We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Thasos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked the hotel online. We were travelling with another family and we are all tennis mad. I called differnt time to ask if we needed tennis rackets but were told they were provided. However, the rackets that we borrowed were falling apart, the balls were flat and the courts not maintained behind the car park next to the sewer system. The pool was also disappointing as it did not have a deep end and the lining of the pools was falling apart. We were told there was kids club which was a basement room with dirty carpet and also told there would be movies for the kids but this never happened. Our room was newly done but our friends room needed a major update. The pool bar staff were very unhappy to be there. However, our room, the bars, the beach and the breakfast was all very good. It is not a resort rather a nice hotel with an ok pool. I don't think that the it should be listed as a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Get the ground floor family room on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    84
    44
    38
    31
See reviews for
151
106
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent four days in a junior suite and really loved this place. Very good standing overall and the beach is absolutely great with crystal clear waters. The staff was always efficient and courteous with us, one little issue with an air dryer but it was solved immediately and replaced by a new one.
We have used the restaurant for our dinner and really enjoyed the food especially the local sea food and the grilled fishes. A great experience overall. We will for sure come back but for a longer time !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ok, maybe not a 5 star but a 4+.
The room, junior suite - pool view, was more than spacious and very well laid out. The bathroom was big with good ventilation. As it concerns cleanningness it surely gets 5 stars. The ladies in charge did an excellent job and they were always polite. Very good view from the balcony and no issues regarding noise.
The pool was also very good especially as it concerns it's depth and ease of access as for our child it was very easy and safe to get in and control how deep he would to into. The boy at the pool bar was to up tight and always in bad mood but I guess that it was due to his lack of experience.
The sea was very clean and nice with a minus, at least in our post some rocks at the shore.
Breakfast and dinner very good with big variety of choices and at very good quality. The personelle also very polite and ready to serve.
Reception staff a bit slow for their position but again willing to help.
In conclusion one of the best choice for family vacations.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

First time to thassos, traveling with my 2 kids (6-3), booking a junior suite with half board.
The island is beautiful, you nreally need more than a week to visit most of its beaches...
For the price we paid (210 euros/night) we enjoyed the room, the sea, the pool but not the food...
It didn't have the expected variety...
Beware that wifi is not free! Too bad for a "5star" hotel...
The service is also very good. But the room service is really expensive. They charged us 12 euros for 2 coffees (frappe!)...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmythessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I booked this hotel for the last two days of my one-week vacation in Greece. I thought I was splurging by getting a 5-star hotel and paying $155 (about 125 euros) a night for the room (no breakfast). The location was excellent, right on the beach but this is far far from being a 5-star hotel. I should have paid more attention to the reviews here because they reflect my personal experience. The room was barely ok with the hardest bed I had ever slept on. The pillows were as thin as pita bread. The safe cost money to operate and the beach required a deposit for the towels so better bring money in your swim suit bra. They kept trying to charge me a huge amount of money for the internet (which doesn't really work unless you have 10 minutes for each page to upload). The mosquitoes made sitting in the lobby almost impossible. The buffet dinner at 25 euros was not a good value (antiseptic hospital lighting, screaming kids, overheated bland food). If you go to the restaurant, be warned you can't get a glass of wine, only a bottle. It is expensive and the menu is limited. We sat down, looked at the menu, was told I can't have a glass of wine, so we got up and went to a nice little restaurant at the ferry landing which is what you should do too!
I can't recommend this hotel unless the prices are reduced about about 30%. It should be a 3-star property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank serrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The good things about Ilio Mare are its location (mind you at the Sea in Greece most locations are similarly exceptional), the lovely beach bar and very pleasant architecture of the lobby, etc.

The things that my family and I thought were scandalous was the fact that you have to pay for wifi, as if it's some kind of a luxury. Precisely, €3 for 30 mins of wifi, or €15 per person per day. Not only that but when we tested the wifi once it took us 20 mins to connect. A hotel cannot pretend to be 5* and then lack basic facilities such as freely available wifi.

The next big mistake is the dinner buffet which is offered for €25 per person, excl. drinks. A big mistake because 10 mins down the road walking you have a selection of typical greek tavernas with music, fresh food and drinks that would amount to no more than €10/person.

Aside from that there were minor inconvenience problems with the room but the staff were quite happy to help. However we remain doubtful whether to return next year.

Room Tip: Try bottom floor rooms, there is less sun going through and generally more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGeorgieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vršac, null, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 10 to 20 July this year.
hotel has a fake 5 star Real-plus is 3.
food is poor and uniform in many hotels with three stars is served much better.
services is modest from a wallet that was in the room disappeared 50 euros and it is a great shame for the hotel!
no pastime for children and is very boring!
believe that such an opinion shared by many guests of the hotel and I do not recommend this hotel




















--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miroslav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ourania S, Owner at Ilio Mare Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear guest,
With great surprise saw your review , claiming that someone from the hotel stole from you 50 euro!!!
Please note that although we made a detailed enquiry about this incident, we really feel very offended , together with our hard working and for many years devoted stuff, as:
All rooms are equipped with private and electronic safe!
We had no report from you about this incident in the Hotel stuff ,or in our front office or while you where paying at the reception!! But only after when you where in the ferry boat already- according to your words in the mail you sent us!!
Kindly note that is not moral to issue speculations or inaccuracies for hard working people, devoted for years in greek hospitality, when there is no proof for anything of your suspicions or assumptions !!
As far as our food and service , although we offer 60 different kinds for breakfast and 35 kinds for dinner, we would be glad to hear your preferences and to offer you everything you would llike during your next stay.
For all those reasons you are kindly requested to withdraw this review that does not appoint to us and our stuff that loves you being here!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thasos hotels
10.0 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
8.7 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 9 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 11 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alea Hotel & Suites
Alea Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Skala Prinou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilio Mare Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilio Mare Beach Hotel

Property: Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Address: Dasillio Skala Prinou, 640 10, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Thasos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Thasos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ilio Mare Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest blue flag beachfront resorts, on the Emerald Greek Island of Thassos, offers the most elegant guest rooms and spacious suites, with gorgeous palm, tropical gardens and small waterfalls frame a stunning view of the Aegean turquoise waters.The hotel’s atmospheric design with it’s broad terraces, marble floors, and skylights, drives you to escape to a luxurious haven on the most gorgeous sandy beach, in an idyllic setting.Three restaurants and Four bars, surrounding this unique destination, ideal for pampering, relaxation, honeymoons & weddings. Water and light are the dominant elements of this fabulous resort, which has continuously awarded by “Conde Nast as a top Greek Hotel“, “Blue Flag”, “Green Keys” etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilio Mare Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Mare Beach Thásos
Hotel Ilio Mare Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing