We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”
Review of Bacchus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bacchus
Ranked #1 of 8 Olympia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Amazing view to a canyon and mountains.
A taverna attached to the hotel, home cooking.
Special shower facilities enabling massage.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked this hotel for a one night stay as we toured through Greece's southern mainland. Originally, we thought it was located in the center of Olympia but it is not, and what a great mistake. It is located just off the main highway in the small town/area of ancient Pissa, just a short drive from ancient Olympia.
What an gorgeous view from this hotel; from the balcony of the room, from the pool and from the outside dining area. The whole place has a relaxing, contemplative atmosphere. It may have helped that I believe we were the only guests there for our one night.
A light breeze in the late afternoon and the view of rolling hills makes for a perfect stretch laying out in the waning sunlight after a quick dip in the pool. Follow up with some delicious casual dining on the porch at sunset. Then, an evening of drinks and gaming (backgammon, chess, cards are available in the lobby. All for about 140 Euro for three people! That is the room, food, drinks and breakfast. Talk about a deal.

To cover the actual review: The room was a bit small for 3 people, but we had 3 separate beds and were very comfortable. The beds were comfy, and the A/C worked well enough. Free WiFi was available, and our rate included breakfast which was excellent. No elevator, but you are only up or down one flight of stairs. We didn't explore the surrounding area, but I imagine there isn't much there. However, as a typical Greek village there is one cafe where it seems the entire town gathers in the evenings to hang out. Very helpful and attentive staff.

Bottom line - If there weren't so many other places in the world I want to see, I would definitely return here, to this hotel. It was outstanding. Highly recommended if you plan to see ancient Olympia and are staying for a night. But you must have a car!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FITfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Bacchus Taverna/Hotel is located in a small and very friendly village about ten minutes drive from Olympia. We toured the acheological site, and drove by the touristy hotels enroute to Archaia Olympia (also shown as Miraka on our map). The host greeted us with a smile, and lead us to our very tastefully decorated room. The bath was small, but immaculate and modern.The bed was very comfortable. See separate reviews of the restaurant, which was good.
One the minus side: balcony was smallish, and the views were just OK, not as spectacular as others have raved. There is little parking in front, so you have to park at a small lot 50 meters away. Our room (104) was a little warm, with a wiff of smoke. We finally realized this was from the kitchen/grill immediately below us. If wasn't troublesome, just had us going until we figured out nothing in the room was burning. My wife found the bed a bit hard for her liking.

Room Tip: You'll do best to get one of the four rooms (101 to 104) on the second floor with valley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommyTheTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the pension above the Bacchus taverna. Our room was very nice with a killer view from the balcony onto the peleponnese hills. Olympia ancient site is just 10 minutes by car, so the tavern has a good location and I'm sure this hotel is a lot better than the bland generic ones over in Olympia town itself.

The family who runs this taverna couldn't be nicer, the first night we ate at the tavern and I can recommend the locally produced and grilled sausages, they were delicious!

The room was spotless. There are only 4 rooms I think, the walls between the rooms were not the thickest (we could, altough very faintly, hear the snoring of our neighbour) but that did'n't really bother us.

We would definitely return to this place if we ever get back to seeing Olympia again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelSchudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed two nights to visit Olympia. The Taverna is in a small village (Ancient Pisa) and is the only place to stay in the village. It is has large well appointed rooms and a very good restaurant. Breakfast is basic, as is often the case in Greek accommodation, but sufficient to start the day. The family make you feel welcome and are very helpful. All the rooms overlook a valley which leads to Olympia about 6km away. Ancient Pisa is the place to be away from the tourist zone of Olympia the town. It has a pool and a large outdoor verandah to relax with a few olives and an ouzo. We would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bh256tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Over priced even with the swimming pool Which was in works and far for been finished. Ordinary and very simple decoration and furniture. It was ok but too expensive for what it is.
No service for carrying our luggage on the first floor, no elevator
The restaurant is excellent, typical Greek food for dinner , very nice breakfast

I would recommend the restaurant not the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

An amazing seperate family retreat tastefully decorated in counrty charm. Absolutely everything was thought of to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Well located to Ancient Olympia by a short drive. The view and cuisine at the Tavern were fantastic along with the generous area and atmosphere which included a pool. Definetily a credit to the charming and hospitality of the family owners. Free parking was included in the great rates. Would love to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olga b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,192 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
485 reviews
2.1 mi away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#2 of 15 in Olympia
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacchus

Address: Ancient Pisa 10, Olympia 27065, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range: $62 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bacchus 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pension-Tavern Bacchus is in the picturesque of village Ancient Pisa(Miraka) just 3km away from Ancient Olympia and constitutes the new proposal of stay in the region of Ancient Olympia. It is a two storied stone mansion that combines luxury, modern comforts,friendly atmosphere and promises to you particular gastronomic enjoyments. Our pension provides 4 double rooms,3 triple rooms,2 quadruple rooms in the main building and 2 quadruple studios in building B (opposite main building), completely equipped with particular character and unique view in the forest.Also our tavern is one of the best in the region and not only. Free internet access is possible from every place of the Pension.Paths that lead to the eminent Archaelogical site and the museum of Ancient Olympia as well as side by side from alfios river are in a few metres distance from the Pension-Tavern Bacchus.. The romantic atmosphere of our stone pension and the politeness of personnel import you to meet closely the Greek hospitality in the place that was worshipped Xenios Zeus while the unique beauty of landscape in combination with the sights of historical importance and the various possibilities of entertainment promise an unforgettable stay.The Pension-Tavern Bacchus is open all year long including official holidays and feasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bacchus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing