We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place full of treasures”

Archaeological Museum at Ancient Olympia
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.86*
and up
Ancient Olympia Half-Day Tour from Katakolo Port
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place full of treasures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I came to this museum with my husband and 3 sons. We had already wandered around the ruin site. My boys were interested in the ruins but loved the museum. It is not too big and all of the pieces are beautifully displayed. The best parts of the site are preserved in this museum. Don't miss it if you are in Olympia.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina_R_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    348
    48
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
272 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Just big enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This museum holds many of the statues excavated at the Olympia site. The marbles from the pediments of Zeus' temple are breathtaking in detail and scale. Equally impressive: Nike and Hermes. Don't forget to look at the painted parts of the facades to see what they looked like back in the day. It would not have been the same without our guide Niki. She gave us the background and oriented us so that we knew the significance of the pieces in the museum. Please take a guide, there is no audio tour available and you really miss the impact without hearing all the stories. Niki, from Olympia Day Tours is inexpensive and worth every penny.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kwchilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“More interesting than the ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Much of the most interesting things to be seen are in the museum. The site, while interesting because of it's size was a lot of the same. Ephesus is far more impressive as in the Parthenon. But, there are some beautiful pieces in this museum

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small museum, outstanding exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This museum has the statue of Hermes which is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen in my life. It is a small museum but contains many interesting statues plus the top piece that used to go on the ancient buildings which was carved with statues. I was astonished and the skill of the Greek
workers in marble. Everything they did amazes me and I don't know how they did it. We had an excellent guide named Nicki and I would heartily recommend her for the richness of her presentation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoanHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

One of my favorite Museums in Greece. Quiet but full of things to see. They're obviously adding stuff all the time. More things to see than last time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneRichard494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Museum at Ancient Olympia also viewed

 

Been to Archaeological Museum at Ancient Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing