We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”
Review of Hotel Kronio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kronio
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lovely small hotel, with a typical Greek decor and warm welcome, and 2 mins walk from the site and restaurants. Parking was behind the hotel underneath orange trees. Our room was a good size, spotlessly clean, with large bathroom and very comfortable bed. Wifi access was great. Breakfast was simple but ample, including cereal, yogurt, bread, cake, ham and cheese. Olympia is a lovely little town, and it was a delight to stay at the hotel Kronio for two nights, allowing a full day at the site, and giving opportunity to take in a walk up Kronos hill.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhsmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKronio O, Manager at Hotel Kronio, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hallo, Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you again to our family hotel, the next time you are in Olympia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    140
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
109
178
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a good value hotel in the center of Olympia. From there you have easy access (about 5 min walk) to both ancient Olympia site and museum and the restaurants in modern Olympia.
Rooms are clean and air conditioned and larger than the average.
The best part is the staff. They were nice and very helpful without being intrusive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pantuffll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKronio O, Manager at Hotel Kronio, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our family hotel, and we hope to see you again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Great no frills hotel - clean, friendly, great location. They really helped us make the most of our trip. We would definitely come back here if we find ourselves in Ancient Olympia again. Fantastic breakfast too. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thumper555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This Hotel is directly in the city of Olympia. It's within walking distance of the bus stop, all the local restaurants and the archaeological site. They also offer a small parking lot which is nice if you bring a car with you.

The hotel room was probably one of the larger rooms that I had stayed in within Greece, though still a European sized room. The bathroom we had was large which was nice for a change. There wasn't really a great view but that's more due to Olympia being at a low level as opposed to Delfi which is up in the mountains.

The hotel has a restaurant which is nice if you don't want to eat far from your hotel, but its just a short 5 minute walk to the main area which has a dozen restaurants and cafes. The city is compact so everything you might need from Banks to Shopping Marts are all within walking distance. While I had a car, I found no need to use it.

The staff was very friendly and seemed knowledgeable about the area. The city itself seemed very safe so there was no issues with late night walks.

All in all its a great place to stay while you visit the local sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is a little dated but is ideal for a couple of days in Olympia. good value bed and breakfast deal. The rooms are clean and basic but with a/c. Central location in small town and easy access to bus services. Staff were friendly and helpful in arranging transport back to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel was very close to the bus stop, the town centre and the archeological site. The rooms were spacious and well appointed compared to the Spartan hotels of Athens. The staff were very helpful and arranged our onward journey by bus through the central mountains. When I left my passport in my room they sent it forwards on the next bus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We loved the Kronio; the owners were charming, friendly and helpful. The location perfect with free parking right there. The room was great and the breakfast good. The hotel is right in the heart of the town, and easy to find. We loved spending the day in Olympia, visiting the amazing sites, and then having a restful evening at the Kronio Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#2 of 15 in Olympia
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronio

Property: Hotel Kronio
Address: Tsoureka str.1, Olympia 27065, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Olympia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#3 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kronio 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Kronio has been renovated in 2008 and it is located within walking distance from Ancient Olympia and the museum of Olympia. It offers well-furnished rooms, orthopedic mattresses with spring box technology, free ADSL 24 Mbps Wi-Fi throughout and balcony. All bright rooms come with air conditioning, mini fridge and a satellite LED TV 28" which includes an integrated media player and allows guests to watch 1 hour historical video about the local attractions of Ancient Olympia. Each private bathroom is fitted with a bathtub or shower and hairdryer with saver outlet. Guests at Kronio can start their day with a buffet breakfast served at the spacious restaurant. If you travel by public transportation, the 24-hour front desk can help you to book bus tickets for your next destination and advice you about the local attractions you must visit in Ancient Olympia. Free private parking is provided next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kronio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronio Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing