We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely out look BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Makryammos Bungalows
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Thasos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

just arrived back yesterday, with very mixed feelings...booked this holiday based on the excellent reviews....on arrival, our thoughts were WOW, great choice!! we had upgraded via email too Makryammos @ an extra cost of 210 euros for the week, which we were very glad we did, as where we would of stayed, was up steep hill and quite dark and dindge...but accommodation aside, it then goes down hill.....The food!!! breakfast fine..but evening meal, felt like canteen, with same ole same ole food night after night and not of great quailty...we ate there twice, so decided too go down too thassos town each night and have some really great food..also where was entertainment (one night only greek music) which was great, and lots of people there, but that was it, after that the place was dead (glad I dont own the place, because lots of missed oppertunities with hardly anyone staying around after dinner to spend money @ the bar) No Happy Hour or thing like that to keep people there.......great place for families with young children, but not for us....became a very expensive holiday for us...but a good one, because firstly we hired a car too get around the beautiful island, and too get down too thassos town for evening dinner and entertainment.....so if we go back too Thassos, we as a couple would stay in the town and bed and breakfast, NOT half board.......Also 2 vodkas and 1 bottle tonic 14 euros!!!!!

Room Tip: if staying as a couple upgrade too beach area.....great for families with SMALL children not teenage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debsandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 423 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were just visiting the resort were our friends spend a week and ...boy! they spend!
The beach is splendid, soft powdered sand, clean water, wooded mountains surrounding the golf, a playing ground for kids, shower to wash away the sand, WiFi.
But is not for free, guest or not and the cost of 2 sunbeds and an umbrella is 7 euros per day. Also the cost of drinks is soaring - a small beer is 3 euros. For instance at Golden Beach we had 3 cafe frappes, 2 sunbeds an umbrella and WiFi for 8 euros in front of Gold Sands Hotel and a
They don't provide drinks in the evening (half board) and the lunch option is the taverna with medium prices.
The resort is located on a terraced hill and most of the bungalows are quite remote from beach and restaurants and not for peoples with legs impediments.
So, you have to consider extra money for this kind of expenses.
If you have bread leftovers at your table, the deer flock is waiting for your kids to feed them. Is fun!

Room Tip: The resort is cooler and darker than others and some rooms have bunk beds which kids love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pixalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Makryammos Bungalows is a wonderful place to stay with kids and a paradise for parents. If looking for hot sun, a clean beach, quiet rooms and good food, it should fulfill your wish of perfect holidays. If you have or rent a car, you will also be able to travel around the island. You can also try one of the numerous beaches on the island. You can burn the calories piled up from the buffet hiking the many paths or swimming in the clear blue sea.
The numerous staff provides the smiles and the service that will make perfect holidays.
Tip for a great walk from the hotel : The town of Limenas is a nice place to have a drink or dinner and 40 min away with the unforgettable hiking path looking down to the sea (turn right after the Romantica on the road, it's longer than walking down the road and without cars). You will enter the city through the port right after the antic theater. Magnificent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pierre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me and my family we are coming for 30 years. It`s the great place with great service and amazing people :) The sea is so clear, its not a dirty beach MUST TO SAY THAT, its so wide, tidy and clean, the soft sand and the most important that You can relax without any loud around You. It`s the paradise resort. Especially its great for families with children because there is a small Zoo with so nice animals and playground for children. And of course not to forget, irreplaceable food and amazing cooks.

My best recommendation If You want to relax and of course have amazing holiday !

My best reagrds, once again, to amazing staff !

Family Gavrilovic

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stefany_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Makryammos Bungalows is a great place, next to the sea but also to the mountains. The magnificent view combined with the weather and the stuff is enough to believe that u are in heaven. The beach its so clean and tidy , with the soft sand all thanks to the man who is cleaning it every day. We also where very impressed with the staff from the Main Bar and Taverna, they are really taking care of you; not to mention that the morning breakfast is so full, you really have a lot to choose from. In the evening we where shocked to see that they are making outside grill.....and so on. Overall its the perfect place for the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: any room will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Makryammos Bungalows is situated in what could easily be one of the most beautiful places on earth, no hyperbole.
A magnificent bay fringed by wooded hills where marble caves open in the green; the sand is soft and sparkling (you can find actual marble pebbles), the water is calm and clean, with a bit of floatsam close to the shore (because of the looming trees) but perfect a few meters ahead. The seabed slopes gently and the water is shallow for several meters, which is perfect for kids.
Unfortunately, not all is well in paradise: the bungalows are indeed as basic and bare as the other reviews describe them, thou they are impeccably clean; the bathrooms are dingy and unwelcoming. They are not dirty, but simply too shabby for what is after all a 200+Eur a night resort.
The pool looks like a soviet era monstrosity, and while the grounds are green and well kept, the open buffet area is cold and noisy, and the food is repetitive and unimaginative (the food is better at the Tavern, but for about 50Eur for two).
Finally, the service is erratic, made by eastern europeans for eastern europeans, without the attention and care that you would expect in Western Europe or Turkey: some kids do their best, but others are indifferent or actually rude.
All in all, Makryammos is in need of some investment and a conscious choice to go just a step upscale: it does not seem in a hurry to do so, thou, as its business model is clearly working very well, being sold out most of the season and with apparently satisfacted customers. It is a pity, because with only so much effort, the place could be an unmissable jewel in Greece.
We did love our time there, and we will most likely return, despite our misgivings: the peacocks roaming the ground, the feeding of the deers, the trampolin in the water are an irresistible attraction for kids, and the place is simply too beautiful. We just wish we could suggest it more wholehartedly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yudhisthira70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in Makryammos for a week in August. We enjoyed this 'life on the beach' resort. We had a great time swimming in the amazing sparkling waters of the sea in front of the hotel. Our bungalow was nice, the food was good and the staff friendly. Thasos is a beautiful green island and we enjoyed using Makryammos occasionally as the basis of various trips to other beaches around the island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andronikkie189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thasos hotels
12.6 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
159 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#16 of 89 in Thasos
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Louloudis Hotel
Louloudis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pachis
139 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#1 of 10 in Limenaria
339 reviews
3.4 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makryammos Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makryammos Bungalows

Address: Makryammos Beach | 2 km from Limenas, 640 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Thasos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Thasos
Price Range: $159 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makryammos Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Makryammos Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makryammos Bungalows Hotel
Makryammos Hotel Thásos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing