We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet laid back resort on the the beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thasos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mediterranean Apartments
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Thasos
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Booked this holiday as a last minute getaway due to the wet English weather! Wanted a peaceful chilled out week doing nothing, and this is what we got.
We got a very warm welcome from karen when we arrived with a free drink, and a brief introduction to the complex.
The location was spot on, right on the sandy beach, a choice of sunbeds on the beach with a dip in the sea to cool off, or sunbeds or chairs around the pool area. We went in July and was very warm, so shade needed. Sunbeds around pool were free, but the beach beds and parasol were 5 euros, but you got half back in drinks at the pool bar.
The rooms were cleaned daily, well equipped including a kettle which you don't always get in Greece when going half board or B&B.
The food was delicious and plenty of choice, we did not find it a problem ordering evening meal at breakfast time. Loads of choice at breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bacon, eggs, beans etc.
Karen, sonny and Jordan were very friendly and helpful, and the staff in the kitchen and lady who cleans the rooms worked very hard and always had a smile.
If you want a holiday doing absolutely nothing except to recharge your batteries this is the place to come. Don't even expect any gift shops, there is none here. There is a small supermarket a couple of minutes away, a chemist 10 minutes away and a large supermarket a few minutes further. Also scattered around is a handful of taverners on the beach and just on the road.
We met some great people whilst here, it's the place to sit round the bar at night chatting.
One tiny minor point which we didn't let spoil our holiday was the continuous music from the pool bar. Would have been nice to have had a little respite from it, when chatting with new friends, but we soon learnt to sit at the far end, away from the bar.
Overall a lovely place, and very nice people. We enjoyed our weeks stay at the Mediterranean.

Room Tip: Top floor for a good view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Mediterranean Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 99 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've written this review on the Mediterranean Hotel as well, as they're one and the same place. So apologies if you've already read it.

We (4 men travelling as a group .......... from Leicester, NOT York as it says next to my name) went to the Mediterranean Hotel / Apartments for 2 weeks (end of June, beginning of July).

We couldn't fault the place. It was clean, well maintained and well run. The food was lovely, well presented, and there was lots of it.

Yes, the decor in the rooms is a bit dated in places, but how much time do you spend in your room in such a lovely place. The main thing is that they were clean and well maintained.

The staff were all wonderful. Friendly, helpful and very hard working. I can't agree with a previous reviewer's experience and comments about Karen. She couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating when we were there. Sonny and Jordan behind the bar were also great guys who are eager to please.

The staff all get to know you personally, and nothing is too much trouble. The fellow guests as well were a great bunch of people. Everybody had the time of day for you and it was easy to mingle and socialise with such a lovely group of people. The fellow guests really did make this holiday for us.

The location (on the beach) is perfect, although the resort itself is very quite and quite isolated. But that's what we wanted, so for us it was perfect. We did hire a car for a couple of days to see the rest of the island, and I'd recommend anybody to do that. It's a cheap, safe and easy way of getting to see the things you want to see.

We've been holidaying together for about 10 years and are lucky enough to have never had a bad holiday. But this, I can say, was probably one of the better of all of our holidays.

Thank you to Karen, Jordan, Sonny, and all of the other "behind the scenes" staff, as well as our fellow guests for such a fantastic hoiliday. We'll definitely be back.

David, Mark, Andy and Gary

Room Tip: The top floor has AMAZING views, but is unbareably hot in the afternoon and early evening. Also lots...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I returned from 2 weeks at the Mediterranean Apartments about 3 weeks ago. We have visited several Greek Islands before but Thassos was very different.
The hotel was excellent, on our arrival we were met by Karen (this lady was the hotel, she was everything you could possibly ask for as a visitors best friend). Karen was also ably assisted by Sunny and Jordan plus all the other ladies that make up the staff, unfortunately I cannot remember all of their names but they were brilliant. after doing all the official bits we were given our room key. This was perhaps the only complaint I can come up with. Those stairs!!! However I am a totally unfit 59 year old with excess weight so any more than 1 flight of stairs is too much at any time, but!! when we arrived on the 3rd floor, it was worth it. We had room 308 and it was brilliant. All the usual equipment and furniture you would expect but bigger than normal for Greece. We had the most fantastic views of, the hotel, the pool and bar, the beach and not forgetting the view of the mainland justa few miles away over the Agean. The balcony was the whole length of the living quarters and had the sun 24/7 beaming over it. We even had a clothes horse which due to the lovely heat everyday we were there dried anything in a couple of hours.
I was a little bit worried about whomever was in the room below us as our bed especially the side my husband slept on creaked louder than I snored and that takes some doing I can assure you.
I'm sure if someone felt they needed to complain then they will find something but honestly we couldn't find anything.
The setting for this hotel could not be improved on,it is right on a lovely golden beach, and a sea that was shallow and safe for any ages but was full of fish both near the edge and further out and was warm. Although there was another apartment block next door there was never any noise that we found annoying.

The only downside for this holiday however was the island of Thassos itself. If you want to chill, lie by the pool or on the beach everyday and for some people this is just what they want then please go to the Mediterranean and Thassos you will not find better anywhere. We however like to explore and go to different places after the first few days, but found that the easiness of driving on Thassos (there is only 1 major road, that goes all round the island) can get a bit boring after the first circuits. Even with a coffee stop it would only take about 2 hours to arrive back where you started from. The local buses stop at about 6pm so if you wanted to visit Thassos Town just down the coast, in the evening you had to get a taxi which could prove expensive if used every night. Around the hotel there is only a couple of Taverna's and a couple of supermarkets available if you wanted a change of scenery. We hired a car for 6 days and split it between the 2 weeks which did give us a bit of variety particulaly in the evenings at least for 3 days of each week but unfortunately Thassos is not really for us.
Now if we could move the hotel to another location, taking everything with us, staff, views, facilities and transplant it to a larger island than we have found our ultimate destination.
I hope I have not put people off because this really is a beautifull island and the hotel was brilliant but just perhaps not for us. It is quiet and small and is an ideal place for families and perhaps couples who just want to sunbathe and watch the sunset, and boy what a sunset!!
I would also like to mention a couple, Ian and Sue that we met the first week who we really got on well with. I think if they had stayed for 2 weeks like us we probably wouldn't have felt quite so bored. But they only stayed a week and that is probably the perfect length of time to chill and sunbathe and drink cocktails.
So if you are looking to visit Thassos please go to the Mediterranean Apartments and when you are there please visit the pastry shop just a few minutes walk from the hotel on the main road, because they are a desert lovers paradise and the staff are great as well, give our love to Elena the lady in charge and ask her if the kittens survived and are growing up to be sweet cats. Whilst on the subject of cats, just to finish this review, there are not as many as are seen in a lot of Greek islands and they are certainly not as troublesome as the dratted mosquito's but the cat to be wary of is Gandalf, he has been adopted by Jordan at the hotel and although he looks like butter wouldn't melt, believe me he can look after himself and I have the scratches to prove it!!

Room Tip: We found 308 excellent and were told it was the best room, but found the stairs a bit difficult and...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have just returned from 2 amazing weeks holiday ever. This Hotel was run brilliantly and talk about team work, Karen could not of done any more to make our stay a fantastic experience always ready to help in anyway she can, as for the electric going off for a short while it is the whole island and not just this hotel and it caused no problem what so ever! Sonny and Jordon were fab always laughing and doing everything they could for all there guests, all the Hotel staff are such hard workers and are all out to ensure all there guests have a fab time. Amazing location on the sea front and the views form the cleanest rooms ever were just amazing. We went on several trips with REAL HOLIDAYS in Skala Prinos and Yannis is a local guy who has some amazing trips on offer at such good prices, you can book ahead before you even take off from the uk just google Real Holidays Thassos well worth it, all the local knowledge and he looks after you so well and we had the most amazing trips....
I have been to Greece and the Greek Islands for years and I can say with my hand on heart this was the BEST EVER, we stayed with some lovely people and had a wonderful time - Thank you Karen and all you wonderful staff at Hotel Mediterranean

Room Tip: We had a great view from room, I think all the rooms had a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeckiHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our 2 weeks here were very relaxing and the staff are all very friendly and helpfull. The views were something else we looked out of our balcony straight to the beach and sea. We had really great people staying the same time as us which made the holiday even better. Couldn't have wished for a better place to be.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are the best, but the 1 bed apartments have the best view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SDee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

we had a fantastic time very relaxing place the staff ARE VERY FRIENDLY AND WE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THEM ,if we had a problem or want advise they will help us as best as they can .we has a 1 bed apt in 108 smashing views ,food well impressive 10/10 and plenty off it ,the wine is lovely which i can drink it ( at home i gets drunk quickly 1 glass lol ) foods hot not luke warm like the big hotels .bar straff brill jordan & sonny u can have a laugh with them ,

Room Tip: we hired a car for 3 days but u dont need to as theres a good bus service
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigger-thats-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a week at this hotel firtst week of july. Amazing location. the room furniture needs updating but trust me the views from our balcony made us forget about the insignificant details. Yes they had problems in the area (not just this hotel) beteen 7-9pm but who cares? would be very sad to be indoors at that time in the eveining and miss the beautiful sunsets. Food was of good quality and although you have to order your dinner at breakfast time, somehow it works.
We really enjoyed our time there and would definitely recommend it to anyone who is not too picky.

Room Tip: room 210. the best views in the hotel!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thasos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#1 of 3 in Skala Rachoniou
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
SENTIDO Thassos Imperial
5.0 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#5 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#9 of 10 in Limenaria
15 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thalassies Nouveau
Thalassies Nouveau
#3 of 10 in Limenaria
35 reviews
6.0 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#11 of 89 in Thasos
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Apartments

Address: Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Thasos
Number of rooms: 235
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing