We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartments in between rack and pinion railway and the sea”
Review of Hotel Alkistis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alkistis
Ranked #1 of 4 Diakofto B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very spacious apartment with huge balcony! Very clean. Nice pool, fresh breakfast. All in all very good value for money!!. Ideally located in between the rack and pinion railway ( a must do!) and the sea. Nice taverna's nearby with terrace overlooking the little harbour or at the seaside. One minor thing: toiletseat was a little unstable. Don't be offset by the ugly building near the entrance, the complex itself is very well kept!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 60 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

For a 3 star hotel in shabby Diakopto, Alkistis was a nice surprise.
The hotel looks new, the appartment for 2 was specious, with a nice big balcony facing a nice view.
Breakfast was really nice too.
If you must stay the night in Diakopto, Alkistis is a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrahmsY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Located in the middle of Diakofto, it is halfway between the beach and the cog railway station (Odontotos). It is frequented by Greek families who stay for long-ish summer hols, hence the rooms are huge. We had a double appartment, which had a good size bedroom and a very large sitting area with well equiped open plan kitchen and a large balcony. The AC was very efficient. The bathroom was the usual Greek standard, i.e. adequate with a tiny shower cubible (at least it was better than a curtain!). The pool was on the small side. The family who own and run it are very friendly and welcoming. We got a great restaurant recomendation from them, too!

THINGS TO DO IN DIAKOFTO:
1. The cog railway from Diakofto to Kalavrita: this has to be one of the best short railway trips in the whole of Europe ( visit the "odontotos" website for info). This is Greece as you have never seen it.
2. Go to Trapeza village (5 minute car trip) for an evening meal and enjoy great views of the gulf of Corinth.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Located perfectly between beach and railway this is a modern but charming family run hotel with pool. There are several choices in this small town but I feel this one was the best of the bunch. Do ask the hotel to reserve rail tickets for you. Its worth the trip up! Just in case you don't realise it there are three restaurants on the beach as well as the ones in the town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

very generously proportioned apartments in 3, 2storey,landscaped buildings + pool. air-con,TV, balcony towards the mountains or gardens if downstairs. open plan sitting room/kitchen with sofa beds for children/adults. spacious bedroom and shower room. E65 incl. huge and varied brekkie. For just the 2 of us it was huge.
2mins walk to the small boat harbour, 3 to the beach and 4 to the town centre and railway to the mountains. The mainline is in pieces (June 2012) so can't help with trains from Patra to Corinth. Must be another route??
Hospitable owner, had booked ahead via internet and were expected. Owner reserved train tickets to mountain village of Kalavrita which turned out to be very helpful.

Room Tip: views from upstairs only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theadventurersays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The facility: Comfortable, modern, well maintained. Spacious well-equipped apartments with very nice rooms. Kitchen, balconies and all.

Location: Not far from the beach and the small local marina.

The team: Most welcoming and ready to assist with any request including laundry, iPhone charger, trustworthy restaurant recommendations and more.

We used this as a base for day-hikes in the nearby mountains and were very sorry when we had to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blineder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My wife, my 2y boy and I, stayed at this hotel during August of 2010. It has apartments with own kitchen and balconies, nice furniture and on top of these it’s very clean. Apart from these it has also a nice small swimming pool that kids will love. The hotel is near the sea and the small harbour of Diakofto. Don’t miss to go to the Pounta beach which has very clean water.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haris_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diakofto
1.5 mi away
Semantron Traditional Village
0.2 mi away
Suites Diakopto
Suites Diakopto
#2 of 2 in Diakopto
20 reviews
21 mi away
Mont Helmos Hotel
Mont Helmos Hotel
#5 of 23 in Kalavrita
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 4 in Diakofto
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Theasi
Hotel Theasi
#2 of 4 in Diakofto
38 reviews
0 mi away
Chris Paul Hotel
Chris Paul Hotel
#3 of 4 in Diakofto
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkistis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkistis

Address: Filippopoulou, Diakofto, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Achaea Region > Diakofto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Diakofto
Price Range: $39 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkistis 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alkistis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing