We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great location and the best breakfast in Greece”
Review of Olympia Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olympia Palace
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Travelling Aussies
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great room, great location and the best breakfast in Greece”
Reviewed November 24, 2006

At 70euro including breakfast for a double / twin this was just fantastic. The room was immaculate, spacious and had a little balcony looking over the town hall and toward the site of ancient Olympia. In fact, this is the closest hotel to the site being within 5 minutes walk to the entrance.

Our room had a bath! A huge, clean bath! The beds were huge and really comfortable and there was air-conditioning and television as well as a safe and a mini-bar.

We found about about this place after staying a first night in Olympia and looking for somewhere to get breakfast the following morning. We saw a sign outside the Olympia Palace saying buffet breakfast for 6euro. When we saw the food we just couldn't believe it - it was a full Aussie style buffet with cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bacon and eggs etc, etc. This won us over and we decided to change hotels and spend our second night in Olympia at this hotel.

A word of caution, though. While the reception staff were exceptionally helpful and professional and went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable, some of the waitresses (mainly in the afternoon and evening) were really, really rude - even for Greece! In fact, a couple of them were downright surly and beligerent. One woman told us we couldn't eat in the outdoor dining area because she didn't want to have to come out there to serve us!

Despite this "fawlty towers", moment the Olympia Palace was just fantastic. If you don't get to stay there, at least make sure you have the breakfast for 6euros - you don't need to be a guest to enjoy this little luxury.....

  • Liked — clean, comfortable, well located, fabulous breakfast
  • Disliked — waitresses at dinner
  • Tips/Secrets — looks expensive but you can probably negotiate in low season. Have breakfast even if your not staying
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank XAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
10
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2006

Only stayed in Olympia for 1 night whilst travelling around Greece. The Olympia Palace is a lovely functional hotel, it has many tour groups passing through. We were a group of 3 lads, stayed in a 4 person family room, 2 single beds + 1 double, which was ideal. All your usual mod cons, cable tv, air con, lovely shower etc, although reception girl was a tad moody!
Brekky was lovely, buffet style, i made a pig of myself prior to the walk around Ancient Olypmia. The hotel is very close the the site too, less than 10 mins walk, & in a quiet street just off the main thoroughfare, but only 1 min walk to the shops/bars/tavernas etc.
They also looked after our backpacks for most of the day whilst we went to the site.
Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank AdrianGFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

I have recently returned from a tour of Greece and spent a night at the Olympia Palace. I found the hotel and staff to be very pleasant. The rooms are a decent size and the bed was large enough to accomodate 3 people - not what I expected as a single traveller! I had a balcony which faced onto the main street, however the street is not very busy with traffic and even when I sat out on the balcony I hardly noticed any noise. I fully enjoed the breakfast and buffet evening meal. The meal consisted of choices or various salad items and hot and cold foods, mainly of Greek origin. A good way to try out typically Greek food!

I wouldn't heistate to sat at this hotel again, all in all I had an enjoyable stay

  • Liked — Location and bed size
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2006

The lobby, restaurant, and outdoor restaurant area was nice, but the rooms were very basic in comparison. Rooms had wall to wall tile instead of carpet, everything was white and sterile like a hospital. Our room obviously needed and was in the process of having cosmetic repairs done to the wall, tv was absent from the tv stand, and the hotel was hot as the HVAC system had not been converted over from heat to air conditioning. Breakfast was good w/ both hot and cold items. This hotel is the closest to the Olympic ruins.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2004

We found this hotel to be average. It was very clean. It was being run by females, and they would even take our luggage to our rooms for our entire escorted tour group. Their food was acceptable..nothing really special. It was very close to the old Olympia ruins, and it was located along the main artery into town which included many shops and restaurants. It is very touristy to say the least. Shop owners would be out there almost grabbing you off the street to come into their shops. People were friendly, and we enjoyed our one day stay there.

Helpful?
15 Thank Dushan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 19, 2003

My husband and I recently toured the Peloponnese area of Greece with a group of German tourists. This is a very small town which survives solely on the tourists who visit Olympia. The room and bathroom were clean, but the view was awful and quite noisy because it is located on the main street of the town. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was horrible and the staff was not very friendly. I would try another hotel if I were you.

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olympia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Palace

Property: Olympia Palace
Address: Praxitelous Kondili 2, Olympia 27065, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Olympia Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Palace Hotel Olympia
Palace Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing