We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ancient Mycenae

Ancient Mycenae
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.07*
and up
Mycenae and Epidaurus Full Day Trip with Walking Tour in Nafplio
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Mycenae
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Preveza, Greece
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Have visited this location several times, what a site to see. While much is gone, there is still much to see and enjoy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Preveza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    220
    50
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't miss the amazing fresco in the museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was stunned to see the site, which filled an entire day for me. The fresco in the museum of the two priestesses and assistant was mind-blowing. All of the site is a MUST, but the fresco for me was a spectacular piece I had not seen or heard of before.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Long walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We took a bus from Nafplion to Mycenae town. And when the bus dropped us off we found out we had to walk 2km uphill to get to the site!!!! Certainly not what we were expecting. By the time we got there, we only had about 45 minutes to spend as we had to get back to town in time to catch the last bus back to Nafplion. The site certainly is beautiful and what made th walk bearable was the fantastic temperature and gorgeous sights along the way.....very very beautiful. However we didn't have anyone to explain the history of the place to us, which i feel might have enhanced the overall experience for us. So my tip would be to join the tour if u plan on going here ;p

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sabyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fascinating and evocative site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location is stunning and there are few places where the sense of history is so physically palpable. It is a world class site.

The Lion Gate is worth the trip in itself. To wander round the site and realise this was all flourishing and built more than 3000 years ago is amazing and quite humbling.

The museum should not be missed; the pottery and other exhibits are incredible, particularly given their age.

If you go in the summer, try to go early both because of the crowds and the heat.

We stayed in Mycenae itself at La Petite Planete - strongly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Rare chance to walk around ancient ruins dating c. 1500BC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Fascinating, blood-stained mythical past. The entrance to the palace was the very impressive Lion's Gate. Well laid out and informative signs made the ancient site amazing. Walk amongst the grave circle, the beehive tomb, the secret cistern, the royal palace, the house of columns. After Athens, this visit reached new heights.

Stay in nearby Nafplio, a wonderful town, where, in the musuem, is displayed the armour they found at Mycenae. Nafplio itself, with its seafront, Palamidi castle draped over the Palamidi hill top,lovely narrow streets was a fantastic base.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Mycenae also viewed

Epidavros, Argolis Region
Nafplio, Argolis Region
 
Mycenae, Argolis Region
 

Been to Ancient Mycenae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing