We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amalia Hotel Olympia
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my mum and dad and it was very pleasant. They had a great swimming pool which we saw them cleaning which was good to see, it also has a diving board which my younger sister enjoyed. We only stayed here for a night and when we arrived it was very peaceful due to there being no coach trips. The staff were all very pleasant and the rooms were nice and clean. The only real let down about this hotel is that it is slightly dated and needs modernising however it really is no biggy and didnt affect my stay. We had dinner out that evening because at the hotel they weren't serving dinner due to there being no coach parties in. The lady at the desk recommended a restaurant in town which is very easy to get to by car however it was closed, but there is plenty more places to eat and the town is nice to walk around! We were looking forward to breakfast the next morning however it was a slight let down because there wasnt as much choice as expected (we think this may be due to not having many guests present). There is free wifi in the lobby which is lovely and spacious and nice to sit in and relax. There is also a nice bar and a huge dinning hall . This hotel was good value for money and perfect for overnight stays, people are being far too fussy in previous reviews. I would recommend it as a good hotel for an overnight stay as it has a great location for ancient olympia and the rest of the hotel is good but slightly dated! It is nicely situated with lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 204 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at the Amalia Hotel Olympia as part of a tour. It was for only one night, thank goodness. The room was very spacious, but is terribly outdated. The hotel was supposed to go under a refurbishment late last year, but I guess due to the situation in Greece at the moment, it has been put on hold. The beds are so hard, it was difficult to sleep on them. And the bathrooms have to be seen to be believed - very retro. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes drive out of town, so we caught a taxi (4 euro) to have lunch there and do some shopping. The staff were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kadda79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel, a distance from town, is acceptable for an over night stay during a recent tour of Greece. The staff was friendly and internet was free at the lobby where 2 computers were also available for use at no charge. Rooms were spacious, reasonably clean but the furnishings old. Plentiful of local dishes could be found at the buffet dinner and breakfast, which were served at specific times. The staff would refill the buffet if the food ran low. It did not seem like menu order was available.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YVRWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a tour.
The hotel is lovely downstairs with a nice bar and areas to sit outside. The hotel is out of town so not possible to walk. Not sure how much a taxi would cost.
The room was ok- larger than the one we had in the sister hotel in Athens. Had a nice view over the garden from our room. Downsides were the beds which were hard as a rock, the grotty show curtain and no fridge. There was no information in our room about the hotel so not sure if room service etc is available.
Meal was ok but cold and nothing exciting on the menu.
I doubt you will have any choice about staying here if you are going as part of a tour but I am sure there are a lot better hotels to stay in Olympia if you had a choice.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank delphi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were booked at the Amalia chain through a Globus tour. This location is somewhat isolated there are no nearby shops. Further, the hotel itself lacks an adequate shop for sundries,etc. The hotel is owned by a tour company and is designed for bus tour groups. The food for groups was plentiful and of good quality. Rooms and beds were small by North American standards, but comfortable. Staff was quite helpful. English is spoken throughout Greece and especially at hotels. There is a large swimming pool and our tour scheduled enough time for using it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Innocent_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

To be honest, I didn’t spend much time at this hotel. It was just an overnight stay as part of the Chat Tours itinerary. We got here too late in the evening – just in time for dinner – and left immediately after breakfast; so it was not possible to see the scenery from the room. The room is a bit dated. Clean but not clean enough. I found a dried raisin on the floor; so, I’m not sure when it was cleaned. Bathroom was okay but not in the same class as other hotels I’ve been in and could have been cleaner. There were stains on the bathroom floor probably from removing or trying to remove the paint that fell (why couldn’t they just have lined the floor with newspaper) while painting the ceiling.

Some people on the tour grumbled a lot at dinner about this hotel since we were told we would stay in a 4 star hotel. Definitely not a 4 star one but for an overnight stay, it was not bad. I didn’t feel the bed was uncomfortable but then again, I was dead tired. Also, I don’t look for feather mattresses when I travel – just a clean room and bathroom.

One honeymoon couple said they were given a room with separate beds.

Dinner and breakfast – there was a variety of dishes and I thought it was good. So, I thought the hotel was okay. Not top class but good enough for a stopover. I think if they refurbish it and take care of the little things, they will have more satisfied guests and better reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed one night while touring with a group. We arrived late afternoon, so quickly jumped into the pool to avoid beating closing time. The room is not quite up to what we experienced in other Amalia hotels in Greece, but it was quiet and comfortable. As with other Amalia Hotels, the lobby is huge, as was the dining area. The dinner and breakfast buffet were excellent, with many choices and tasty food.

The chairs in our room were a bit worn, and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while. As with some hotels in Greece, the faucet and showerhead in the tub were on the wide wall, resulting in an awkward body position while taking a shower. The beds were a bit on the hard side, but we slept comfortably.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onbalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.7 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
421 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#2 of 15 in Olympia
311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel Olympia

Address: Pyrgou-Olympias Ave, Olympia 270 65, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: $88 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel Olympia 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Amalia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing