We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sirines Hotel(Potos)(Great Value!)
$139
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kinira Beach Hotel(Kinyra)(Great Value!)
$126
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pegasus(Thassos Town (Limenas))(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
57
29
10
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
29
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthassos townholiday seasonrelaxed holidaykarensonybeachloungers
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 99 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have just returned from a very relaxing two weeks at this lovely Hotel. Having read the reviews we went with mixed feelings but from arrival we were not disappointed. This Hotel is ideal for couples who want to get away from it all and have a relaxing time in nice surroundings.
The hotel is small but that allows the Staff to be attentive, friendly and helpful in anything you ask of them.
All areas of the Hotel are very clean, nicely decorated and more than adequate to provide for a comfortable stay. The rooms are still equipped for Self catering so there is flexability to make some lunch in your room if you want a break from the Bar menu. The fridge is useful to keep your water or drinks cool.
Chatting to other holiday makers - many have returned to the Med for several years and this year they have moved to offering Half Board in the newly created Olive Restuarant. This has changed the Hotel and is not to everyones liking. The Menu offered for Evening Meals is limited to only three choices, but the food is good and we didnt have a day when there was nothing we wanted. There are several local Tavernas so you can venture out for a change if required. The Half Board optoin tends to keep you in the Hotel and this can be restrictive, but in these difficult times for the Greek economy I can understand why the Hotel has elected to do this as it keeps you in the Hotel and spending money at their Bar.
The Med needs to take care that residents from nearby Hotels do not spoil the facilities or overun their own guests by allowing them to use the Hotel. It was a problem some days when sun beds on the beach were being taken by non residents.
The Island is very beautiful and although the Greeks do not make the most of their History you should make the effort to explore the Island, The bus system is easy to use and good value.
Overall the hotel is excellent and although I would not return it is a good place to go for a chilled out Holiday

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was our second visit to the med and we did enjoy it but am not sure about the half board, the breakfast was fine but you do have to choose your evening meal choice at breakfast and there are only 3 choices. We did eat out 3 out of 7 evenings as the local tavernas still offer good value for money and we got the holiday at a reasonable cost so felt we could still eat out even though we had paid for dinner! I will say that the food we had in the apartments was quite nice, the food was fresh and the new restaurant has been very well done but don't think you can beat going to a taverna, we did seem to finish dinner quite quickly at the med and consequently went to the pool bar afterwards, guess thats where they make their money because people will stay at the pool bar and drink more. Having said all of this it is still a lovely place, you can't really beat it and did meet some people we met last year, I really hope they don't suffer because of the half board issue, in our view they would have been better doing bed and breakfast, that would be absolutely perfect, but as I say a stunning location!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jeaniebishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Worth staying here just to sit at the pool bar of an evening to watch the sun go down!
The hotel is very clean through out but the bedrooms could do with a make over to update them a bit. The beds are incredibly hard and squeeky!
staff very friendly. breakfast was good with buffet style. evening meals were ok but not brilliant, dishes tended to taste very similar each night and would've preferred buffet style and not picking what you want for evening meal in the morning.
On good bus route to thassos town which is a lovely town. would recommend car hire.
Perfect place for a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

A bagfull of mixed reveiws had me worried but I was more than happy. Good island, good location, good hotel, good staff, good room, good bed (yes they are firm).

Just to clarify, the Hotel Mediterranean and the Mediterranean Apartments are one and the same place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andywinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Med and did not want to come home! After reading mixed reviews, the hotel was much better than expected! We were welcomed by Karen, the manageress, who was always around and happy to help with any problems. When we got to our room we were happy to see that it was spotless (as was the entire hotel) the only complaint about the room really was that the beds are a little hard and creaky, but you soon get used to this! However, we did hear a few people in the rooms on the lower floors complaining of damp beds?! Maybe something to consider! The rooms all have a sea view which is stunning! We stayed at the Med during it's first week of going half board and we have to say the food is gorgeous. The greek dishes in particular were great, maybe they would benefit from more greek cuisine and less English!
The drinks at the hotel are fab and Sonny and Jordan are always at hand to make sure your drinks are topped up! Jordan in particular is always good for a laugh and always happy to chat away to customers!
The location is very quiet and perfect for relaxation! If you walk for a short distance to your left from the hotel you will find plenty of quiet parts of the beach. Olga's place just across from the Med is well worth a visit and she is such a lovely woman!
We would highly recommend a trip into Thassos town (limenas) where there are a selection of shops and restaurant. You can also visit the acropolis, which is totally worth the ridiculous amount of steps and slopes to get to the top of. The view is breath taking! You can reach Limenas by bus which is cheap and easy enough, or if you prefer you can catch a taxi which at the moment (may 2011) is around 14 euros!
The only bad thing about this holiday was that we did not book for two weeks!! I'm sure we will return sometime in the future as Thassos is such a gorgeous little island!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank summerdream07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews