We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beach

It is a well known beach for it's looks, all with volcanic black stones . Beautiful beach ,clear... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Bournakis I
via mobile
A must see, but not an all day beach

This beach really is a site to behold. I usually don't mind pebble beaches but this one the pebbles... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
Anthea C
via mobile
Read all 474 reviews
  
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
112
29
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
29
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black pebbles unique beach sun sets the water is crystal clear water shoes chios island pebble beach great landscape crowded beach greek beaches natural shade small children bring your own volcano rocks sea greece
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is a well known beach for it's looks, all with volcanic black stones . Beautiful beach ,clear waters but nothing else,if you want anything you must carry it with you

Thank Bournakis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

This beach really is a site to behold. I usually don't mind pebble beaches but this one the pebbles are quite large which makes it hard to walk. The waters are crystal clear and calm. Come prepared with water shoes if you want to go for a dip.

Thank Anthea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

I really don't understand all these reviews. Yes it is beautiful. I'm talking about the water. The black rocks are fascinating. However you need shoes to walk in with otherwise you will slip and keep slipping till you get in deep to swim. It is a bit eery in the water due to the black stones. I saw something that looked like a lizard in the water near my feet and I freaked out. I thought I would try to get a tan but I couldn't because there were bull ants crawling all over the stones. It feels like you are in a desert. There are no chairs or umbrellas. It feels dry and deserted.
The island of Chios really is not special at all. Go to Rhodes instead!

Thank Jey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

famous for its black vocanic stones the beach bis a calm place. being with a little kid we did not walk to the adjacent beaches but there is no facility in the first one. visitors should have something to sit on because it is not very comfortable sitting on the stones due to their size although they are round and smooth stones. the gets deep in a short distance which is preferable for those who like swimming.

Thank Ceren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

interesting place.. with black stones and deep sea.. the only thing is not organised beach (no umbrella and at the middle of the day its too hot) but you should visit. We swim vith our seaglass and snorkel, amazing view.. I definetly advice .

1  Thank ozge501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Mavra Bolia is one of the best beaches in European Union.
The black stones which by the way giving the beach the relevant name ,created by an old volcano which is not activated anymore.
The stones meet the sea which is clear,cold with calm height of waves and deep.
About service there is a canteen for light food and beverages.
Parking is a nightmare.

Thank Observer234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

This is our first and last beach in Chios! I can still feel the crystal clear velvety water on my skin. Please wear sea shoes if you want to walk on the bolia (stones ) and make sure to pick up a stone to bring back!

Thank Eleni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful black round pebble beach from another world! Very unique beach that you mist definetely visit. Might be a bit hard to walk on, so get good shoes, but it is definetely worth it! Get your googles! The lack of sand makes the water crystal clear and the underwater view is stunning!

Thank ODINSHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

An amazing beach with particular stones and breathtaking view!
Mavros Gialos Beach (Mavra Volia) Chios: On the southwestern coast of Chios lies the beach of Mavros Gialos (or Mavra Volia, as it is called), in a distance of 28km west of Chios Town. Its name means black beach due to the black pebbles and sand that were debouched there from the volcano that is now extinct.

Thank Isidoros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Nice beach with dark stones. The water is very refreshing. More crowded after 12pm. Try going there in the morning when there are less people.

Thank Defne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews