We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming pool in work!!”
Review of Bacchus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bacchus
Ranked #1 of 8 Olympia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Over priced even with the swimming pool Which was in works and far for been finished. Ordinary and very simple decoration and furniture. It was ok but too expensive for what it is.
No service for carrying our luggage on the first floor, no elevator
The restaurant is excellent, typical Greek food for dinner , very nice breakfast

I would recommend the restaurant not the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Bacchus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 324 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2011

An amazing seperate family retreat tastefully decorated in counrty charm. Absolutely everything was thought of to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Well located to Ancient Olympia by a short drive. The view and cuisine at the Tavern were fantastic along with the generous area and atmosphere which included a pool. Definetily a credit to the charming and hospitality of the family owners. Free parking was included in the great rates. Would love to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olga b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for one night, but would have liked a few more! The ambiance at this small family hotel is wonderful. Both the public and private spaces in the hotel are clean, modern and decorated in what I would describe as a stylish Greek "country chic". The views of the rolling hills are lovely and the proprietors friendly and accommodating. The archeological site of Olympia is a short drive away. The pool was a wonderful place to relax and take in an afternoon beer, if a bit too cold for a swim in late September. Best of all, the Bacchus restaurant is outstanding and right there for immediate enjoyment! Although we enjoyed walking around a bit in Olympia, we were very, very happy to have stayed at Bacchus Inn in the much more peaceful town of Archaia Pissa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Bacchus is a lovely, small family owned inn and restaurant just outside of Olypmpia. We were a family of three and they accommodated us with a comfortable, well appointed room with the best shower we had in the countryside of Greece. After a long drive from Delphi, we spent two hours in the beautiful swimming pool and relaxing on the patio overlooking the valley. Our evening meal outside overlooking the valley was ne of the best meal we had during our three week stay in Greece. The lamb was superb - cooked on a wood fired grill. The breakfast buffet was delicious and generous. One of the highlights of our stay was a walk around the village, a visit to the village grocery store, and a chat with a the locals. This is a great alternative to the crowds and tourism in Olympia.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingfunan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Bacchus was just a wonderful place to stay. The main reason for our visit was to see the site of Ancient Olympia and Bacchus is an easy 10 minute drive to the site.
For us, what made our stay so enjoyable was Maria, her brother who owns Bacchus, and their mother who does most of the cooking. Without any exaggeration, the food at Bacchus was amongst the best we had in our 6 week holiday in Greece and Istanbul.

We thoroughly enjoyed delicious breakfasts which were included with our room, but it was the dinners that really stand out in our memories. To say Maria's mother is a good cook would be a major understatement!

Bacchus has a beautiful pool and pool area but unfortunately it was a little early in the seasonfor us to enjoy it. Our room had large doors that opened up onto a balcony and a beautiful view of the surrounding valley and small farms.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CameronsloveEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Only minutes to the ancient site of Olympia, this hotel was a great find. We only stayed for one night but easily could have enjoyed more time here. The hotel is family run and was very comfortable - everything we needed including wireless and a pool! We had a breakfast and a dinner at the hotel restaurant and can definitely recommend the food. Altogether a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlc_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre 3 personnes située sous le restaurant.
Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Loic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#2 of 15 in Olympia
304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacchus

Address: Ancient Pisa 10, Olympia 27065, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range: $67 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bacchus 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pension-Tavern Bacchus is in the picturesque of village Ancient Pisa(Miraka) just 3km away from Ancient Olympia and constitutes the new proposal of stay in the region of Ancient Olympia. It is a two storied stone mansion that combines luxury, modern comforts,friendly atmosphere and promises to you particular gastronomic enjoyments. Our pension provides 4 double rooms,3 triple rooms,2 quadruple rooms in the main building and 2 quadruple studios in building B (opposite main building), completely equipped with particular character and unique view in the forest.Also our tavern is one of the best in the region and not only. Free internet access is possible from every place of the Pension.Paths that lead to the eminent Archaelogical site and the museum of Ancient Olympia as well as side by side from alfios river are in a few metres distance from the Pension-Tavern Bacchus.. The romantic atmosphere of our stone pension and the politeness of personnel import you to meet closely the Greek hospitality in the place that was worshipped Xenios Zeus while the unique beauty of landscape in combination with the sights of historical importance and the various possibilities of entertainment promise an unforgettable stay.The Pension-Tavern Bacchus is open all year long including official holidays and feasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bacchus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing