We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local food in Ikaria”
Review of Popis Restaurant

Popis Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 87 Restaurants in Ikaria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 12, 2016

We visited the restaurant for a brunch. Even though the place was nearly empty, we got the traditional slow Ikarian service, which we didn't mind.
The waitress was very kind and helpful, explaining all the dishes!
We got a traditional cheese "kopanisti" with tomato, which was a masterpiece and also a spaghetti with basil sauce which was made out of fresh tomatoes, fresh basil and all together with the oil and the garlic, even though it was a simple dish, felt like it came from heaven. I understood that all the great taste comes from the simplest recipies.
The wine was local and perfect and at the end they treated us with "halva" which was on of the best ever! Don't miss it!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eratoeratu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

First of all they serve the best Fouskopita (traditional cheese pie) of Ikaria, which I think is one of the best 5 dishes one must try in Ikaria. Most plates are very good to excellent. Service is getting better, but still is far behind the quality of the cuisine.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Vangelis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

I can't imagine "the very bad service". Maybe it was too crowded at that moment. Popi is very dedicated and talented. But everyone can have a bad day...

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yvan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Greek traditional food with additional ikaria and owner's recipes.Very quiet and calm environment. Very friendly hostess.The free sweet in the end of the meal is delicious.You can visit any hour throughout the day

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank SpirosZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016

From the harbour of Evdhilos it takes about 15 minutes to walk to this modest looking restaurant on the road towards Armenistis and just above the small beach of Fytema. If coming on foot from Evdhilos for dinner it is best to take a flashlight along, since the road is narrow and without any sidewalk.

We sat outside under a grapevine trellis, although the interior looks quite pleasant too. Popi, the friendly lady-owner put a tablecloth over the wooden table and brought a bottle of water. Since it is a Mageirio cooked meals are to be had, so it is not the place for anything fried or grilled.

The menu-card is big with many traditional Greek plates on offer, even off-season in mid-May. We went for Ikarian specialities like 'Soufikó', a kind of local Briam or Ratatouille, but in Popi's version with three different peppers more like a Peperonata. Superb!

It was also the first restaurant, where the typical island cheese 'Kathoura' was available and not just mentioned in the menu-card. A quite hard white cheese with a good flavor. As main courses we went for 'Katsikaki' (young goat) and cooked lamb chops. These dishes too were prepared in a special way, definitely again Popi creations with original spicing. Portions all come in decent sizes, not these overloaded plates, where one has to leave half the meal, as so often happens here.

The white wine was very dry, but not watered down. Ikaria is not known for white wine, and Popi told us that it is not from the island. The red wine was definitely from Ikaria, but it is a type of wine, we are not used to, so it might not please everybody.

When leaving, my wife and me agreed that this was one of the best meals we ever had in Greece. Traditional with an extra twist.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank saronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popis Restaurant also viewed

Agios Polikarpos, Ikaria
Ikaria, Northeast Aegean Islands
 
Akamatra, Ikaria
Therma, Ikaria
 
Ikaria, Northeast Aegean Islands
Evdilos, Ikaria
 

Been to Popis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing