We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown Olympia”
Review of Hotel Kronio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kronio
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff was great, Breakfast a notch above. Right downtown, walking distance to the ruins and museum. The price was very reasonable. Parking right around the corner. I would recommend Hotel Kronio to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 457 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a great value hotel located in the heart of Ancienbt Olympia. The major sites are within easy walking distance. This hotel is immaculate. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful with solving travel problems and making good tips. The breakfat is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a really wonderful time in Olympia, despite the rain! This hotel is a very warm and friendly place to spend a night- the rooms are clean and comfortable and the ancient Olympic site is 5 minutes walk. We had a brilliant stay and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinebennett1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hotel Kronio, a very warm and nice place to live in. A little bit small but very clean, equipped with the necessary facilities from soup to nuts, just beside the main street of Olympia town and also just 5-10 minutes' walking to mainly travelling sites.
Mr. Panagiotis Asteris, the boss of hotel is a very kindly and warm-hearted man. He sent the detailed local map before we arrive the Olympia town according to our request. He waited us at the bus station for almost an hour in the evening although we got off the wrong station on 26/09/2013. Next day, when he heard we missed the Olympia Museum because we spend extraordinary hours on the rehearsal of Olympic Flame Lighting Ceremony of SOCHI 2014. He even drove us enthusiasticly to the Pyrgos by himself in order that we could save several hours to visit the Olympia Museum and avoid wasting time to catch the bus from Pyrgos to our next destination Delphi. He also gave us the better router reference from Olympia to Delphi. It really affected us very much. Thank you Mr. Panagiotis Asteris, an unforgettable Greek gentlemen.

Room Tip: Rooms beside the street are good to see the sightseeing of Olympia town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott_heen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKronio O, Owner at Hotel Kronio, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Mr. Scott, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We so greatly appreciate you letting us know that you enjoyed your stay and hope we shall be able to welcome you again in the future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I can't say anything bad about this place. We stayed one night to explore the pleasant town of Olympia and the archaeological site. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had a tub shower, and a fan (which I found was rare in Greek bathrooms). We had a balcony that could sit two people with a table and chairs very comfortably to drink our 4 Euro wine from the local grocery store. The breakfast room was big and very well put together along with a great breakfast. The people there were very nice and helpful and provided free parking. If you are planning on visiting Olympia, stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is a very nice option for exploring Olympia. The owners were very friendly and the service was great.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is easy to find and very close to the center of town. All of the main part of Olympia is in easy walking distance including many restaurants and shops. The attraction of Ancient Olympia is also very close by this hotel.

The room itself was a little basic, but clean and comfortable. Our room did have a balcony, but it just looked out onto the street, so nothing special in terms of views. The bathroom looked to be somewhat newly furnished and was very clean.

The hotel is a good pick for service, location, and value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank land_shark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is probably your best option for Olympia.
Spacy and clean rooms, very close to center and still quiet. The beds are great for a good sleep.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hercules
Hotel Hercules
#8 of 15 in Olympia
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Inomaos
Hotel Inomaos
#10 of 15 in Olympia
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronio

Address: Tsoureka str.1, Olympia 27065, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Olympia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#3 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: $49 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kronio 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Kronio has been renovated in 2008 and it is located within walking distance from Ancient Olympia and the museum of Olympia. It offers well-furnished rooms, orthopedic mattresses with spring box technology, free ADSL 24 Mbps Wi-Fi throughout and balcony. All bright rooms come with air conditioning, mini fridge and a satellite LED TV 28" which includes an integrated media player and allows guests to watch 1 hour historical video about the local attractions of Ancient Olympia. Each private bathroom is fitted with a bathtub or shower and hairdryer with saver outlet. Guests at Kronio can start their day with a buffet breakfast served at the spacious restaurant. If you travel by public transportation, the 24-hour front desk can help you to book bus tickets for your next destination and advice you about the local attractions you must visit in Ancient Olympia. Free private parking is provided next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kronio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronio Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing