We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also disappointed...”
Review of Hotel Pelops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pelops
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed one night on the recommendation of Rick Steves Guide book. The owners seemed nice and where helpful on getting us a room. They recommended some restaurants in town which were just okay (maybe all the restaurants were just okay in town).

The rooms looked okay until night time came around and we first found out that the beds were very uncomfortable and hard.
Then we could hear the 8 teenagers in the room next door talking. So I called one of the owners and told her about the noise and she said I should go talk to them. I was shocked that she thought that, that was my job. I told her that I was already in bed. A few minutes later it seemed to quiet down. Then a few minutes later it got noisy again and I had to knock on their door and tell them to quiet down. The I went down to the other owner and explained the situation and he call their room and told them to be quiet or leave. Then it was quiet for the rest of the night.

The shower was very small and the water leaked onto the floor.

The WIFI was spotty in the room.

The breakfast was just okay with the basic choices of a European breakfast.

I would not stay at this hotel again, there has to be better choices!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YBIInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpelops, Owner at Hotel Pelops, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Mr MontanaSkip42 thank you for your review.

We rarely as a hotel take colleges/universities as guests. The exception is Hofstra University which has been staying with us for more than 10 years, have always been well behaved and never caused trouble until this year with you.
We have contacted their 2 lead professors and we are expecting a formal apology to us so the only thing I can say is sorry for the upset and bad experience you had in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Alkis Spiliopoulos
PS: The wi-fi issues have been corrected as of 17/04/2013 with the installation of a more powerful access point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 484 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

While everything looks fine/ok in this hotel I wouldn't recommend it. It's at the end of the village but the place is small so location doesn't matter much. The owner was nice and gave us good recommendations. The problems were:
Uncomfortable a beds and bedding, poor sound proofing( we could hear someone snorting in another room), unreliable wifi ( had to go out into the corridor a few times to connect) and the breakfast only lasts till 9.30. We went down for breakfast at 9.45 to be told they were starting to clear away, we weren't even invited to grab one of the apples! This place isn't cheap for what it is probably because of recommendations on here, there are lots of less expensive hotels beside this I'd try one of them instead.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmettMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpelops, Owner at Hotel Pelops, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Mr Emmet I am Alkis Spiliopoulos the son of the owner and I would like to take the time to explain a few things about the hotel.

1. Breakfast lasts until 9.30am so arriving at 9.45am is late. Of course you could grab an apple and you do not even have to ask. That is why we have the fruit bowl sitting on first table of the dining room all day. It is for everyone. Please also note that your reservation was "Breakfast Excluded" which means we had one more reason to clean up at 9.30am

2. Wi-Fi issues are subject to each persons device. You can not expect a tablet or a smartphone to have the same reception as a laptop. All the rooms have been tested with a laptop and work 100%. However, because we understand that there is a trend in travellers to use phones and tablets we have upgraded the wi-fi access point yesterday 17/04/2013

3. Soundproofing the rooms has been done when the renovation happened in 2004 and there is not much we can do about this.

4. The beds are the same in all the hotel. I find it surprising, to say the least , that people a few days before your stay reviewed us and said that they have had their best sleep in Greece. It is personal taste I guess.

I hope you understand the above. Thank you for your poor review because after all.... it just makes us try harder and get better :)
Kind regards,
Alkis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family had a very pleasant two night stay here in spring 2013, exploring nearby archaeological attractions, which are terrifically interesting. The rooms were very comfortable, one with a outdoor sitting area, both with views of the central square and town church. We arrived on an evening when a buffet dinner was available and the food was delicious. Breakfasts were good. The owners were extremely helpful regarding sites and events and went far out of their way to help us solve a small mechanical problem even though it was a holiday weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square and church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler48823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived in the evening, around 9.00pm and what a great welcome we received from Theo, the owner. We walked in off the street and asked about the rooms and Theo provided two rooms at very reasonable rates. This hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the site of Olympia and less than a minute to the main street with shops and restaurants. The rooms all seem to have balconies, and are slightly larger than what we had experience in other cities in Greece. The breakfast/dining room is pleasant, with lots of natural light. We chatted to Theo's wife, Suzanne, who is originally from Melbourne. What a lovely lady. Maybe will meet up in Armidale one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A very comfortable and clean, amenities were very good, breakfast was tasty with local marmelade, but nothing extraordinary. The staff was friendly Short walk to the site of Ancient Olympia and to restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Felt very welcome. Nice room with very comfortable bed & hot shower. Great breakfast with homemade delights (Susan runs a catering business & you can tell) & a roaring fire in the evenings (we did go in March). Our visit to Olympia was made a real pleasure by the help & assistance of Theo & Susan (town maps & accurate recommendations for restaurants). They even gave us a 10km lift to the nearest town to pick up our onward bus. As I add my review to the numerous positive reviews on this site for the Hotel Pelops I can confidently say that this is the place to stay in Olympia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We can simply echo the previous reviews. We found the hotel very nice, as described.

If you are driving from Athens, we recommend the 2nd route described on the hotel website; Tripoli and Megalopoli. We took a mountain route going there and the roads were in bad shape. However, we came back via Krestena and Kalo Nero and it was smooth sailing. By the way, there are a couple of tavernas and cafes on the beach in Kalo Nero, less than a kilometer off the highway if you need a break.

One final comment of the kindness and honesty of folks at the hotel and in Olympia. We were traveling with our 10 year old grandson. First, he left his window down we we locked the car for the night. Secondly, he left his iPod in the room when we checked out. Nothing in the car was touched during the night and when we returned to the hotel, his iPod was waiting for him at the front desk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandpa117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inomaos
Hotel Inomaos
#10 of 15 in Olympia
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelops

Address: Varela 2, Olympia 27065, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Olympia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#5 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: $47 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelops 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelops was one of the first hotels to open its doors in Ancient Olympia to visitors over 40 years ago. our family’s proud hospitality still remains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pelops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelops Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing