We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th visit in September”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emerald Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Apartments
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Thasos
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“4th visit in September”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

For the last 3 years we have visited Thassos, staying at the Smaragdi 2 each time and would not stay anywhere else. The studios are basic greece but they are clean and comfy,the hosts,Costas & Katerina, are fantastic, nothing is to much trouble for them,when we arrived the 2nd year the broad smile of recognition from Katerina was priceless,we have celebrated my wife's birthday a couple of times and Costas bought a lovely cake for her.
Sylvia,the lady who runs the pool bar during the day is also great and will chat with you and give you advise on where to go.
The views from the studios are fabulous, well worth the trek up the hill,which is steep,but not to much of a problem if you take your time, and have a few ouzo's beforehand,lol.
We are going back in September this year,to the same place, which shows how much we love the place.Last stayed May 2011 not 2012 as shows below.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have even better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdiLee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    65
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
17
155
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a basic hotel but we were impressed with the room! Stayed in a 3* star hotel last year and 4* the year before and I have to say this was up there for cleanliness! Has fantastic views being at the top of a hill and a lovely pool and bar area - very clean.

Costas and Katerina made the holiday - they were not only friendly but helpful and always happy to help out where ever they could, what more could you ask for...

Just prepare yourself for the climb after a day on the beach or a trip to the shops or for a meal

Would go back again and again and again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BizzieLizzie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at emerald apartments,cannot fault it at all.Katherina and Costas such a nice couple and the lovely Sylvia. We did not need to ask for anything because we were happy all the time we were there.we had the best views ever room 52.would definatly go back , even the hill we got over it by getting a scooter a couple of days over the fortnight.loved all the restaurants .our favourite was finikas ,vigili and la pefkas .lovely food in all.at bottom of the hill cavo de oro free sunbeds if you use their restaurant.lovely walk a long the beach loads restaurants we went to the captains lovely food there as well. alike beach and paradise beach we went there on our scooter.alike beach not as packed as paradise beach ,has couple nice restaurants there.only been home a day missing it already.beautiful island to visit.

Room Tip: room 52 top level bang in the middle ,wonderful view to wake up to in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent the middle two weeks of July at these apartments and I really couldn't find anything negative to say even if I wanted to. I have posted photos of the room and bathroom - they were absolutely fine and very clean. Nice touches too - such as giving you face flannels so they you don't get make-up etc on the towels. The kitchen has a basic stock of utensils which we only used for breakfast ( you can eat out as cheaply as eating in so why bother cooking?) and the view from these apartments is amazing and a pleasure to wake up to. You can use the pool at the Emerald Hotel which is where the bar is and the whole complex is very nice indeed. The owners, Costas and Caterina are wonderful - friendly, accomodating and kind. The bar is amazingly well-stocked and, although it is a little more expensive for beers and wine than in the resort the cocktails are the same price and Costas is very generous in terms of buying the guests drinks and giving good measures. I remember one particular Tequila Sunrise with great fondness - actually that's a lie because shortly after drinking it I displayed an alarming tendency to forget my own name and had to go and lie down for a few hours. Fantastic! The hill - yes it can be trying in the summer heat but I loved the view far more than I disliked the hill. It also means that the resort is a stone's throw away but the hotel itself is in a quiet situation. If you come home before nine-thirty in the evening Pauline or Sue from Potos Car Hire will probably give you a lift up the hill anyway. I would definitely stay here again and Caterina - I'll take a look in Primark especially for you!
Just a few words about great places to go on the island if you haven't been before. We got a great deal on a jeep (we found that Potos Car Hire is far better and cheaper than the rep recommended firm) and so were able to get to some fantastic places. Giloa is a natural swimming pool carved out of the rock and fed by the sea. So beautiful but you have to find it by driving past the turn off three times and then going down a little assault course. Great fun but hard to find although there are good directions on the internet now and if you message us we'll tell you how to find it. Above the village of Maries are the amazing lakes and little waterfalls. So worth a visit. The mountain village of Kastro should only be done in a jeep if you are a tourist.A steep ride but worth it just to pay a visit to the mausoleum, the very pretty village and Kostas's Taverna. Few English tourist make it up there but Kostas is so kind, gives you loads of his time, gives you puzzles to do during lunch and acts as the keyholder and historian for the beautiful 600 year old church behind the taverna. I urge you to go and pay a visit.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medievalmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
271 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have just returned from an enjoyable stay at the emerald suites in thasos. Despite specifically requesting a top floor suite (in order to take full advantage of the spectacular views) we were instead allocated a ground floor room, adjacent to the main entrance corridor (noise) and around 10sqm smaller than the other suites (yet charged at the same rate). Half way through our stay we were finally allocated the room we had requested and when we finally moved we were not disappointed. The top floor suites are quite well appointed and clean, with spectacular views of the bay, although the publicised wifi is not available anywhere within the suites. Staff were friendly and the resort itself was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just returned from a week in Emerald studios, and had an amazing time. Everything I read on here previously was true. Costas and Katerina were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Always eager to help out and stop for a chat at the bar. The room was basic but spotlessly clean and the view was out of this world. The hill up to the hotel is fairly steep so for those with any health problems you might need a taxi up, however, we are in our mid 40's and averagely fit and didn't find it a problem, if a little hot! I was glad I paid for the air-con for the week. The pool area was clean, and although the pool wasn't huge, it was never crowded, plenty of sunbeds available too. The general hotel gardens etc were neat and tidy and to be honest, for the money we paid it was brilliant. Catering in the rooms is basic, a full sized fridge but only a 2 ring electric burner. This didn't bother us, I didn't use this anyway, just the kettle and fridge. We enjoyed it so much we are hoping to return for another week next spring :-) :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathbaileys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks at Smaragdi II. Have to say we were disappointed with the room, we have traveled many times to Greece and are used to basic so knew what to expect. However the room wasn't even clean! It was thick with dust and a bit grubby when we arrived and just got worse so we could see it wasn't be cleaned. The floor didn't appear to be swept, we could tell by all the grime on our feet! Although the view from the patio was spectacular, it is hideously overlooked by the rooms on either side and everyone must have thought the same thing as beach towels were strategically hung alongside to try and get some privacy! The walls were thin too, you could hear absolutely everything, earplugs are a must for sleep. The room size was ok, but there was so much furniture in there you had to sidestep around everything. We were embarrassed to be told off on the 2nd day for my partner's skin condition causing a problem with the bed sheet. Asked for air-con on the first day, they forgot about us. Got the feeling we weren't popular! Sylvia at the pool bar was a star, she's lovely and friendly and makes a fab frappe :) The pool is nice. Have to comment on the hill, it is a bit of a killer. Its a bit like walking on the spot in places trying to get up it! We got used to it and the best thing to remember is the calories you're burning off!

Anyway they were plenty of positives about the resort! Golden Beach is a laid back resort, not very busy. Tavernas mostly excellent, especially Finikas, Playa De Ora, Soltoris, Fedra. Cavo D'Oro was our 2nd home, fab cocktails and friendly service with kittens to play with too! They put the tennis on specially for us and made us feel so welcome. Beach is excellent and sunbeds are free with drinks and meals. Loved having the doughnuts on the beach :)

Would definitely go back one day to Golden Beach, but not to Smaragdi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yip35uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thasos hotels
0.2 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 11 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 11 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
11.5 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Emerald
Hotel Emerald
#1 of 3 in Chrissi Ammoudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.2 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 9 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Apartments

Property: Emerald Apartments
Address: Golden Beach, 640 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Thasos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Thasos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Emerald Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Apartments Thásos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing