We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent work of art”

Hermes by Praxiteles
Ranked #4 of 26 things to do in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
368 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Excellent work of art”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hermes and the infant Dionysus is an unique work of Praxiteles, made in Parian marble in 4 c. BC. It is probably one of the finest statues of the Late Classical period and it alone is worth visit to Olympia. The most of Praxiteles´ works were painted by Nikias of Athens, and one can just imagine how wonderful this work was when finished with colours as it was originally planned.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Superkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    41
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning site”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Loved the ruins and the amazing collection of artifacts at the lovely museum. The unique collection is gorgeous with sirens, sphinxes, griffins, and other mythological icons. Some of the items go back to the 14 th century BCE. The staff at the site could be more helpful and patient, however.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The most superb statue ever made by human hands. This is what I thought when I first saw Hermes. I'd never imagined perfection could possibly exist, but I saw it with my very own eyes. Praxiteles' hands must have been guided by the Gods. And the model he used must have been the most beautiful man on earth.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisetElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Beatiful... of course.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Amazing sculpture. As you would expect. I told the story my to my 5 year old and she wanted to know why he was teasing the baby with grapes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect perfection”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The most superb statue ever made by human hands. This is what I thought when I first saw Hermes. I'd never imagined perfection could possibly exist, but I saw it with my very own eyes. Praxiteles' hands must have been guided by the Gods. And the model he used must have been the most beautiful man on earth.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermes by Praxiteles also viewed

 

Been to Hermes by Praxiteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing