We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bacchus
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pelops(Olympia)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Inomaos(Olympia)
$37
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Olympia)
$102
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kronio(Olympia)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neda Hotel(Olympia)
$68
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hercules(Olympia)(Great Value!)
$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
180
134
34
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
134
34
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorsmall villageancient olympiabeautiful viewlovely terracegreat location to visitlocal ingredientscharming restaurantample spacerick stevestraditional greek cuisinejacuzzi tubminutes by carcool offrabbitnice sizemass tourism
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 361 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Bacchus Taverna in May last year, so didn't have any issues regarding the cold. There were only a couple of other people staying there and we really liked that it was off the beaten (tourist) path, in a beautiful, quiet rural setting, and just down the road from the site of Olympia.

The day we arrived, we had toured the site of Delphi all day, then got in our rental car and drove 4 hrs to Olympia (nice drive, good roads, not much traffic), arriving early evening. We soaked up the view from our balcony (beautiful and so peaceful!), then had a nice meal in the restaurant at the hotel, before going for a walk through the village, which was very quiet and peaceful until a large dog started barking and chasing us!

Safely tucked away back in our cozy room, we had a quiet, restful sleep, waking the next morning to the sound of a rooster crowing and goats bleating. Breakfast was wonderful, a huge tray packed with boiled eggs, sliced meat, Greek yoghurt, fresh fruit, homemade jam, bread, and of course cake (seems to be a staple at Greek breakfasts!). It was heaven to sit outdoors, enjoying the incredible view and eating the fresh, delicious food. With full stomachs, it was off to visit the site of Olympia for the day ...

Some of the staff (in the dining room) didn't speak much English, which could be misconstrued as impoliteness by some, but the staff at the front desk were very efficient and friendly when dealing with us. If you like to be away from the crowds, and staying in a place with some ambiance, the Bacchus Taverna is a perfect place to stay. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony looking out over the valley - very peaceful and beautiful view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgarytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for a night when we visited Olympia. Chose the pension because of the good reviews of Tripadvisor. But we were disappointed. It may have been just a low season winter downer for the pension. Based on our experience we can't really recommend anyone else go stay there.

We arrived just before sunset to find the hotel shrouded in a power failure. Couldn't put on the heater so we just shivered under the blankets until the power came back on. After that we just didn't feel like going anywhere else for dinner, so we just ate at the tavern. Food was dry and greasy and the bread was stale and cold. The next morning we were served an assortment of cold pastry and cold hard boiled eggs, and the familiar stale, cold bread. We requested that the bread be at least toasted. The girl serving us made a face at our request but at least conceded to warming up the bread.

The proprietor was at least friendly and helpful. But everything else just didn't seem up to scratch. Made us wish we had chosen somewhere else. Fortunately it was just for a night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muluvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here one night, before we visited Ancient Olympia. It was a bit confusing to find, because the address didn't show up in my GPS (but that can be said for most of the stuff in Greece), but I put Archaia Pissa in as the city instead of the street, and we got there. It's right on the main street through town, and it has a huge sign. It was reasonably priced for the room we got, and breakfast was wonderful. The hotel was pretty empty, so instead of a buffet (it looks like it's a buffet when it's busy), the waiter/front desk clerk brought us a tray of breakfast goodies. The shower was probably the best one I've ever seen in a hotel. It isn't far from the archaeological site, though I would still drive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had thought of staying in Olympia but thankfully we didn't. Instead we found Bacchus Taverna just outside Olympia set in a small village in the countryside with a pool and taverna all in one. Our room was elegantly decorated with a balcony overlooking the fields. It was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Olympia. Food was terrific starting with excellent breakfasts of yogurt, eggs, breads, cheese, meats. If you stay for dinner the eggplant and lamb dishes are delicious. We ate every night at Bacchus as meals are home cooked by the family and we were never disappointed. Also important is this is a great location for exploring the surrounding area such as the west coast, the gorge, the villages of Dimitsana and Semistana. We would recommend Bacchus Taverna for anyone looking for a special ambiance and great food...............Ontario Canada

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews