We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

High on the Olympia mountain..Here lies this beauiful, like a ski resort Lodge. Wide with fireplaces burning and curved arches.. Really pretty. Only downside..no lift to rooms.. It had a nice dinner and buffet breakfast.. Was on tour of Olympia and got to stay here. They even recycle camera batterys for the enviroment.. Room was decent with a balcony

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterfallsHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Everyone recommended this place as having really great barbeque (or something) and I just did not find this to be the case. I know everyone raves about Greek food, but I didn't find the food here to be anything out of the ordinary. But basically, I didn't find the food in Greece to be that great of all the places we visited in our month-long trekking trip, so it might not have been this restaurant. And there's nowhere else to eat if you stay in this restaurant. Also, I don't know why everyone raves about a buffet dinner. We did not see a buffet dinner at ALL. It was cold, so we wanted soup, but I think either this restaurant didn't have soup or nowhere in all of Greece was soup (or warm drinking water) served. This room is fine if you want a really spacious place to stretch out. It being cold, we didn't bother to use the swimming pool. But it's unlikely you'll be in this city for long, so for that, this hotel was pretty decent. Although for all its space, all I wanted was hot water for a good long shower after hiking all over the place all day. Breakfast was only okay.

Room Tip: There are tons of rooms. It is a gigantic hotel for a smallish town, so I can't imagine you not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise, the pictures do not do it justice. We stayed 2 nights and had dinner under the stars both nights-- Delicious Greek meals and great greek wine including our much sought after Retsina. The atmosphere was so romantic, overlooking the city lights and having the pool and grounds lit up very softly. The pool is very large and clean and although cold in September, we were tired and hot enough from the tour to take a nice refreshing dip.
As we entered the hotel, we were greeted with an array of ouzo, juice, olives and potato chips. The lobby is large with 3 computers for guests, (never a wait since free internet was offered).
Our room was large with a small terrace but it had a very nice view of the grounds, quiet, sunken living area, large bed though hard and big bathroom with decent amenities.
One draw back is the distance from the town though being up on the hill give it the incredible views.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel through a Gate 1 organized tour of classic Greece. This hotel has a great rear garden area with picturesque views where you can pick fresh fruit right off the trees. The dinner buffet dinner arranged through our tour was good and they put on a decent buffet breakfast. Our room’s temperature was difficult to control and was very hot all night long (many other guests complained about this). Our room on the ground floor was a little dated and the shower was not great (placement, adjustability, pressure and temperature).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The first time I visited it,it was in 1997. Since then, I always try to find a chance for a come back- I feel a bit of Odysseus going home to his Ithaka !!
This hotel offers such a family, unparalleled atmosphere and luxurious facilities that enables you to enjoy the very best of the traditional Greek authentic hospitality.
It is built on the top of a lovely hill offering captivating panoramic views of this divine- between 2 rivers- valley that Ancient Olympia lies in.
It is an idyllic, peaceful and quite location that you may have the most relaxing holidays you 'ld ever imagine of. And this is the reason that a lot of international celebs are included in it's guest-list. To name but a few: the famous soprano Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, the Frenc award-winning film director Kostas Gavras, the worldwide famous Greek composer Mikis Theodorakis have spent a couple of days at this hotel. Visiting Ancient Olympia it is the absolute must-stay hotel.
The rooms are spacious, clean, functional and cosy with a touch of luxury and lovely views.
The gorgeous swimming pool offers you free deck-chairs and sun-umbrellas and a pool bar, all surrounded by lovely flowers and plants.
The buffet breakfast has an incredible variety of tasteful-mostly local- products.
The restaurant and the grill in the garden offer delicious Greek and BBQ specialities.
The service is outstanding and the staff-mostly locals well trained- they will never let you feel uncomfortable even for a single moment.
The standards of this hotel are more European than Greek and quite affordable for the luxury they provide. Everything is very well organised and managed here as it is a family affair.
Madame Elke - a dynamic,sporty German lady- is the key-figure : checking out everything, everywhere,anytime. The joint managers Alkis & Ernest - her sons- could not have been less than perfect : smart, handsome,well-mannered and helpful.
Try to stay at this hotel and you will never regret.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DINOS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We traveled for about 5 weeks this trip and found the Europa Hotel to be one of our favorites. It is not located within the village of Olympia, but it is nicely located up the hill and has a gorgeous view and a wonderful pool. (You can see everyone loves the pool by the number of photos of it submitted!) The rooms are very nice as are all of the common areas. There is a lovely pool bar and the outdoor dining area is spectacular at sunset and after dark when the candles and lights take over the ambience. We ate dinner there both nights of our visit and were not disappointed. Though we were in Olympia to see the UNESCO recognized ancient ruins, the choice of this hotel was perfect. We were able to visit the ruins (which are fabulous!) and have a relaxing afternoon and evening at the hotel. And not being in the village of Olympia was fine! Once you visit the ruins and museum, there is really not much there... a few souvenir shops, a chance to get a beer or have an ice cream. The Hotel Europa was a wonderful choice. One other tip...we were there in mid September. It was not that crowded and the weather was not sweltering the way Greece can be in summer months.

Room Tip: I do believe all of the rooms have a view, but if this is something important to you, I would ask at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel consists of two parts; our group was "relegated" to the annex, which is 20 yards from the main building--where dinner and breakfast was served. Both parts are attractively built in traditional Greek style; the room I had included a large balcony although the view was not particularly attractive (the room was at the end of a long corridor). The location of the hotel is not within easy walking distance from the Olympic site.
Dinner and breakfast (included in the tour package) were very good; breakfast, in particular, was generous. The staff at the reception were most helpful and contributed to the overall enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank German_Retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.2 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#2 of 15 in Olympia
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amalia Hotel Olympia
Amalia Hotel Olympia
#7 of 15 in Olympia
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Drouva 1, Olympia 270 65, Greece (Formerly BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Olympia
#1 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: $103 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel is set among the enchanting landscape of Ancient Olympia. It is ideally located to visit the important sites of the area and enjoy the natural beauty of the mountain and coast of West Peloponnese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympia
Olympia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing