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing