We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat Visit”
Review of La Petite Planete

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mycenae
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Petite Planete
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mycenae
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District Cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Repeat Visit”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A wonderful welcome by charming hosts who were attentive to our every need . Beautiful views and incomparable food. We stayed at this hotel last year and came back especially at the start of a lovely holiday in the Peloponnese to spend a night here. We can only suggest that you try it yourselves!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentmere_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    31
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
69
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Delightful people,e good rooms, splendid terrace with huge view. The food was easily the best we had in Greece and extraordinarily modest in price. Very close to the main attraction. No credit cards, take cash..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Everything was perfect. Our room over-looking the valley and mountains was spectacular. Vassiliki and her family were excellent hosts--you feel like family. The breakfast and dinners were very tasty; homemade and in ample quantities. Capping off a great trip was the proximity to Epidavros, Mycenea, Nemea and Nafplio. Vassiliki's knowledge of the area ensures you don't miss any good archeological sites.

Room Tip: Ask to face the valley on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed at the La Petite Planete for 5 days in 2012 years ago and returned for 8 days in April, 2014. I love this hotel and will be returning for a third visit in 2016. In 30 years of business travel and 40+ years of extensive personal travel, I have stayed at well over 1,000 different hotels. This is my all time favorite hotel in the world for many reasons:

1. The service is 5 star from the moment you arrive. Sisters Vassiliki and Valentini are the most generous, caring hosts I've ever met. Without ever being intrusive, they make sure that everything about your stay is perfect. For example, I asked to borrow scissors to trim an unruly bit of hair and they offered the services of a friend of the family who is a professional hair stylist (who would not accept payment).

2. Vassiliki is extremely knowledgeable about the history of the area and can recommend wonderful out-of-the-way archaeological sites as well as beautiful country walks.

3. The food is beautifully prepared and seasoned with the freshest local ingredients including herbs, fruit and vegetables from their own gardens. In both 2012 and 2014, it was the best food I had in Greece. My breakfast as a solo traveler covered the entire table and I had a 3-course dinner there every night. Each day brought new culinary treats. At home, I would happily drive 2 hours to eat in a restaurant this good.

4. The rooms are impeccably clean and very comfortable. Beds are important to me because I have a bad back and I slept beautifully here with a good mattress and pillows.

5. The location is perfect for Mycenae (of course), but also for Corinth, Epidaurus, Argos and Nafplio. All are an easy drive over good roads. There are beautiful views of the surrounding countryside from the patio and walks through the ruggedly beautiful countryside from the doorstep. It is easy to find (the last hotel on the left as you're leaving town) and has ample parking.

The only minor issue is that the WiFi doesn't work in the guest rooms. There is a good signal in all of the downstairs public rooms. This just meant when I wanted to use the internet I *had* (cough) to camp out on the beautiful terrace and let Vassiliki and Valentini ask if they could bring me something to drink. I let them spoil me rotten!

I love this hotel and recommend enthusiastically!

Room Tip: The upper level rooms facing the valley are lovely (although the ones facing the mountain/garden loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our first hotel in our most recent trip to Greece this April. We arrived on Monday of the Holy Week. We were struck by the friendliness and warmth of the hostess (Vassiliki)! The room was comfortable and clean. The view from our wondow of the open space of olive groves and forests was spectacular. The breakfast was excellent! I highly recommend this hotel and I would stay there again if I went to visit Mycenae. Moreover, I will never forget the best jam in the world: Made of tangerines, offered to us as a sample from our hostess. Thank you very much, Vasso!!!

Eleni and Gabriella

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Petite Planete is an excellent place to stay while visiting Mycenae, and exceeded our expectations of a budget hotel. What makes it stand out is the wonderful friendliness of the hosts and their desire to please. We were shown several rooms so we could decide what would be most comfortable for our family of four (including a 3-yr old and a one-yr old). While settling in, the hostess brought us tea and coffee, and freshly squeezed orange juice for our children. I felt like the hallways and rooms had seen better days, and were sparely decorated (our room had no pictures on the walls), and could use a handy-man (the toilet seat in our bathroom came unhinged for example), but the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. It included a mini-fridge. We ate dinner in the large dining room (10 euro per person). Each course was excellent, and wine was included. Breakfast the next morning was also delicious, including eggs to order, yogurt, fruit, cheese and toast, coffee cake, and more. We ate on the spacious patio with a beautiful morning view over the valley. The hotel is a short distance from the site of Mycenae and you could walk there. We took an evening walk in the direction recommended by our hostess, through olive groves to the remains of a stone bridge of the Mycenaean era, which also gave us a nice view of Mycenae at sunset.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Incredible hospitality! We arrived late and the owner stayed and waited for us. Breakfast is one of the best I ever have. Very clean and comfortable room, close to the archeological site. Vasilika gave us a preview of the site so we know we didn't miss the main attractions (e.g. the back gate where Oreste came in to murder Clytemmestra) This is the place to stay if you're visiting Mycenae.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh1home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mycenae
6.3 mi away
Hotel Apollon
Hotel Apollon
#1 of 4 in Argos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.3 mi away
Palladion Hotel
Palladion Hotel
#2 of 4 in Argos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
10.1 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 38 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 38 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 38 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
9.5 mi away
Alexandros Hotel
Alexandros Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nea Kios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Planete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Planete

Property: La Petite Planete
Address: Hr. Tsounta Ave, Mycenae 212 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Mycenae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mycenae
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
La Petite Planete Mycenae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing