We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but overpriced”
Review of Hotel Rodini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rodini
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad, but overpriced”
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Overall, the hotel is not bad and to mention few of its advantages:
- Right to the beach;
- Free wireless internet;
- Free parking;
- Clean rooms;
We also had some negatives for it like it was not mentioned that some of the extras are not included in the price (i.e. the sauna). Everything in the hotel is very old as furniture and its location is quite hard to find. The breakfast was really poor, especially for the price we paid.
All in all, it is a fair hotel, but it does not worth the price we paid. If it was cheaper, I would definitely recommend it as a good low cost opportunity, but paying 60 EUR for double room, you would expect a bit more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
8
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Rodini beach hotel is located next to a very nice beach. The building is very old when you look from the outside but is well preserved and decorated in the interior.

Their leaflets say that it is a 4-star hotel but there aren't many things actually justifying that. The rooms are clean but nothing special (i stayed in a double room with a colleague) as there is just a table (with a mirror and a chair) and a wardrobe. There is a small 14'' TV that only received 2 channels (one of them local)...There is air-condition, we didn't use it.

Bathroom was spacious but definitely old. Bath tub was at least 20 years old and there was no curtain.

Breakfast was very poor, just some cheese and ham, 2 types of cake, bad quality juice and coffee from a strange coffee machine. On the contrary, lunch/dinner buffet is much much better, bigger variety and great tastes! As it is not included in the price, it is can be considered expensive, 14 € per person.

Pool is small (around 4x7) and has a view to the side of the hotel, next to the parking place. If you don't have a car, it takes 20-25 minutes to get there by bus from Patra.

All in all, it is not a bad hotel. The staff is friendly, the view to the beach and the sea is great, it's located in a quiet place and you can have some relaxed days with friends/partner. But for sure there are hotels inGreece with better service for the same prices, so it's worth searching a bit more

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isparos9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attika
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

I went there for a weekend with my husband. We did a phone booking for the price of 55 euros (which wasn't a special offer, but the regular price for a double room with BF).
When we arrived, there was a buzzing sound and no light in the bathroom, so we went to the receptionist who immediately gave us another room.

The rooms are comfortable and have a big bathroom with a bathtub, hairdryer, soaps and shampoo. No shower gel, nor bathroom curtain. There is a small Tv, wardrobe, desk with mirror and nightables. Also a small fridge ( but not mini-bar type) and A/C. No safe in the room for storing your valuables in case you need one.

Although the room seemed pretty clean when entering, with a closer look you could see that the bathroom wasn't that clean after all: there were hair on the floor and some dust and tiny bugs near the bathtub. To be fair, it DID have a huge window open just on top of the bathtub so probably there you have the reason of the dust and bugs.
The bedroom was pretty clean, no problem there.

What I didn't like was the breakfast. I believe it was very poor for what I expected for that price. Your coffee came from an automatic coffee/ tea/ chocolate machine, which made the quality of the coffee disgusting. The buffet wasn't inspiring you with cleanliness, nor the tables which gave you the impression they had been layed for a wedding sometime ago and were just left there unused ever since.

Also, at some point, an old man ( who seemed to be the owner) just grabbed some slices of salami and ham from the buffet for feeding some 5-6 kittens that were miawing on the balcony. Hats off to him for caring for them, but yet it left me with the question whether the cats were eating nice, fresh food, OR if we were just having old ham for breakfast!! :P

Last, but not least, when we left and wanted to pay for the room, the receptionist asked another price from the one he had given us (10 euros more). Of course provided he remembered our conversation we just had it for the original price. Yet another thing to doublecheck before you go there!

All in all, I believe it was too expensive for what it had to offer, provided that it seemed a bit as if it was once, in the 70's maybe, a glorious hotel that has just lost all its glamour and life and is just there trying to hold on.

A definite no-no for people who have high expectations from a hotel, honeymooners, romantic gettaways and people with family.

If you are young and do not really care for all the above, I'd say go for it IF you can't find something for a more affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmazoNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patras hotels

Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The big attraction of this hotel is its location. It is right on the Bay of Corinth, and the view is beautiful. The hotel itself seemed kind of like a Motel 6 combined with a balcony cabin on a cruise ship: moderately sized room (fairly good by European standards), refrigerator, AC, sliding glass doors leading out to the balcony. The furniture on the balcony was plastic and dirty, but ok. I thought the bed was comfortable. We ate in the restaurant as a group, and the food on the buffet was not bad. After we finished, the restaurant filled up with local people having dinner. There was also a patio where one could sit and enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanordew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in June 2008 ... booked for 5 but decided to extend the stay. Totally enjoyed the whole "Rodini experience". Staff was way above and beyond, room was very clean and tidy, Wonderful sunsets and spectacular views at all times of day. We did specify a "sea side room" which does make a difference. Most of the hotel rooms face elsewhere. Much of the time it felt like we were the only ones there,..odd, but also fantastic! THey have a rocky beach for swimming, a nice pool, a sort-of bar, decent food (had spagetti and meatballs at midnight and it was amazing). We ordered pizza from Patras one night, delivered sea-side with a smile! Breakfast nothing special but they did have food and coffee.

I would absolutely recommend this place. Easy drive to Olympia, and Delphi, Although it felt remote, the town of Psathopyrgos is nearby with several good place to eat,. Hotel has an elevator (that you dont need), rooms have AC, a nice bathroom, fridge, tiny color TV, Ikea style furniture that was just fine. Laminate flooring, little deck for watching the sunsets. I wish I was there now!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Didnt know how to make a good Martini
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alamode900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

I booked a room for two days because the Achaia Beach I usually stay at was full.
The room was comfortable in size. It was not very clean, dusty in many places. Nevertheless the view was very good even though the balcony was cramped and the chairs and table very worn and needing serious cleaning or replacement.
The breakfast was a disappointment. It was not that it was very simple, instead I was scared because of its lack of proper hygiene. Cheese and pretzels were exposed to dozens of flies. I even saw a couple of dead cockroaches beside the dining tables. At least they are spraying the place :-)

Not worth saving a few bucks IMO.

  • Liked — Not much really
  • Disliked — Not a clean hotel, especially the dining room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corryton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

I have taken school groups to Europe for years and seen a wide variety of hotels.The Rodini is an excellent quality hotel.Granted,we were there in off-season,which costs less.I can imagine in peak season it would be a fun beach resort.Good interior renovations.Excellent food.Good staff.Spacious rooms.Off season was a little remote and deserted,but would be an excellent beach location.Ask for a seaside room for the view.

  • Liked — view, food,lounge
  • Disliked — off-season location
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLCKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patras hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Delfini
Hotel Delfini
#12 of 21 in Patras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astir Hotel
Astir Hotel
#14 of 21 in Patras
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adonis
Adonis
#17 of 21 in Patras
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byzantino Hotel
Byzantino Hotel
#10 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympic Star Hotel
Olympic Star Hotel
#7 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodini

Property: Hotel Rodini
Address: Rodini Beach | Rio, Patras 265 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Patras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Patras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rodini 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodini Beach Hotel is a traditional hotel built by the sea coast, at a suburb of Patras city. The hotel is located at the most beautiful place of the area, and one can see the magnificent view of the Corinthian Gulf from its balconies. The place combines mountain and sea harmoniously, and the climate here is dry, fresh and ideal for rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rodini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodini Hotel Patras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing