We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small serves mean you can try more dishes!”
Review of To Balkoni

To Balkoni
Ranked #102 of 334 Restaurants in Samos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Moffat Beach
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“small serves mean you can try more dishes!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Like others we found this place by accident - what a lucky find. The only sad part was that we were leaving the next day and couldn't return.
The view is to die for but it's the food that makes it. From the homemade delicious bread to the good accompanying wine, everything was great! We especially liked the cheese puree and the liver in wine sauce but really everything was delicious and the service lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yeshekathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Samos”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found this restaurant accidently. Just on the way to Pythagorio, and this was the best discovery in the whole two week trip in Greece. The location is absolutely amazing, to cry! Open veranda with beautiful view. Food is great, served in small portions so you can try a lot of different dishes. They told us that they serve Greek food in old tradition. The local wine should also be tried with amazing food they serve. Never miss this chance! We are in love with this place and it will always be in our best memories.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you're in Samos don't miss it”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having stayed in Samos for 8 days, we visited over 10 different restaurants in Pythagorio, Vafi, Kokkari, Marathokambo etc. Most were OK, but the menus did not vary much.
To Balkoni is an easy 20 minute drive from Pythagorio. Take the road to Hora and then follow the signs to Koumaradei village. To Balkoni is signposted near the exit from Koumaradei.
The restaurant offers breathtaking views over the island/sea and the service by the Owner Thanassis is highly personalised. he has worked for decades in Germany, so knows very well how to provide something exceptional. The menu is quite short but everything we tried was freshly made with tasty local ingredients. Don't miss the lamb if available.
The final bill was very competitive and we had our best overall restaurant experience in Samos

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dimitris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The owners (a guy from Kavala and a woman from Germany) are very friendly and fun to talk to. The food is delicious and made from fresh "materials" from their garden. The view is fantastic, and the prices are very very good. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakitori2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best kept secret in Samos!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

With great views overlooking Pythagorio and a warm and welcoming atmosphere, it is definitely worth the drive up the hill to get away from touristy places and visit the Balcony. Part of the fun is meeting the owner who is very hospitable and passionate about what he does: lovely food using locally grown ingredients. You could spend all afternoon chatting to him while sampling his entire menu. Delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Balkoni also viewed

Samos, Northeast Aegean Islands
 
Samos Town, Samos
Ireon, Samos
 

Been to To Balkoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing