We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Taverna The Garden

Taverna The Garden
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our taverna is located in the garden off the hotel europa. Depending on the weather taverna the "Garden" is open from May to Oktober. Openig time, every day from 19:00 pm to 23:00 pm we serve greek and mediterranean food such as,grilled meats , stews,vegitarian dishes and pasta.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great food. Portions are very large, so don't do like we did and order too much. The rustic salad is an interesting take on bruschetta: a large crouton topped with tomato and feta. The risotto was the best of what we ordered (if you try it, consider asking them to leave off the parsley garnish).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichmondViaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    51
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenai, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A superb restaurant”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The same family who owns this restaurant also own a farm and the Europa Hotel-Ancient Olympia. The food was very fresh and professionally presented and one of the highlights of our trip. The every meal was considered one the best of our whole trip and the service was excellent. We have talked about it several times. Eating in the garden and under the stars was a plus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark3040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant on our trip.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Food was mostly from local sources and was outstanding. View from outdoor garden was lovely and service was excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn4802013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Great views, amazing food and the loveliest staff!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went up having 3 meals at the Taverna.
The first time, on our first day. We had a reservation for 8, and the lovely lady had given us one of the best table, with a perfect view on the sunset. Being in this lovely garden, with the views, the stars, the cute lights in the olive trees, thats a lovely experience.

Our waitress was amazing. She was a bit puzzle at first, as we spoke french to each other, English to her, and she wanted to know where we were from, as we did not have a French Attitude. ;) She was so great, explain all the menu, such a lovely person. They bring us a jug of water, and a basket of delicious bread, with tapenade, cream cheese and olive oil. And one of the son of the owner came to bring us other complimentary bread, garlicky and tomato-y, very nice.

The food was delicious and very fresh (lot of the veggies are grow by the owners). When we finish, our waitress insisted to make us try ouzo, with and without ice. That was our lovely first experience there.

The next day, after visiting the site, we walk around in Olympia, and check the menus of different places... Meh and quite expensive. So we drive back to the hotel and had a lovely salad (gosh, hope i could have the recipe for that lovely sweet dressing) in the taverna, again, with outstanding service.

So we decide to had super there again. There was a thunderstorm, so the meals were serve in the restaurant inside the hotel, on the third floor. Again, great, great service (not ouzo that night, but the Greek Grappa that I've forgot the name).

Bref, do no hesitate to go eat there, away from the tourist traps, in an amazing setting, delicious fresh food and awesome service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Luthien_Tinuvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, FL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful dinners under the stars!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful garden setting, mesmerizing view and excellent food and service!
The family who own the hotel grow their own produce so the salads were excellent. The grilled fish, tsipoura, was outstanding.
The waitresses were noteworthy for the friendly service!
We had 2 romantic, delicious dinners under the stars, unforgettable!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsVee11100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna The Garden also viewed

Olympia, Elis Region
Olympia, Elis Region
 
Olympia, Elis Region
 

Been to Taverna The Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing