We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great affordable authentic Greek food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Igglis

Igglis
Ranked #61 of 844 Restaurants in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great affordable authentic Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Get to Igglis early- it fills up. The reasonable prices, friendly service and great food means that this taverna is very popular with locals, who queue up, even on non- weekend nights, to get a seat. There are seats outdoors- on the street just like in the old days- and there are seats indoors. When we were there even the indoor tables were totally full up. The place has a local reputation, which it has had for years, and it maintains its standards. A great place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    64
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small Village Taverna Above a Big City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

visiting the area of Ano Poli we went to lunch at Igglis. It was simple and quaint. It took us right out of the big city feel to a small village in Greece. The food was simple and clean tasting. The grilled souzoukakia were delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuGaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic, stylish; amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

A day before we ate here, we were looking at the restaurant and the foods they had posted outside on a chalkboard. An old lady who was walking by enthusiastically told us in Greek that this was a very good restaurant. My, how she was right!

We ate here the last day of our stay in Thessaloniki, looking for an authentic place with good food, and that was exactly what we got. There were many locals eating there as well, so we had the chance to watch and imitate them on some aspects of Greek restaurant customs. When we didn't understand something, the staff was cheerful and explained things to us.

The place is small and very charming. There are political posters from the 20s and 30s in Spain and France, creating a nice, nostalgic atmosphere.

The value was excellent, especially on the main courses and the wine (oh, the wine!). We're looking forward to visiting here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank braunschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salonica, Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere great greek food and flavours.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

In a very special location that travels back in the history of Thessaloniki. A resturant with a great identity and greek taditional food. Ideal for summer launch and dinners. A ''must see'' for everyone who would like to taste a handmade traditional recipes in an affordable price to say the least.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandros L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, 1920s feel, exc food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The street lamplight coming through the floor to ceiling windows in this old town resto creates a great mood. Food very cheap yet exc. very highly recommend

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igglis also viewed

Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Been to Igglis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing