We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word: incompetent”
Review of Patras Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Patras Palace
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One word: incompetent”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

On the weekend of the 28th July, we booked 6 rooms for people that came from out of town.
We chose this hotel because of its reputation as the best Patras has. Big mistake.
We prepared a detailed map given to the reception for our guests seeing that the reception to our wedding was far: the reception NEVER gave this to our guests.
2) we made clear to the administration that no money was to be asked from our guests.
One couple stayed an extra night and the staff asked them to pay despite our request.
That couple had barely enough money for the trip back home.
3) one staff member agreed to pay back the couple that they extorted money from only to have the owner blackmail the staff member into paying it from his pocket seeking he never got managements ok.
Til this day , that couple hasn't seen a penny.
We choose patras palace for better and we got the worse.
Do not go to this hotel customer service is terrible.
If patras has no tourists, now you know why Patras Palace!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeandVeraKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    78
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
44
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Clean, big, cozy room and high speed internet connection and affordable price, also very close the seaside.Location is one of the best in the city centre. what the tripper can demand more, strongly advice...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We initially booked a mountain view room for a 3 night stay at this hotel. After checking in we decided that we would like to stay an extra 3 nights. The staff were happy to book us in and upgraded our room to a larger sea view room for the same price as the mountain view room.

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The included breakfast each day was comprehensive and varied.

The hotel is conveniently located to the port and bus station. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Suitable for stay within city centre.Excellent service,clean large rooms full facilities,rich freshly made breakfast is served at roof garden.View of the sea and the port complete the positive sweet taste I earned from my stay.

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simijtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I was on a business trip and I stayed 3 nights at Patras Palace. The location is central, close to the city centre and the port but definately not a nice district.
I was given a very spacious room with a view to the harbour which I really enjoyed; do not imagine a busy harbour thought. The bathroom was also very spacious. Both areas, room and bathroom, were spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was good, buffet-style, with discent variety of products. You start the day, eating on the 6th floor and overlloking the sea. Not bad.
The hotel does not offer any extra facilities; they could at least invest in some audio-visio equipment. The selection of TV channels was quite limited and the TV small and quite old-fashioned. Bed covers and furniture were reasonable. In general, the decoration could benefit from some renovation. Not because it is old or badly maintained but because of lack of inspiration. The environment is far too neutral.
The personnel is very friendly and helpful but some of the female personnel could learn that smiling is part of a service.
I found the price quite high for a stay over a low season compared to prices in european capitals and cities.

Room Tip: I like sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here for two days in September 2011 while waiting for the ferry to Ancona. I paid €60 a night for a 'mountain view' room. Breakfast is available for another €5 a night.

The hotel is a solid 4 star (no swimming pool or other diversions that would allow it to claim a 5th star). It is new - built in 2004, very clean and well maintained, with huge rooms that are well soundproofed. Internet is fast & free and provided by Ethernet (no wireless). The staff speak English very well and are extremely courteous and helpful.

The 'mountain view' (city view) rooms on the back side of the hotel are far, far quieter than the sea view rooms at the front, due to the lack of traffic noise. They are also €10 a night less expensive. The breakfast room, bar, and restaurant are all up on the top floor and all offer a wonderful view of the sea and the harbour - so, take a room facing the city, enjoy the peace and quiet, and you can look at the sea all you want from the patio, bar, and restaurant up on the top floor. All the rooms have a large walk-out balcony with sliding doors. Air conditioning is effective and (amazingly) perfectly quiet.

Beds are large (between queen and king size), linen is great (and they actually make the bed up instead of leaving the linen folded at the end of the bed in the normal Greek style). Bathrooms are very large and have a large shower stall (no tub).

There are a few minor omissions from the room amenities - laundry service is available, but no laundry bags in the rooms, no notepads by the phone, no bathroom amenities beyond the (fully satisfactory) soap and shampoo - but, heck, for €60 a night, this hotel provides tremendous value and I can't really complain about the missing details. The hotel has a small and secure enclosed parking lot at the rear - I believe they charge extra for parking in that lot.

The hotel is opposite the domestic ferry dock. When the hotel was built, the international ferry dock (to Bari and Ancona) was also across the street, but as of late 2001 the international dock was moved about 4 km further down the road. It's only a 5 minute drive, and there are (so far) no decent hotels near the new dock, so this place is the best choice if you are waiting for (or arriving from) an international sailing.

There are lots of coffee shops, bars, restaurants about a 3 block walk away. Ask the front desk staff for a map and directions to the town square. The town of Patra itself is pretty grubby and pretty run-down - the hotel is actually located in one of the better parts of the town (although you would not think so when you first look at it).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city - it will be much quieter (and less expensive) than a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Spent four nights here with the family (wife, 3.5 year old son, 15 month old daughter) as we were attending a wedding. Patras Palace did the trick. The room was massive with enough room for a queen bed, separate single for the boy and a cot as well as space to play!

It was clean, staff were friendly especially the front desk. Definitely make sure you book ahead if you need a car park as it is limited and I don't like your chances on the street.

Also Patras was a revelation. They need to market this city better. It is quite cosmopolitan and the hotel is very close to a great park where our kids had some great plays. Not bad shopping but best of all it's not too far a drive to Olympia and then cross the impressive bridge and vist places like nafpaktos which is a beautiful seafront village.

Only gripes with hotel would be no iron (not good when you need to iron a shirt after a trip from australia) and no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BowieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patras hotels
1.0 mi away
Airotel Patras Smart Hotel
3.2 mi away
Airotel Achaia Beach
Airotel Achaia Beach
#2 of 21 in Patras
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Byzantino Hotel
Byzantino Hotel
#11 of 21 in Patras
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marie Palace
Hotel Marie Palace
#9 of 21 in Patras
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astir Hotel
Astir Hotel
#13 of 21 in Patras
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patras Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patras Palace

Property: Patras Palace
Address: 15 Leoforos Othonos & Amalias, Patras 262 23, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patras Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Patras Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patras Palace Hotel Patras
Palace Hotel Patras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing