We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
216
116
62
45
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
216
116
62
45
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite breakfast and dinner swimming pool spacious rooms half board kids club main restaurant watch the sunset very nice hotel family vacation restaurant staff the hotel offers skala prinos quiet area nice pool bars and restaurants relaxing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 477 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2018 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel, the rooms were well sized. There were a few stairs to climb if your room is on the top floors (gives abit of exercise).

The staff were really friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant staff. The food was really nice too, it was quite repetitive, but still decent food.

Thassos is a beautiful little island. We hired a car so we could get around the island and visit different beaches. We are glad we did this as the hotel doesn’t have much around. There are a few shops within walking distance but if you want to see more views, more life on the island, we’d recommend a car.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MandaMerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

No hesitation in recommending the Ilio Mare hotel for a holiday base on the lovely island of Thassos.
We booked through Secret Escapes which included private transfers and upgrade to junior suite. Thassos is a 40 minute ferry trip from the mainland if flying into Kavala, and a great way to start your visit with stunning views across the bay, and the breeze and sun in your face to welcome you to the Aegean.
The hotel itself is bright clean and modern and the reception staff are very friendly and welcoming. I think it was the Manager himself who gave us a personal tour of the facilities on arrival.
We were expecting an inland view room for our booking, but from our balcony we actually had a great view of the sea. I've seen other comments about the rooms needing updating which are fair ( especially the bathroom ) but they are very clean perfectly acceptable, and we liked the firm mattress.
We had booked half board and the buffet food in the main restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was very good with nightly specials and plenty of variety. A big plus is the waiting staff who are really friendly as well as efficient. The Manageress runs a tight ship, and if any of the dishes looked like running low, they are instantly replaced with fresh portions. If you get a table near the big open windows you can watch the sunset over the sea but get there early as they fill up quickly !
(There is a nice outdoor eating area, but as non smokers we were put off by the puffers around us who are allowed to smoke there...)
The pool area is well laid out with loungers and bar facilities, but we preferred the hotel's private beach area just across the road with plenty of sunbeds and even the beach equivalent of four poster beds to sprawl on ! ( also great to watch the sunset from with a cold one to hand ). We were hoping to take out a kayak at some point but they are only available when the life guard is on duty and he didn't appear for two days on the trot which was a shame but no big deal.
Whilst the hotel is great, it is a little bit isolated but you can hire bikes to explore further and there is a local small town and port at Skala Prinou which is about a 20 minute walk if you take the short cut.
We forgot to take a driving licence - duh! - :o( but there are buses from Skala Prinou which will take you around the island eg to Alyki, and to Limenas the main town - both are well worth visiting. It's always fun to use the local buses though, and cheap, but just remember to check the timetables as they change seasonally and the most reliable version will be the one you can get from the bus driver himself.
To sum up then we had a great visit to Thassos and would definitely recommend the Island for a holiday destination.
Would we go to the Ilio Mare again ? - yes absolutley: but it would be even better if the muzak could be turned off occasionaly ? It does follow you around in all the public areas and sometimes it's just nicer to have a bit of silence or even better just listen to the lapping of the waves, the cicadas, and the breeze rustling through the palms...

Date of stay: September 2018
6  Thank Paradise798727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We visited Iliomare for a teambuilding event and we spent great time there. The service was excellent, the food at the restaurant was delicious and the rooms were really comfortable and clean. The hotel it self offers nice places to relax with beautiful gardens, pools and small waterfalls which are completing the perfect picture for one dream vacation. The beach is in front of the hotel with very nice sunbeds and places fro everyone - from relax to party :). You have a feeling like you are on a small island and everybody is taking care of you. If you are more active person you can also do some sport activities the hotel offers- cycling, canoes, motorcycling or you can simply enjoy walking on the beach because is has long walking area. I could only recommend this beautiful place where you can enjoy your stay and would wish to come back again. Thank you Iliomare for the lovely experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GabrielaS2571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlioMareHotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Ilio Mare Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Dear GabrielaS2571,

We would like to thank you for choosing Ilio Mare in Thassos for your recent stay. You have our sincere appreciation for sharing your thoughts and comments with us. Of course, we are very glad we were able to meet the needs and expectations.

Looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Our Best Regards,

The Ilio Mare Management & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

We are nearing the end of two fantastic weeks at the Ilio Mare can I say what a fantastic place this is. If it were in London Dubai etc then it would not be 5 star but in Greece it definatly is. Who cares if the WiFi does not work all the time you are on holiday so you should not care. We stayed B& B and as it was end of season a lot of local places had closed but if you try hard enough there are plenty of places to eat around and at good value. The al a carte restaurant is very good at the hotel and very reasonably priced also. All the staff are extremely polite and friendly and can’t do enough for you it is not there fault that certain nationalities hog sunbeds and seem to spend all day smoking everywhere in the hotel much to the annoyances of those people who have some respect for others. Food and drink in the hotel are excellent and very good value the bar with magnificent sunsets every evening is very reasonably priced for location etc. I cannot fault this hotel in anyway if I am ever in Thassos again I will without doubt stay here again, an absolute gem of a place.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank 553PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlioMareHotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Ilio Mare Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear 553PaulB,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Ilio Mare and choosing Thassos.

We appreciate your detailed positive feedback about our hotel and staff. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. Your remarks in some aspects that you mentioned are duly noted. Once again, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Our Best Regards,
The Ilio Mare Management & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, spacious rooms and good food. Clean and friendly. We loved the free yoga sessions with Mando, she brought a lot of positive energy to the day. Some days we did yoga twice :-). Mando kindly introduced us to TRX gym sessions some afternoons, it was nice to have a work-out before dinner. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank liviamh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlioMareHotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Ilio Mare Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear liviamh2018,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Ilio Mare and choosing Thassos for your recent visit in Greece.

Thank you also for taking the time sending us an review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and we will gladly share your comments with our colleagues, specially with Mrs. Mando.

Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Our Best Regards,
The Ilio Mare Management & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews