We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice AND economical hotel near Ancient Olympia”
Review of Hotel Pelops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pelops
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice AND economical hotel near Ancient Olympia”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel was very pleasant. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and quickly checked in. A map of the town marking the hotel and the ruins were given to us as well as a couple of restaurant recommendations. We were only there one night and opted to try La Belle Helene. It was an excellent recommendation. We had a larger bathroom and shower than typical in Greece as well as a larger room with a King bed. Will return if we stay in Olympia again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    135
    34
    7
    2
See reviews for
111
213
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

An ideal place for relaxing after a day exploring Ancient Olympia. Helpful & friendly couple who directed us to great places to eat and visit.
Excellent spacious room with tea & coffee making facilities & a good breakfast, with plenty of street parking and close to all the amenities in Olympia, yet quiet.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The rooms were very nice with a coffee/tea service and ann actual bath tub, which is not common in greek small hotels.
The Greek/Australian family were very helpful in directing us to the ancient Olympic sites and in finding good restaurants.
The breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent hotel near the ancient Greek Olympic site, run by a combination Greek/Australian family. The place has clean spacious rooms with a coffee and tea service. The friendly and helpful owners and staff were eager to give us directions and information about the nearby ancient Olympic ruins and museum, which are within walking distance. They will also recommend some good restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: Some, if not all rooms, have actual bath tubs. Many Greek hotels only have showers. It might be go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is nicely maintained and is a half block off the main road. The owners are very nice and provide you with information on where to eat and how to get to the archeological site of Ancient Olympia, which is just a short walk up the road. There are also several shops and restaurants all in the area. The bathroom was a bit small and so was the shower, but it's no different from the rest of the hotels when travelling around Greece.

Room Tip: A room with a view is always nice. We could see the Church from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for just one day/night, which was enough for us to see the Olympia site. The hotel was fine. The room was clean, the owners were nice enough, breakfast was OK. Overall, we didn't find much to be enthusiastic about, but also nothing to complain about. It's not one of our memorable hotel experiences, but it was perfectly fine for the night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TeamVGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel was clean and just off the main street so the noise was at a minimum. The room we had was huge, as was the bathroom and the bed. There is a full size bathtub which was great for catching up on some much needed clothes washing. Breakfast was a little limited compared to other places we stayed around the country but still quite good. The owner and his wife were very cordial and welcoming. We had to check out before first light, so we were up very early and found that no hot water was available. I'm not sure if this was an isolated malfunction or if the hot water is not usually available at four in the morning. We would stay here again if we passed this way in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was very spacious with two balconies just off the ground level. Very pleased with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES AND BARBA... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#3 of 15 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Olympia
Hotel Europa Olympia
#1 of 15 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#8 of 15 in Olympia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#2 of 15 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#4 of 15 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelops

Property: Hotel Pelops
Address: Varela 2, Olympia 27065, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#5 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelops 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelops was one of the first hotels to open its doors in Ancient Olympia to visitors over 40 years ago. our family’s proud hospitality still remains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Pelops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelops Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing