We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Industrial Architecture - Nice Hotel”
Review of Porto Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two days, while attending a friend's wedding in Thessaloniki. The hotel is located in the Industrial/Port area of the city, which is a new trend in the last few years. It is not centrally located however there is plenty of parking space and it is near the train and bus station. The staff were very helpful and the room service impicable. We needed ironing service immediately and as soon as we called the service a very kind lady came after just 5 minutes picked up the shirt and brought it back to us in half an hour. The hotel is new and has a lot of potential. The rooms were very clean, with all the amenities and also had free wifi everywhere. The breakfast was very rich as well. I definatelly recommend it, and especially if you are attending a conference there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoThessaloniki, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for choosing Porto Palace Hotel for your stay and for your kind review.
We would be delighted to welcome you again at our property during your next stay in Thessaloniki.

Kind regards,

Konstantina Mamada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Porto Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 490 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you have a conference or event at Porto Palace, it will be very convenient and confortable. The rooms are well equipped and the cleaning staff is unbelievable (I think they came by 2X per day!).
The breakfast is excellent. There are many choices that are well prepared and there is good coffee. If you need to order dinner, the selection is poor and overpriced.
The main issue is that the location leaves a lot to be desired. It's in the old industrial area, which means you must take a 10-minute bus ride into the city center for ANYTHING. There are literally only abandoned buildings, a strip club, and car dealerships in the immediate vicinity. Google maps places the hotel in the wrong location. Use the hotel website for the actual address.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masgchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoThessaloniki, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for staying at Porto Palace Hotel and for the the insightful feedback.
We are glad to receive your warm comments on the cleanliness, confort and services received. On the other hand, we regret to hear your impressions on the surrounding area. The area around our property is industrial and can therefore be peculiar to the strange eye. However, I would have to note that 10 minutes ride to the city center is not generally considered to be such a long ride to most of our guests.
We hope to have the joy to welcome you again in our hotel,

Sincerely,
Konstantina Mamada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were there on June 9 , 2012 . Looked up information online what the Hotel offered . We were a group of 40 and the rooms were assigned beforehand . It seems we were the UN-lucky ones of the group since our room was a very small room that our luggage took up the space around the bed and made it impossible to walk around.Worse than that was our bathroom. It was smaller than on a cruiseship. There was no shower courtain on the 2by2 ft. shower so it soaked the toilet completely. There was no room to place the clean towels. Some in our group got rooms with 2 bathrooms and we hardly got one . Always ask about the room you are assigned to because eventhough we all paid the same rate we just got the sprinkles of the 5 stars .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoThessaloniki, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear esteemed guest,

thank you for taking time to send us your feedback on your stay at Porto Palace Hotel.
Your impressions on our property is understandably disappointing, given that you were assigned with a room not as privileged as the vast majority of our hotel rooms. It is obvious that when the property is full, there are unfortunately some less luck visitors.
We hope that we will get the chance to serve you in an exquisite manner the next time you visit Thessaloniki.
Hoping that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Porto Palace Hotel,

Kind regards,

Konstantina Mamada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you happen to attend an event (wedding, conference) that takes place at the Porto Palace it is an excellent conference centre (internet, space) and it is convenient to stay right there.
The breakfast is fine and the room has everything you need. I appreciate that they conserve energy by making sure that when you leave your room you have to remove your entry card from a slot that activates lights and air conditioning. (hence turning off everything)
However…
If you are not attending a conference on the premises I see no reasons whatsoever to stay there. The neighbourhood is awful and ugly and you cannot go for a walk or find a restaurant nearby (and the food at the hotel is very expensive). For me it is way more pleasant to be able to discover a city by stepping out the door and walking places…
I stayed there for half the conference I was attending and spend the other days in a hotel in the centre and it was the best of both world.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KuriaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoThessaloniki, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for the time taken to express your impression of Porto Palace Hotel.
First of all, we appreciated the good words regarding the conference facilities and the services you enjoyed in our property.
We regreat hearing that you did not share the same feelings regarding the surroundings of the hotel. It is true that the area is industrial and therefore not the most appealing to a foreign visitor, however the distance to the city center is rather short.
Finally, we are glad to inform you that we have adjusted our a la carte catalogues and that you may find some culinary options to suit your tastes the next time you choose to stay at Porto Palace Hotel.
Looking forward to meeting you again at our premises,

Kind regards,

Konstantina Mamada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good hotel with spacious rooms; helpful staff; generous portions of tasty food.
Location wise -- not particularly convenient for walking into town (takes 30-40 minutes) but bus 31 takes you there easily.
If cold during the winter, make sure hotel provides better blankets.

Room Tip: hotel located near the port and former warehouses, not sure there are rooms with exceptional views
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoThessaloniki, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear guest,

we thank you for your feedback on your stay at Porto Palace Hotel.
It was a pleasure to have served you.
We regret to hear that you did not ask for a duvet cover during your stay. Additionally, you could have taken advantage of our shuttle bus service towards the city center for your better convenience.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel,

Sincerely,

Konstantina Mamada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Comfortable, very elegant, great choice if you don't really care for a pool or gym.. It is not that close to the centre of the city (not within walking distance) but no more than a 10 minute ride.
We stayed there in order to attend a wedding reception in the grand hall, and it was absolutely stunning..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoThessaloniki, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for the time dedicated to write a review on Porto Palace Hotel and for your good words.
It was a joy to have you stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome you again in our propery next time you visit Thessaloniki.

Sincerely,

Konstantina Mamada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

it's a nice and very clean hotel. it is located in a quiet area very close to the city. the rooms are clean, well equipped and with nice furniture. breakfast is very good and the stuff very kind (not too kind in restaurant area).

Room Tip: stay away from school trips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makis_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoThessaloniki, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for your review and the time dedicated to write your insights on our property.
We are delighted to hear from a satisfied guest and we will be happy to welcome you to Porto Palace Hotel in the future.
I assure you that our F&B Manager will be informed on your comment on our restaurant staff and I guarantee that at your next visit you will be greeted with the warmest smiles.
Sincerely,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.6 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#10 of 58 in Thessaloniki
549 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Makedonia Palace
Makedonia Palace
#5 of 58 in Thessaloniki
960 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
713 reviews
1.8 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Palace Hotel

Address: 65 26th Octovriou Avenue, Port, Thessaloniki 546 28, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range: $103 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest of the deluxe class hotels in Thessaloniki, Porto Palace Hotel & Conference Center, opened to the public in late 2005 after the attentive restoration of the historical building of 1913. It currently constitutes an excellent hospitality choice for all those characterized by a special sense of aesthetics while its industrial architecture differentiates it from any other 5 star hotel in Thessaloniki.It offers the perfect setting for high standard accommodation and lodging of most successful business and social events. Its proximity to both the city center and the industrial & commercial zones make it an ideal choice for both business travelers and leisure visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Porto Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing