We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive entrance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impressive entrance”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel
The welcome entrance is amazing ,the price it was nice for 5star hotel , also the breakfast was one of the best , the rooms ......was clean , the tv from the rooms was old but with many chanels !!! Any way I recoment it because the price was nc and near at the town with.... Interesting shops near the hotel also the Internet was fast. !!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind words and the time taken to write a review of your stay in Porto Palace Hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear from satisfied customers, as it gives us courage to keep trying even harder to meet their needs.
We will be delighted to have the chance to welcome you to our hotel during your next stay in Thessaloniki.
Kind regards,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    174
    71
    26
    12
See reviews for
48
79
16
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I booked the Porto Palace as we were going to a concert at Block 33, which is about a 50 yard walk from the hotel! For that, it was ideal ....

The hotel is a bit isolated; in a disused part of the old docks, it's surrounded by decaying warehouses and 4-5 clubs. I'm not sure why anyone would choose this for a city visit; as it's a long walk, through the old docks are, to get into the centre of town. I understand there are buses, and the taxis are reasonable, but we didn't use either of those.

We had a nice room on the second floor; fairly spacious, with plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom had just a shower, and was of "wet-room" design; so once one of us had had a shower, the other was paddling. I don't really understand why that design was used.

We had a snack lunch in the restaurant - a very big club sandwich, with chips and dips; neither of us managed to finish them! Breakfast (included in the room rate) was average, at best; the cooked food was no more than luke-warm by the time you'd got it back to your table. But there was plenty of variety in the buffet.

Overall, I'd be happy to stay here again in the unlikely event that I was going to another show at Block 33; but for a trip to Thessaolniki I'd really want to be closer to town.

Room Tip: The higher in the hotel the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for the nice words and the time dedicated to write a review of your stay.
Regarding your concerns about the hotel location, I would have to argue that it is uncomfortable, as it is really close to the city center and very easily accessible as you mention. What's more, one of the hotel's main assets is the spacious parking, which is offered on a complimentary basis to all hotel guests.
We will be glad to have the chance to welcome you to Porto Palace Hotel once again,
Kind regards,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Staying at Porto Palace is always a pleasant experience! Excellent services, clean rooms, convenient location close to city center and a restaurant destination in itself. The most elegant hotel in town for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Despina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Διευθυντής at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your positive feedback and for the time dedicated to write this review.
We are glad to hear from satisfied customers, it motivates us to keep offering high standand services to our esteemed guests.
We will be glad to welcome you to Porto Palace Hotel again, if your travel plans bring you back to Thessaloniki,
Sincerely,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I am using this hotel for my customers visiting Thessaloniki. Very competitive prices, professional people working in the hotel ready to assist with the best possible way to any of my demands, offering a great business stay. Receptionist usually offers to my customers a complimentary upgrade every time it is available. Very clean rooms with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom size is standard. Design of the room is relaxing and it feels like home. 5 mins away from down town but there is very frequent shuttle bus to the hotel. I have enjoyed breakfast for many times, it is of high quality food, wide variety, everything i would expect for a perfect breakfast to start my day.
I will definitely use the hotel again for the future stays of my customers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savvas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear guest,
first of all, we would like to thank you for the positive feedback and the time dedicated to write this review.
We are always pleased to hear from content customers. Addressing all business people needs is one of our major concerns and we are happy that our strong efforts are recognized by our esteemed guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you and/or your cooperates to our hotel soon,
Sincerely,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Big clean rooms, excellent service and amazing food! What more could anyone ask??? The location is perfect: near to the center (10 minutes by bus and the bus station is just outside the hotel)! I definetely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veroniki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your positive review.
It is a joy to hear from satisfied customers, it makes up keep up with our efforts to offer high standard services with a smile.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you to our hotel once again,
Sincerely,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel is located outside the center of Thessaloniki, so you will need to take a taxi or rent a car in order to visit the main parts of the town. It has nice and clean rooms, nice sitting area and helpful front desk officers. The breakfast is carefully cooked, but the quantities do not last till the ending time. We visited the breakfast area 15 minutes before closing and some of the dishes were already empty (inlcuding the delicious crepes). When we asked from the waiter to have some of the crepes, he replied that the kitchen was already closed!!!! This is not a good attitude for the rate we paid for our stay. I do not think I will visit this hotel again, there are other hotels that provide better value for money in Thessaloniki.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vang_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback and the time devoted to write your impressions of your stay at Porto Palace Hotel.
We also thank you for bringing the incident to our attention, so that we can investigage it further and prevent respective events in the furture.
As fas the hotel location is concerned, its distance from the city center is only about 2 kms, which would not register as far. What's more, the hotel offers frequent transfer to the city center with its shuttle bus service. You could ask for this service, should you come back.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel,
Sincerely,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I wouldn't say a 5 star hotel, but 4 star for sure…
Clean rooms but small for a 5 star and unfortunately noise came from everywhere… From the other rooms and more tragically from the nearby clubs…
Another disadvantage is that is lokated far from the city center….

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pan0s_athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your feeback on your stay with us.
Thank you for the positive review, nonetheless we are sorry to hear that the noise from the neighboring clubs bothered you. The building is a modern monument, so despite our efforts to totally soundproof it, there heve been limits to the degree we could intervene. Nevertherless, we try our best to place our costumers to as quiet rooms as possible.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Porto Palace Hotel,
Sincerely,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
1.2 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#20 of 60 in Thessaloniki
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 60 in Thessaloniki
1,371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#8 of 60 in Thessaloniki
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 60 in Thessaloniki
967 reviews
2.1 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 60 in Thessaloniki
610 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 60 in Thessaloniki
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Palace Hotel

Property: Porto Palace Hotel
Address: 65 26th Octovriou Avenue, Port, Thessaloniki 546 28, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest of the deluxe class hotels in Thessaloniki, Porto Palace Hotel & Conference Center, opened to the public in late 2005 after the attentive restoration of the historical building of 1913. It currently constitutes an excellent hospitality choice for all those characterized by a special sense of aesthetics while its industrial architecture differentiates it from any other 5 star hotel in Thessaloniki.It offers the perfect setting for high standard accommodation and lodging of most successful business and social events. Its proximity to both the city center and the industrial & commercial zones make it an ideal choice for both business travelers and leisure visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing