We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”
Review of Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.45*
and up
Ancient Olympia Half-Day Tour from Katakolo Port
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a stunning site. Try to go early morning or late pm - but check opening times carefully before booking. Government cutbacks currently mean shorter hours at weekends.
Wonderful place to wander around and soak it in, in your own time. Oh, and run the length of the stadium, of course.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alanandkristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,592
    679
    222
    38
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not another Ancient Greek Tour (Olympia)”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

So you are due to visit your 5th ancient site on a two week cruise which is like visiting your 5th successive Cathedral on a tour of Italy. You are looking forward to an early start from your cruise
ship and a 35 mile coach trip in temperatures between 75/80 degrees. After all it is only a couple of days since you visited Ephesus . You must be joking! Surely there must be life after the ancient grecians. Not to mention the costs involved
Just think, instead of trailing round a dusty ancient site, where you probably spend as much time on the coach as on the site, and yet have only half the time needed to do it any justice, you could be having a beer in a shaded local bar or visit a local beach and relax for a couple of hours. No hassle no strain - no getting hot under the collar, isn't that what part of your cruise should be like?.
Yes- you have by now realised that this article is not going to be about the wonders of Olympia.
We docked in Katakolon (It is so small that it seems that its name is doubtful). We walked leisurely down the main street looking at the "tourist" shops which were the same as those we had seen in Mykonos, Kusadasi, Rhodes Crete and Santorini. It was too early in the day for even a coffee never mind a beer, but on the far end of the village we had a big surprise, because emerging from behind a corner came "Tommy the Tank Engine" which advertised stop off tour
to a local winery for wine tasting and another stop off at a delightful little beach which offered
A modern local hotel and sun beds on the small but pretty beach. The price was peanuts compared with the very expensive city tours which cost a fortune for benefit of sitting around in traffic jams for an hour.
Tommy takes you for a 20 minute drive through the local countryside to the winery for the first stop. Although the toy train was fairly full, only 4 of us actually got off at the winery, which was something of a non-event as it was far too early in the day for much to be happening. The 4 of us were the only visitors but it is apparently used by tour groups from the cruise ships, so things would probably liven up later in the day. Unless you are a wine buff, you would hardly find the winery of any particular interest. We only stayed for 40 minutes and hopped on "Tommy 2" to continue our little tour.
The second part of the tour was the visit to the small beach which only took another 10/15 minutes.
Most people got off the train this time, and we were dropped off in the hotel car park which was only a short walk away from the hotel patio area which overlooked a small but very attractive bay. There were people on the beach but it was by no means crowded and there were empty sun beds available.
A waiter was on hand to serve coffee/beer and it was extremely pleasant relaxing with a beer under a sun brolly.
We stayed for an hour an a half , the weather was hot and sunny without being unbearable and
we did not have to wait very long for Tommy to come trundling down the road to pick us up. Although there was a queue for the return journey, most people on the train elected to visit the beach, so plenty of seats became available.
Back at Katacolon, I reflected on the events. I did not feel hassled from having had an early start. I did not feel hot and sweaty by not having to endure a coach trip to Olympia and I did not really regret having missed yet another Greek historic site. (incidentally, if you check on Google, there are some wonderful photographs of Olympia, where you can see everything the site has to offer)
What is more, a glance in my wallet revealed that I went back to the cruise ship with it weighing more or less the same as what it did when we docked.
As I have said previously, I apologise for not writing a review of Olympia but I hope I have proved that there can be life after the ancient Greeks!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wow, impressive to be walking the grounds of the Olympians”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very impressive stop on our tour. Despite a rainy day, we thoroughly enjoyed asking through the ruins. The actual field is rather flat and unremarkable, but the ruins are very interesting while one is learning the history of the athletic games held here until almost 400AD.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jim and Barb”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Most people that we met were part of a cruise day trip and were run through the ruins at the speed of light. If you can manage to afford yourself at least three hours (four or more is better) you can take your time and truly absorb all that the Olympian ruins offer. Don't cut yourself short. See everything.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAMES AND BARBA... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Katakolon Express and Piraeus Express”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We used this company to tour Ancient Olympia and its museum one day and Athens (Piraeus) to visit the Acropolis and other sites the next day. The cost for their services was about 33% of the price charged by our cruise ship for the same tour. The company is family owned and provides very good transportation and guide services. The coach was very nice with good air conditioning and free wifi. Try and get free wifi from a cruise ship. Recommend booking on line if possible to make sure you have a reservation. The ancient sites are amazing and have to be seen to really appreciate their size and scope - particularly the Acropolis.

Jim G, Tustin, CA

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Olympia also viewed

 

Been to Ancient Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing