We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down”
Review of Hotel Antonios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Antonios
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just a few points if you are looking at staying here.
- location is great, just a short walk to town.
-nice pool area
-bath robes and slippers.

But -
- Our shower did not work. Luckily traveling in a group we used our friends shower.
- Breakfast buffet was a let down. not much of a variety.
- Room had a TERRIBLE view. My family had a gorgeous view at the front of the hotel and my room was into a back alley they was depressing to look at.
- No light in the rooms. very dark.
- The elevator was tiny and when there are 40 people on a tour it is irritating to wait on a slow elevator.

Overall I am not picky, this was fine for one night stop on a tour. But it was depressing compared to the fantastic hotels available across Greece.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

With a small group of eight people we spent a very comfortable night in this well-decorated hotel while on our way to Delphi, We were traveling with a larger group who chose to stay on up the mountain in accommodations that were $100 a night more expensive. Although I did not see the actual rooms in the pricier hotel, I'm convinced that our hotel was just as good. The rooms at Antonios are large and quite comfortable with nice views and clean bathrooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful and seemed very welcoming when we arrived. I have no qualms about recommending this hotel to anyone based on its location, service and value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The positives of this Hotel are out wieghed by the negatives. The rooms are nice, ours had a view over the cemetary and down to the village. There are slippers and robes provided which made for a nice touch. The pool and surrounds were quite pleasent although we had to be out of there by 7.00pm, so they could set the tables for dinner, which was also quite nice by the pool. However there was little or no hot water in the shower and sometimes no water at all. Breakfast was louder than the protests in Athens and it was difficult to find anything at the buffet. All of this did not put me in a good mood for the tour of the ancient Olympic area.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front with a view of the village, are noisier than the rooms at the back. I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoMen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

(a) the hotel is what it is: a once 4 star hotel that needs some remodeling since it is rough throughout, ready for a museum... Not the one down the street though...The deco is overlapping with the cut and pasting that has occurred through the years
(b) i recommend that during the remodeling they might as well insulate the place & organize the spaces better if hotel owners want to offer various services like wedding receptions during regular hotels services...
(c) staff seems to be ok but owners want to cash in & undertake various events at the expense of guests. Where is my r&r on this vacation?

During our stay (currently in bed at the hotel) there is a wedding reception ongoing and it is 4:15am. The hotel does not have proper or in that manner any sound insulation and obviously cannot sleep with the music. At 2:00 am I called the reception desk and asked how long this will last & gentleman said in a few it will be over... Hmm! Few what? Anyway, since I m up figured I should let you all know how great our stay is?
The room entry door is like paper... And do not expect any security from it. The hot water is spotty and the same goes for the AC.
I ll stop here since I can go on & on!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRK-CRITIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

A breath away from the village of Ancient Olympia. It is quiet, very clean, with helpful staff. a romantic place in the trees. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Located up the hill 5 mins from the town centre. We were lucky and had a suite (with terrace) which was big and comfortable if a little old fashioned with almost antique furniture but with new bathroom fittings and a Jacuzzi.

Nice friendly staff. Fast free internet in lobby. Food quite good. Pool. Kettle in room. No gym. Tour groups visit this hotel.

It’s a bit out of the way – it’s a bit old fashioned – but it’s safe and comfortable. Clearly we were lucky in having the big suite - regular rooms may not be so good.

Room Tip: Try to get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike99Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Antonios for one night during our insight tours vacation. As far as the condition of the hotel, it is ok, what I expected for out of the big city stays. The pool area and dinner we had was good. I think breakfast was good as well.

My biggest complaint is that they turned off the air conditioning at midnight and did not tell anyone. Everyone on our group complained about waking up in a sweat and having to open the window/door to balcony. It is fine if knew it was coming but nothing.

Other than that, I like our stay.

Room Tip: leave your window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank great-places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.4 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antonios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antonios

Address: Olympia Village, Olympia 27065, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: $73 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antonios 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owing to its magnificent view to the valley of Ancient Olympia, also known as “the Valley of the Gods”, as well as to the high-quality service, the recently renovated hotel Antonios is a unique choice for those who always seek the best. Do not hesitate to customize your stay by choosing between a variety of special packages and offers for every taste! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Antonios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antonios Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing