We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ilaeira Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was everything we wanted and needed at that time. The room was great and clean, breakfast was tastefull and the restaurant was great and the prices were also normal. The pool was all we needed and we liked that the poolbar was open till late. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We had a great time and the next time we will want to relax and leave the city it will be our destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilias r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peggy k, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ilaeira Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We will be happy to see you on your next city break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Ilaeira and all we have to say are good things. The rooms were clean and spacious, breakfast was great and the restaurant offered local dishes at great value. The pool is a great relaxing point with a pool bar that stays open till late and offers snacks as well.

Overall a great place for those who like visiting mountains during the summer time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantinos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a fine hotel, very reasonably priced for what it offers. It was very quiet when we visited in the first week in June and in fact the restaurant wasn't open Monday to Wednesday. However our room had a good kitchen and we were luxuriating in fresh local produce.

The room - ours was termed a house - was luxurious. The hotel is superbly situated if you fancy walking in the Taygetus Mountains. The staff were very helpful. I've seen very good comments about the owner, who wasn't there, but her daughter seems ready to step into her shoes. She was friendly and got us great directions to get to the obscure shop in Sparta which sells the local Ordnance Survey style map.

The restaurant was good the one night we used it and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-U-Weir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peggy k, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ilaeira Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we are sorry for the delayed answer. We try to do our best and we are happy when we receive comments such as yours. Our restaurant will be open every day this summer, we understand it is not very convenient for our guests having to go away for dinner. Thank you again! We will be happy to see you this year also! Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just left this holiday paradise after a weeks stay. Are you thinking of staying here? don't think about it book it!!!!Everything about this hotel is amazing the accomodation is set in beautiful surroundings with views not to be missed. The villas were perfect for all types of holiday they had all you needed for self catering, family and a romantic haven. Amenities were second to non spotlessly clean. the restaurant was unbelievable the food was tasty,ample portions with a dedicated staff to wait on your every need without invading your privacy. The pool wow it was beautiful by day and so atmospheric by night with candles galore. The biggest treasure was the staff words can't begin to explain how pleasant, helpful and professional they all were. They made you feel like you had a personal invite to be there part of the family without being intrusive. There was advise on places to visit eat and practical help finding stamps and bee stings to offering to bring breakfast at 3 am because of an early start nothing was too much. They even encouraged our feeble attempts at trying to speak Greek :) . Book now don't hesitate you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redbelt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

One night is not enough to enjoy the beautiful setting of this hidden gem. Tucked away (my satnav couldn't find it) in the mountains above Sparta the hardworking staff made our brief trip a really relaxing one. The whole facility can accommodate 80 guests and a newly installed swimming pool and bar made our stay very comfortable. We hired a separate house on the side of a very steep slope whose balcony gave a wonderful view of both valley below and mountain above.
If there are any people out there who enjoy mountain walking, a spring or autumn (fall) visit is highly recommended. We will return !

Room Tip: Note that the rooms up the mountain involve a short but steep walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardK381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was a great choice! Excellent location if you want to hike Taygetos, very nicely designed, with great quality, comfort and ambient rooms, excellent amenities. Great restaurant (maybe a bit pricey) with really friedly staff. The ladies that run the hotel are also very kind and ready to serve you anytime. The playground and the pool are also excellent for keeping children busy and happy!
Only setback was the not-so-kind behavior of the pool staff...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desptsouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

There is literally not one thing I could fault this hotel on. The minute we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly host who organised us to check in a few hours early. The hotel grounds are immaculate with manicured gardens & a gorgeous pool with pool bar. The room we had was gorgeously decorated, the bed & shower was the best I've had since leaving Australia.

The service was nothing short of perfect, nothing was too difficult for the staff. The hostess was so helpful, she booked us ferry tickets, organised a breakfast & lunch pack to be sent to our room so we could hike early in the morning& even sourced the contact details of the local artist whose work we admired in the hotel.

The restaurant was great, we enjoyed dinner here both nights overlooking the mountains. The included breakfast was also far superior to most included breakfasts web had, plus the gorgeous setting makes it really special.

I would definitely come here again & urge travellers to book here - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The Macadames B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
15.0 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
414 reviews
14.6 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
383 reviews
18.1 mi away
Pritanio Guesthouse
Pritanio Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Sparta
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
15.4 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
317 reviews
18.4 mi away
Eumelia Organic Agrotourism Farm & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilaeira Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilaeira Mountain Resort

Property: Ilaeira Mountain Resort
Address: Toriza Village - Sparta | Mt. Taygetos, Sparta 230 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Sparta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilaeira Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilaeira Mountain Resort is located in a small vintage village called Toriza at Taygetus Mountain (850m height), only 15km from the historical center of Sparta. Choose between a luxury suite, a spacious house or a dreamed villa all of them offering the most magnificent view. Each one of them is carefully designed, with spacious interior combining warmth and elegance. Wake up with the sound of the forest with a million colors in front of you just by looking through the window... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ilaeira Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing