We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lemnos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very good Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I wont go into to much detail as what was on offer here was very good evrything worked the staff where great and the Sailing and windsurfing equipment where all to a good standard the weather did not co-operate with a couple of wet days but that is the chance you take going in the last weeks of september.
As a gereral thing the complete package was a bit to British for my taste, as all the guests where British as far as I could tell and the atmosphere and food did reflect this, If you like that then this is perfect, for us we needed to walk down to Lemnos town to get the feeling we where in Greece and take in some local atmosphere. Do not get me worng we had a great time and I would recomend this Hotel it has a Great location on a Island that is not overwelmed by Tourist Hotels and Tourists.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shakerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    105
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
226
106
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Porto Myrina in September 2012. The activities, hotel, staff and room where great. However during our first week, I found my 3 yr old son alone wandering around the lobby of the main hotel building. He had escaped from the kids club building, walked around the path and in through the main entrance via the road the cars come in to the hotel. he was close to the lobby, where I happened to be passing and found him.
He was missing from the kids club for at least 10 minutes but they had not noticed he had gone until I returned him. Neilson believe he had walked out through the open door while other parents had come in to collect their kids. However the door handle to the kids club is at a low level and easily accessible to a 3 yr old. No lock is used to prevent a child from opening it. This would not be permitted in a childcare facility in the UK.
I have highlighted the problem to Neilson but so far there has been no confirmation that the door will be changed to prevent this from happening again.
We did use the kids club again but only because my son and daughter were allocated their own dedicated kids club rep. They enjoyed their time in the club, however I felt slightly uneasy every time I left them there.

Room Tip: For a family, the adjoining rooms of the main hotel were excelllent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilson L, General Manager at Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Katherine,

Very sorry for this incident that occurred during your stay. I am aware of it and know you spoke in detail with our Kids Club Supervisor at the time. We were able to provide one to one care for the remainder of your stay, which I hope allowed you to enjoy your holiday with us.

I have checked with our customer services team in the UK and they have also written to you so please let us know if this has not reached you as yet.

We constantly review and improve all areas of the resort when needed and I will be doing the same in this instance. This was however a one off and having internal locks on the doors, although it may seem like a simple and obvious solution would not have prevented this from happening in this instance as it was during sign in time with parents and children coming in and out of the creche, so the door was open anyway. We also have to consider that if the doors are constantly locked, would the child care staff be distracted from their care more by having to constantly answer the doors.

We take great care and effort in providing the best for all our kids clubs as we know it is such an important part of your family holiday, and on the whole I know we do very well at it with our facilities, activities provided and staff in resort. I am sorry it was not to the usual standard in this case and would hope we were able to resolve it to your satisfaction.

Many thanks
Matt Goodwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Porto Myrina Palace was excellent; the team that ran all the activities did a wonderful job, which demonstrated that they are truly committed to ensuring that the holiday experience is great as this was the end of the season and the enthusiasm was still high!!

Thank you the Team at Porto Myrina Palace for a brilliant holdiay, special thanks, to Dee, Becca, Kate and Sally!! - you Guys Rock :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
1 Thank WildHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilson L, General Manager at Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Wildhols,

Great to hear you enjoyed the holiday and much appreciated your comments about the team, will pass them on.

Hope to see you in 2013 to do it all again!

Thanks
Matt Goodwin
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

On a gentle hillside location next to a wide bay, all facilities are within a short stroll. Hotel very clean and spacious and calm. We were a group of five adults in adjoining rooms, rooms very spacious, only a door between the two rooms though, so not much sound insulation. We stayed the last week of the Neilson season and the holidays were winding down a tiny bit, but still great staff and watersports. Good tennis and the drinking tennis evening games were hilarious. Water temperature warm enough for just swimsuit for sailing and water skiing and windsurfing. Activities for everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
3 Thank JennyLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilson L, General Manager at Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Jenny,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We defiantly had some great weather right up till the final weeks of the season so glad you made the most of it. The drinking tennis will now become a "feature" of the program next season as well, so hope to see you on court in 2013!

Thanks
Matt Goodwin
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey channel islands uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been on 4 holidays similar to this one and this surpasses them by far!
Neilsons have got it! The accommodation is more than adequate for this type of holiday - the rooms were clean comfortable and spacious. The cleaning staff were excellent!

The activities that are on offer are just fantastic if you are wanting to take up the water-sport activities then you are in for a treat. Not only is the equipment good but the tutors/staff are very patient and helpful, they certainly have the knowledge for their subject.

We also took part in the mountain bike excursions. Although the course/treks were tougher than we expected I can honestly say that the staff always made you feel that you were doing a great job and never made anyone feel as if you were too slow for the group! Full marks to all mountain bike/guide staff.

The food was great! Just remember you are not staying at a 4 star hotel in the uk! This is Greece! You should expect plenty of Greek salad (which I just love!). If you want English food then stay in the uk!!!!

The resort is lovely. There is an amazing 50 metre pool which is so refreshing! I personally thought the temp was fine! There are plenty of sun beds and hammocks near the pool and on the beach. The pool bar is lovely and such a great place to hang out and have a drink and/or a game of backgammon which seemed to be very popular with guests and staff!

The staff here are a credit to to the resort. They are young, enthusiastic and no matter what your age gender or ability they are there to encourage and support you in whatever activity you choose to take up!

We also spent some time at the spa as a treat and I must say that this was wonderful. The staff were so welcoming and the massage that we had was wonderful.

We loved the club board option as it encouraged you to go out of the resort and explore! We have often been on holidays similar to this and never ventured out of the resort because you felt that you really did'nt need too!

The only downside was that the drinks were a bit over priced!

We will most definitely be going back!

Room Tip: If you are a couple ask for a double bed and also make sure you are not part of a connecting room!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Paddyfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilson L, General Manager at Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Bonzofamily

Glad to see you got involved in almost everything we have on offer at Portomyrina and made the most of your time with us.

Thanks for the great review and certainly hope to see you back again next summer.

Thanks
Matt Goodwin
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having been to Lesvos last year I thought this resort encouraged a more social environment with the very impressive bar & pool area (although they need to get rid of the stone area around the pool to finish it off and put proper sand in the volley ball area rather than builders sand mixed with stones).

Overall a great holiday except, Neilson didn't detail most rooms are interconnecting. I have nothing against young families but without sound proofing it did feel like we had a screaming 1year old and a troubled 2 year old sleeping in our room. I would suggest Neilson put all family's together rather than sporadically distributing them been other guests. The hotel attempted to add sound proofing, which was a piece of toilet paper in the key hole and a beach towel along the bottom of the door. Nice work !
Finally the only other thing that grated me was the lack of beach kit. If there are lessons taking place..... sorry but you won't be going out. I felt Lesvos catered for lessons and other guests useage much better.
Those are the only two.negatives.....cocktail bar in the harbour is amazing !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
3 Thank HairyGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilson L, General Manager at Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi HairyGnome!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and your comments are greatly appreciated. Glad you had a great holiday with us.

We do cater for a lot of families and therefore the interconnecting rooms are very popular and generally booked by families, however we do realise that if separated they are not totally sound proof. Something we will be trying to resolve with a more permanent solution for the following seasons.

On the whole we have plenty of kit to go around but there can be times when damage, repairs and wear & tear take it's toll and there may not be the full line up available for use everyday. We try to get kit back on the water as quickly as possible. I apologize if this wasnt the case during your week.

Thanks for visiting and hope to see you again.

Matt Goodwin
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We travelled to Porto Myrina Palace with Neilson. We were impressed with the hotel and had a lovely room with spacious terrace overlooking the sea. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern and clean. The room was quiet at night, so we slept really well. The only complaints we had were that we had to pay extra for Wi-Fi in the room, a key for the safe, and a kettle with tea/coffee making facilities. These things should really be included in the price of the room.
The hotel has a fantastic swimming pool with plenty of sunloungers, hammocks, tables & chairs. The pool bar was a really cool place to hang out with comfy sofas, great cofffee and cocktails, plenty of backgammon boards and decent music.
We were very impressed with the service we got from Neilson. The food was great with plenty of healthy options to choose from and the staff were all fantastic. The range of activities on offer was great too, the equipment was good and we were impressed with the tuition. The hotel is located right on the beach, so it was very easy to walk to the pontoon for water-skiing or wander down to the beach to go windsurfing or borrow a kayak.
I found the treatments in the spa to be a bit expensive (60 EUR for a massage or a facial), so didn't use the facilities there. Prices at the bar and in the restaurant (on the non-inclusive nights) were pretty reasonable though.
Limnos has a nice little town and port (which is only a 10 minute walk away), although we struggled to find any decent restaurants! The food at the hotel was so good, that we ended up eating there most evenings. There doesn't seem to be much going on in the evenings in the town, although we were there towards the end of the season, so places were starting to close down for the winter.
All in all, we had a really great holiday and would definitely consider going there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
3 Thank butterfills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilson L, General Manager at Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Butterfills

Thanks for reviewing your holiday at Portomyina and great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and also the island as well. We are lucky to have a great location on the beach but still only 15mins from the local town of Myrina.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the non-inclusive evenings with us our food as well.

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks
Matt Goodwin
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lemnos
10.9 mi away
Traditional Hotel Varos Village
10.8 mi away
Hotel Ethaleia
Hotel Ethaleia
#1 of 1 in Moudros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Plaza Beach Resort Lemnos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ifestos Hotel
Ifestos Hotel
#2 of 4 in Myrina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neilson Cosmos Beachclub
Neilson Cosmos Beachclub
#2 of 17 in Vasiliki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Panorama Plati
Panorama Plati
#1 of 17 in Lemnos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub

Property: Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub
Address: Myrina, 814 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lemnos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud winner of the a 2012 Travellers Choice award for Relaxation and Spa hotels. Certificate of Excellence award 2012 / 2013 / 2014 & 2015. Accommodation at Neilson Portomyrina Palace is split between rooms in the main hotel and rooms located throughout the gardens. All rooms were refurbished in 2011 with contemporary en-suite bath or shower and air-conditioning, mini fridge, safe, hair-dryer, telephone, TV and balcony or terrace. All rooms are large enough to take a cot. Rooms with seaview are available for a supplement.There is a range of accommodation options with Twin, Double, Family Rooms and Suites.Suites have a bedroom with double bed, en-suite bath and/or shower and balcony with a further lounge area separated by a door with sofa bed and a second balcony. These suites are suitable for three adults or two adults with two children.Inter-connecting rooms sleeping up to 4 people consist of two individual rooms with twin or double beds, each with their own bathroom and balcony or terrace. These rooms sleep a minimum of 3 and maximum of 4 people.Several rooms are designed with maximum accessibility in mind. Doorways and bathrooms are configured so as to be convenient for those with limited mobility. This approach extends to the lifts and ramps featured around the hotel.Facilities• Stylish and modern reception • Restaurant with indoor dining and alfresco Olive Garden courtyard • On-site shop selling all essentials for children and adults • Elemis spa • Alfresco pool-side bistro • elegant lounge bar with fantastic views • stylish pool bar and terrace • large outdoor pool • adult only indoor pool • separate children's pool and play area with climbing frames and slides for Children. Neilson run children's clubs are available all season for children aged 4 months to 17 years.MealsClub Board - daily breakfast, daily lunch and four evening meals are included per week ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porto Myrina Palace Hotel And Bungalows
Porto Myrina Palace Lemnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing