We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, budget, lovely view”
Review of Emerald Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thasos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerald Apartments
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Thasos
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed at Emerald II, or also known as Smaragdi II studios for one week end of Aug, booked with Thomson. Didn't see the Emerald apartments so this review is just for Smaragdi II studios.
Our studio was on ground floor & as other reviews have said the view is lovely. The view comes because of the hotels location & although the hill was steep we saw it as an opportunity to walk off the day's food!
The studio itself was simple, budget accomodation. We booked this for a cheap 2nd holiday & on that basis it ticked the box. I would say that if you can afford to spend a bit more it might be worth looking at other accomodation as there were a few negatives but for the price we paid we couldn't really expect more. Those negatives were the bed - I honestly have never slept on a harder bed - & the quietness. I know that sounds odd but I think because of it's location you could hear a pin drop, which also meant we could hear EVERYTHING that went on in all 5 adjacent studios - people going to the toilet, conversations that went above a whisper & bumping beds, if you know what I mean!!!!??? It made us feel like we had to whisper & tip toe which isn't really what I want from a holiday. Maybe this was just us but the fact that the couple next to us only seemed to talk in hushed tones makes me think not.
On the positive side the owners were extremely friendly & more than helpful if you had any questions or requests (we asked for 2 more pillows & they came promptly the next day) & the pool is a refreshing change to the beach.
As for Thassos & Golden Beach - gorgeous! Thassos is a really beautiful island. The ferry over from Kavala was smooth & very enjoyable. I normally hate boats so that was a surprise (sadly the crossing back extremely unenjoyable as it was rough & very choppy!) & the transfer to the hotel was good.
Golden Beach has a handful of restaurants, 5 min walk down the hill but there is much more choice a little further down in Skala Potamia, 30ish min walk. All the restaurants are on the edge of the beach & every one that we tried served delicious traditional food & we were really surprised at the prices as it was such good vaue for money.
We took the bus to Thassos town once & spent a nice morning wandering around the ancient Greek ruins & cobbled streets but we didn't manage to get to anywhere else as we couldn't seem to get ourselves off the beach! We did hear several times that Panagia was worth a visit.
Overall I would definitely recommend Thassos as it completely unspoilt & utterly charming but unless you really are on a budget maybe stay somewhere other than Smaragdi II.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleExplorerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stopped in the smaragdi ii studios Golden Beach last week and were impressed from the moment we saw the apartments and even more impressed when we opened the door and saw the wonderful view of the bay through the patio. The interior although small was in excellent order and made for a comfortable stay. The kitchen area is also very small but had a two ring hob small kettle and a sink which was adequate for breakfast and making sandwiches, The resort was wonderfully relaxing with some great resaurants. We hired a car for four days and travelled all round the island and found a beautiful green wooded island with wonderful hidden beaches and amazing ancient ruins. I would recommend Thassos to anyone and on the bus over the rep asked how many people had been before and over half the coach were return holidaymakers. The journey to Thassos was a thoroughly enjoyable experience as the cases are taken from the airport straight to your hotel so you can enjoy arriving at the port and have a drink on the seafront while waiting for the ferry, and then the journey on the ferry is very exciting and it is great to see the island from the sea as you arrive. The most enjoyable and relaxing holiday we have ever had,

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazza2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have just returned from Thassos, having stayed in the Smaragdi II, which are part of the Emerald suites. From the moment we arrived, we had one of the best - and most relaxing - holidays we can remember! We were toying between Ibiza and a Greek island, but decided on this - and apart from the beautiful beach setting, they are poles apart!! But we are glad we chose Thassos and will return there without a doubt.
Golden Beach resort is lovely, with a beautiful sandy beach and plenty of sunbeds. This by no means meant that it was overcrowded and at no point did we ever feel that we were squashed up amongst others, which we have found all too often on other Greek islands. There were also a distinct lack of posers, which was also very nice! There are a few bars and restaurants, all facing out to the sea and each one has the same relaxed, no hurry feel to them.
If you want a busy nightlife, then Golden Beach isn't for you, but if you want to totally re-charge your batteries but still have a few options for food and drink, then this is ideal. Skala Potamia is a 30-40 minute walk along the beach and there are a lot more bars and restaurants along there, if you want a bit more life. They also have a taxi rank which will cost around 6 euros to get you back to Golden Beach.
As for the Smaragdi, all our expectations were exceeded! Yes, they are the typical simplistic, Greek style accommodation, but what more do you need when you spend all day on the beach and really only use it to sleep in and get ready. The room was exceptionally clean, with the bins being changed each day along with the toilet and shower cleaned. Linen was changed during the week and towels were changed twice. The shower always had hot water and the beds were comfortable. There was a little kitchen area, but we didn't use it as we went out for something to eat each night. The absolute best part of the room though, were the amazing views across the bay from the balcony! We couldn't believe our luck when we opened the shutters - it was breathtaking!
Costas and Katerina, the hosts, were excellent and incredibly friendly. We aren't the sort of people to go and strike up loads of conversations when we're away and tend to shy away from places where you feel compelled to spend time and money around the pool, bar etc. But Costas and Katerina made us feel so comfortable that we went up to the bar and stayed for a good few drinks almost every night. The bar seemed to stay open very late and either Katerina of Costas were around all the time. They were incredibly knowledgable about the local area and nothing was too much trouble for them. Costas gave us the best introduction to the area, room etc that we have ever received upon arriving at a complex, which was just what we needed after our ridiculously early flight!! The apartments are uphill - and it's a fairly steep hill - but we only ever attempted them after the sun had gone down, which seemed to be fine!! I'm sure we got slower each time and we stopped to 'admire the view' on more than one occasion! But it seriously wasn't a problem and would by no means put me off staying there again. In fact, the location of our apartments was excellent. I have never felt safer staying in a resort or walking about in the evenings. It was a 5 minute walk to the beach and the few restaurants / bars - all of which were beautifully maintained (we would recommend Vigli restaurant as it's so pretty with fab views). On our transfer into the resort, we saw the places other people were staying, and while they were also lovely, our location was right in the heart of the resort, with that amazing view to top it off!
All in all, I am gutted to be back at home, but I feel thoroughly relaxed, having had one of the easiest, sunniest and most enjoyable holidays ever!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank elg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I've just returned from my first trip to Thassos and I fully intend to return! The Emerald Apartments are great. The rooms are clean with a TV and small kitchen area including a fridge. The rooms were cleaned every day and we got fresh sheets and towels every other day. We had a lovely large balcony area with vines overhead, we didn't need to watch the TV provided as we spent our time outside admiring the view, there also didn't appear to be any mosquitos (I only got bitten once and that was at the airport on the way home!). Yes there is a bit of a hike up a hill but it's not so bad and we liked to look at it as a postive - not only were the views from the Emerald amazing but we could eat whatever we wanted (and there was some great food on offer on Golden Beach) with the knowledge we'd get to walk a bit off later in the day.
Costas and Katerina were fantastic hosts, nothing was too much for them and they were always friendly and welcoming. They were happy to recommend local restaurants and book taxis if necessary. We looked forward to stopping off at the bar by the pool for a drink on the way out or when returning from a meal. I'd highly recommend it and look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We booked this as it was reasonably priced and thassos is am island we've visited before and enjoyed. We weren't expecting luxury. What we got is a comfortable clean room that had a great view of golden beach. All rooms offer the view but if you get a side room like ours it's not quite as good as the front rooms. We had a better view of the garden.
I never expect luxuries in Greece. We always holiday in Greece so we know what you get. We expect no shower curtain, no toaster etc. However, the electrics in the room were pretty dodgy. Two plug sockets actually came out of the wall wires and all. I can cope with 'basics' but not when it could be dangerous. None of the lights would work in our room unless the kitchen light was switched on. Not dangerous i know but a bit annoying when you're getting in bed and have to go turn the kitchen light off!
The gardens were a bit overgrown and needed a bit of weedkiller.
The bins were emptied daily with towels and bedding changed once a week.
Overall, despite the negative comments, I enjoyed my stay. I just think this place could be so much nicer with just a little work.
Ps. Other people mention the hill. It is one hell of a hill but not a problem. The great views are worth it. My advice is buy an ice cream from the supermarket at the bottom and eat it walking up. Makes it more fun.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barney034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Firstly i have to start this review by talking about our accommodation. We stayed in the studios, room 56 and i could not believe my eyes when i saw the view from our balcony. A beautiful beach, and the mountains....breathtaking! Our room was really clean, we had excellent facilities in our room, a small kitchen area with a hob, kettle and a fridge and anything else that we needed we just had to ask our lovely hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. Costas and his lovely wife Katerina, are such amazing, lovely, genuine people. They made us feel so special, and looked after us so well that we cant wait to go back, not just to see this beautiful island but go back and visit them too! Costas made us amazing cocktails every night and we would look forward to seeing him after our meal and sitting at the bar taking in the amazing views in the evening.
Our room was cleaned everyday, towels bed sheets etc... and air con was only five euros per night! The island is amazing, we hired a quad which was 30 euros a day, and went around the whole island. It took us about four and a half hours because we stopped at all the secluded beaches for a swim along the way. I have to comment about the hill too, i really don't know why so many people have made out as if its impossible! it is a bit steep but the views from the Emerald are well worth it! if you take your time it takes you five mins? don't let peoples reviews of the hill put you off this amazing island and the gorgeous Emerald, with the two gems at the top of it Costas and Katerina waiting to turn your holiday into something unique and special. Hope to be back in October and i cant wait!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Londoner78655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

These Emerald II apartments are also often called 'Smaragdi II' - not sure why. We booked this as a cheap First Choice deal due to wanting some inexpensive summer relaxation - and had a great time. There's a very steep hill up to the apartments from Golden Beach (see other reviews!), but we managed fine by only going down the hill in the morning before the sun got up, or for the beach and evenings for meals. Just take it slowly and it's good exercise! The only time the hill was a problem was after a day trip when the First Choice coach refused to drop us at the actual apartments and we had to trek back up in the heat - but not the apartments' fault... it was fine when we first arrived there, transfer worked a dream and the ferry over was a great experience in itself.
The apartments were pretty basic (we had a studio) but you could just about cook, beds weren't the comfiest, tho ok, and our terrace looked out over a garden and then just down to the sea and beach - simply stunning. Think we came back about the most relaxed we'd ever been, as the whole area is so undeveloped. The owners (Costas and Katerina) were so friendly, and the pool just the quietest we'd ever been to, as all the Swedes and Germans seemed to go to the beach. Often it was empty, save for a bar person, so a bit like having your own pool. And the view over the coast was stunning from the poolside. Next time we might stay in a bigger apartment and maybe hire a car, but would return.

Thassos itself is lovely, noted for pine honey, black wrinkly olives and olive oil. Golden beach is great, nice places to eat on the beachfront, sandy beach, NB there isn't an ATM on the end of the beach we were on, so take plenty of cash! Can recommend the Vigli restaurant on the sea front - you climb lighted steps to reach it - it's a bit like being in Mamma Mia!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground-floor studio as you get a terrace that carries on to a garden - like being in the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PosieSw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thasos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Emerald
Hotel Emerald
#2 of 3 in Chrissi Ammoudia
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
139 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Louloudis Hotel
Louloudis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pachis
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studios Marina
Studios Marina
#6 of 10 in Golden Beach
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Apartments

Address: Golden Beach, 640 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Thasos
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Emerald Apartments Thásos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing