We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic apartments and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Emerald Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Apartments
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Thasos
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartments and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have just returned from 2 weeks at Emerald Apartments, Golden Beach, Thasos.
One of the main reasons for choosing this hotel, location etc... was because of the great reviews written on Trip advisor so I thought I would re pay the compliment hopefully helping others with there choices.
The apartments themselves are great - we were in room 44 which had a large balcony which continued out to a huge veranda area. This veranda area is shared with 5 other apartments not that you would have known as it was so big. The views are amazing, prob the best in the resort.
Quite basic inside; 2 single mattresses on 1 large double bed, wardrobe with a safe (key from reception and very cheap I might add too) very small kitchen area with literally 2 of everything forks, knives, spoons, bowls, plates etc... a ridiculous 2 cooker hob thing that looked old (we never used it so I can't comment on how well it worked), a kettle, no toaster and when I enquired about maybe renting a toaster I was told NO because the apartments are so close to the woodland that a toaster could set the woods on fire! I found this quite strange as the room had this old cooking hob that had to be manually turned on and off but no to a toaster that once pops is virtually off already?! The bathroom was fine, the shower head had seen better days but all in all it was nice and clean which is what you want. Towels and beds changed 3 times a week I think it was.. We didn't get bitten at night even though we slept with the patio doors open and the curtains drawn closed. There are nets on the bathroom and kitchen windows which makes a massive difference to the mozzys not getting in. You can drink the water from the taps yes I know unheard off in Greece! They have a supply of spring water from the mountains filtered on site making the tap water drinkable which we did daily and it tasted fine (no upset tummy's from the water anyway). One thing I will say is the beds are awful! The stone floor was looking quite appealing by night 10 as I think this had more 'give' in it than the mattress, it was like sleeping on cardboard it was very uncomfortable I will be honest.
The apartments outside are lovely, the grounds are well kept and it's quite cool once your out of the sun due to all the trees on the hillside.
The pool and bar area were nice with the most amazing views over the beach and bay. The pool area is nice and clean, we noticed sunbeds and tables but didn't venture in to the pool once during our stay as it wasn't that inviting once you were by the water edge. The pool has def seen better days which is a shame as the views are amazing and it just lets the hotel down as everything else was so good. The other thing to mention is that the apartments are located at the top of a very steep hill (by day 3 we were used to it, up and down twice a day for 2 weeks does keep you a little bit fit). I wouldn't stay here if you have trouble walking etc... it took 10 minutes at a fairly normal pace but my god it is steep!!!
The main resort is really nice, a few restaurants and bars along the beach open all day and well in to the evening. There were a few 'drinking bars' but no late night clubs with music blasting out. If you are looking for a more livelier location the next resort is 40 minute walk away which was very popular or catch the train £4 euro's each which goes supposedly every 45 minutes but he seems to have his own timetable so get them well before it states on the board otherwise you will miss him or walk and get a taxi back only £6 euro's and it takes you up the hill!
The beach is great, literally 'Golden sands', all the beds are fairly new and free as long as you buy a drink from the bar that owns them located directly behind the beds. They have 'beach waiter service' he will come and take your orders all day long, it was great you didn't even have to leave the beach to get a drink or lunch!
Don't be scared but there were jelly fish in the water on most beach's, we hired a car and travelled the island and swam at a lot of the beaches. The car hire is well worth it and we booked it directly at the welcome meeting with the rep as I thought it was very cheap and they were doing 1 day additional free. There is only 1 road around the island, a bit like the M25! Follow it and it takes 1 hr 40 mins to drive non stop. Thasos town is lovely, well worth a visit during the evenings as the shops are great, the restaurants have lots of very tasty food, the town is alive and the atmosphere amazing.
Over all I would def go back to Thasos, I think 2 weeks is just about right, we were about to start climbing the walls if staying any longer, 1 week isn't long enough, but apparently Thomson will be doing 10 days next summer 2014. The ferry ride is great as well, look out for the man playing his 'tunes' out on deck!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    65
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
17
155
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The hill, as others have said, is a little bit of a killer! However walking up it after a meal when there is no sun makes it so much easier! The view from the balcony makes the walk up the hill in the hot sun completely worth it.. The view is priceless. The hosts and owners of the emerald are so kind and welcoming and couldn't have done enough for us. The island 'thassos' itself is so beautiful. We are a young couple of 22 and myself and my boyfriend visited skiathos last year. We prefer authentic Greece. The island, the local Greek people and the weather was wonderful. The excursions are also brilliant value. Would also recommend 'the wedding cake' restaurant.. Food was immense. Would go back tomorrow

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hill - if you're reasonably fit it won't be a problem. 5 minutes walking up was our norm (and I'm almost 60) - managed to do it in 3.5 minutes one morning when rushing back to check whether I had actually locked the safe! As said before the views are definitely worth it! We had Room 41 which had a great size balcony/verandah - kitchen is small and basic but we didn't need it for much. Beds are a tad hard but nothing we weren't expecting.
Golden Beach is a very laid-back resort with a number of tavernas - Skala Potamias is at the other end of the bay and is far more bustling. We went there on the land-train one evening (more of which later) and were glad we had visited - but even gladder that we were staying at Golden Beach. Took the bus to Panagia (only Euro 1.60 - great value) which is a lovely mountain village and then walked down (took about 1.75hrs) with incredible views of the bay. That was on the only day of our week where we had slightly dodgy weather - thunder and lightening over the mountains but not over us fortunately! Rest of the time was lovely and sunny.
The Land Train......don't make the same mistake as us - just because the advertising hoardings are by the Macedonia Supermarket, it doesn't mean it goes from there! In fact it starts its journey nearer the GB Camp Site. Ah well, we'll know next time......
Went on the Zeus Boat trip - great day out, and (a first for Thomsons with us!), it cost the same as if you'd booked it direct! Good value at Euro 30.
All in all a great holiday - would certainly return to both GB and Emerald, but there are so many other Greek islands to explore...............decisions, decisions!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigeljameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel exceeded expectations in terms of what I paid and what I would expect for Greece. Room was comfortable with a balcony, which had a fantastic view over the bay. Room was cleaned daily! Cooking facilities were as expected with a fridge, couple of electric hobs, and a few pots & pans etc. Motor bike hire just down the road so the hill was not a problem with a scooter (haggled 12 euros a day for the week). I would definitely recommend this hotel if you don't mind the steep hill that it is built on. Hosts are nice people, very approachable and eager to please!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lets get the hill out of the way, it is a jaunt. Get up it, and you have views to die for - even though I don't do views. Nice clean place, the owners and Sylvia were great hosts. The pool was quiet for our week, could sit by it for hours. Did the Zeus boat trip, well worth the money. Weather was brilliant, drinks and food were good - if a little pricey at the pool bar. You do get a good measure though. If its a quiet, relaxing break you want - away from nightclubs - this is for you. We will go back, but maybe next time hire a quad to do the hill. Great holiday though, book it - you know it makes sense.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeyLad999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The view is well worth the walk up the hill. It is not suitable for people who are unfit! The rooms are very basic and our room on the top floor had the best views but is ready for upgrading. The kitchen is not well stocked and hardly any room to do anything but make a drink. The shower wet room needs renovating with the shower being poor and the Greek wet room means everything gets wet if you put the shower on the hook. The fridge was new and quiet and so was the air conditioning at a very reasonable price of 5 euros a night. The beds are very comfortable with good towel and linen changes. Caterina and Costas cannot be more helpful and Sylvia keeps the drinks and snacks going in the day around the pool. The drinks are a lot more expensive at the bar than down in the village though.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views. Samaragi rooms have less hill walking but still with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mataxalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

well we have been going to smaragdi for the last 4 years and we love the place, the views are stupendos.costa and katerina are the perfect hosts.in the day sylvia looks after the bar/pool area and she is great..as regards to the so called hill!!! there are various ways you can combat it... go to the macedonia supermarket and then up on the right, cross over next right and then up to your hotel, easy peasy and im 70 and can do it...nothing is too much trouble for mine hosts, if you have a problem they will sort it immediatly.i wouldnt go anywhere else..
carole heard

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazzybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thasos hotels
0.2 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 11 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 11 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
11.5 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Emerald
Hotel Emerald
#1 of 3 in Chrissi Ammoudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.2 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 9 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Apartments

Property: Emerald Apartments
Address: Golden Beach, 640 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Thasos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Thasos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Emerald Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Apartments Thásos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing