We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
57
29
10
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
29
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthassos townholiday seasonrelaxed holidaykarensonybeachloungers
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 99 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

if i had a crystal ball that would tell me where we would go next year it would be here at the med! it was lovely all that you would want for a relaxing holiday. peaceful, quiet and friendly.
the hotel was really lovely and the staff karen,sonny & jordan really nice. the rooms were clean and spacious, the only complaint regarding those was the air-con wich was unavailable between the hours of 6.30-8.30pm which made it quite unbearable when getting ready in the evening, other than that no complaints !! food in the restaurant was excellent everything you could want and a good choice on the menu. the new restaurant is done out really nice. i had grilled feta cheese one afternoon at the pool bar and it was the best i had ever tasted, also the onion soup! we would definately recommend the whole place and if you wanted to eat out there were some nice tavernas around. olgas across the road did a very good greek night and paschas restaurant was lovely good food and very good service. we met some lovely people especially the ones with the crystal ball (they will know who they are )The beach was very clean and the sea very warm & clear. if you are looking for plenty of night life then this place is not for you.we will definately be going back in the not too distant future, loved it !!

tina & colin from essex

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tinaweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Rooms are basic and clean. We had two single beds and I was worried about previous reports about them being firm. But found them to be fine, thank goodness! There was no rush to get up and put a towel on your sun bed as there were plenty. Although I would agree with another reviewer on here that the occupants from next door just came over and took up sunbeds and were quite happy to pay for them. Our hotel didnt mind as they were collecting the fees and serving them drinks at the bar, business was good for them. The restaurant is lovely and air conditioned. Food was of a good quality. We ate out at Olgas across the road and Gefkas 2 min walk away. We travelled into town on the local bus only 1.60 euro each. We visited the museum and the ruins, and the tavernas are lovely to get a drink and a bite to eat. The holiday was great and we would like to return to Thassos and its quite unspoilt by tourism at the moment. The thomson day trip around Thassos was fantastic. If you are going to hire a car you will get to see some great beaches, churches, villages up in the mountains where you can buy the thassian honey (which tastes great). I could go on and on but you have to experience it yourself..lovely just lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Islandtraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have just returned from a very relaxing two weeks at this lovely Hotel. Having read the reviews we went with mixed feelings but from arrival we were not disappointed. This Hotel is ideal for couples who want to get away from it all and have a relaxing time in nice surroundings.
The hotel is small but that allows the Staff to be attentive, friendly and helpful in anything you ask of them.
All areas of the Hotel are very clean, nicely decorated and more than adequate to provide for a comfortable stay. The rooms are still equipped for Self catering so there is flexability to make some lunch in your room if you want a break from the Bar menu. The fridge is useful to keep your water or drinks cool.
Chatting to other holiday makers - many have returned to the Med for several years and this year they have moved to offering Half Board in the newly created Olive Restuarant. This has changed the Hotel and is not to everyones liking. The Menu offered for Evening Meals is limited to only three choices, but the food is good and we didnt have a day when there was nothing we wanted. There are several local Tavernas so you can venture out for a change if required. The Half Board optoin tends to keep you in the Hotel and this can be restrictive, but in these difficult times for the Greek economy I can understand why the Hotel has elected to do this as it keeps you in the Hotel and spending money at their Bar.
The Med needs to take care that residents from nearby Hotels do not spoil the facilities or overun their own guests by allowing them to use the Hotel. It was a problem some days when sun beds on the beach were being taken by non residents.
The Island is very beautiful and although the Greeks do not make the most of their History you should make the effort to explore the Island, The bus system is easy to use and good value.
Overall the hotel is excellent and although I would not return it is a good place to go for a chilled out Holiday

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was our second visit to the med and we did enjoy it but am not sure about the half board, the breakfast was fine but you do have to choose your evening meal choice at breakfast and there are only 3 choices. We did eat out 3 out of 7 evenings as the local tavernas still offer good value for money and we got the holiday at a reasonable cost so felt we could still eat out even though we had paid for dinner! I will say that the food we had in the apartments was quite nice, the food was fresh and the new restaurant has been very well done but don't think you can beat going to a taverna, we did seem to finish dinner quite quickly at the med and consequently went to the pool bar afterwards, guess thats where they make their money because people will stay at the pool bar and drink more. Having said all of this it is still a lovely place, you can't really beat it and did meet some people we met last year, I really hope they don't suffer because of the half board issue, in our view they would have been better doing bed and breakfast, that would be absolutely perfect, but as I say a stunning location!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jeaniebishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Worth staying here just to sit at the pool bar of an evening to watch the sun go down!
The hotel is very clean through out but the bedrooms could do with a make over to update them a bit. The beds are incredibly hard and squeeky!
staff very friendly. breakfast was good with buffet style. evening meals were ok but not brilliant, dishes tended to taste very similar each night and would've preferred buffet style and not picking what you want for evening meal in the morning.
On good bus route to thassos town which is a lovely town. would recommend car hire.
Perfect place for a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews