We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Davitel Tobacco Hotel
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Davitel Tabacco Hotel is a decent hotel in Thessaloniki. The location is OK. It is an easy walk to St. Demetrious Church, where you can catch the Hop-on Hop-off Bus, as well as city busses. It is a rather lengthy walk to the Airistotolus Square where most of the entertainment, cafes and popular restaurants are.

The down side this the hotel is: its distance from a lot of the major tourists sites, a lack of restaurants close by the hotel, and the very limited food in the Cafe for lunch or dinner. Best to makes plans to eat while you're out touring the city than trying to find one around the hotel.

Upsides of the hotel are: Clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet, decent rooms.

I would consider staying here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid traffic noise in your room ask for a room in the rear of the hotel. You won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night in May, and found it very comfortable. The rooms have double glazed windows, so you don't hear any traffic on the road, and it was located approximately about a kilometre north of the town square. Bathroom was big and and amenities were provided, and the breakfast was adequate, with plenty of juices, yoghurts, coffee,eggs and assorted cheeses, Staff were pleasent and helpful, with good maps provided to us at reception of the city itself. Will have no problems staying at this hotel again....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. 1st night facing street was very noisy with all night traffic. Changed room to back of hotel which was super quiet and staff extremely pleasant and helpful with everything. All staff spoke good English. Free WiFi with fast speed. 10-15 min walk to main areas. Small cafes close by as well. Rooms comfortable on the smaller side. Would definitely stay again. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianeDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I recently stayed at the Tobacco Hotel for two nights. I selected it for price and location and was not disappointed in any way. My room was large, quiet, and comfortable with good a/c but no view. The staff spoken excellent English and was friendly and helpful. Wi-fi was fast and free, and the complimentary breakfast was satisfying but not exceptional (no fruit or pastries). The hotel is within reasonable walking distance to most tourist sites: the landmark Arch is a good 10 minutes walk with another 10 to the White Tower. I definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: It helps to know that the hotel is on the same street as St. Demetrius Church. (It's also just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMcTier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We really liked this hotel mainly because it was quiet. Thessaloniki is a bustling city with way too many cars and motorcycles buzzing around in crowded streets. The Davitel Hotel is in a more residential part of the city--though still right in the centre. We walked everywhere. We had a room at the back of the hotel, and we literally heard no street noise. Also the people who stay in the hotel seem to be considerate travellers, so there was no rowdy part- all-night-noise from guests either. Service was gracious and attentive. I blew the fuse in our room (don't ask), and we were quickly moved to another one. Rooms and all areas of the hotel are very clean. The rooms are simply furnished, but the bed is comfortable. Don't expect luxurious amenities, but what we got was more than adequate. The air conditioning works efficiently (important if you go in the summer), but windows also open for fresh air.

The breakfast was quite good. Typical European buffet breakfast. There are both hot and cold breakfast foods, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit. Coffee from a machine but it was pretty good.

Room Tip: As for a room at the back of the hotel. You'll overlook a courtyard with apartments very close b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

A 7 year old hotel with an excellent room maintenance.Spotlessly clean,spacious rooms (standard double is about 20 sq.m),lots of amenities,great variety in mini bar's beverages/drinks (reasonable prices),autonomous A/C in each room,AWESOME matress&pillows.
The view is not impressive,but the hotel is located in the central avenue of Agiou Dimitriou.
10΄ οn foot from the Railway Station.The city's centre&the shopping avenues are located 10' on foot,the seaside 15' on foot,The White Tower 20' on foot.All in a range of 1-2 km!For the non walking lovers,taxis are passing by dozens outside the entrance and you can go in the best places by spending 3,5-4€.
The breakfast has many delicacies and fresh pastries.In my 4 day stay i ate only once,because you cannot wake up before 11am when you are in one of the Top 10 world's partying cities!(see Lonely Planet)!
Due to a group check-in i had to move for my last night stay into another room.My room upgraded to the suite for a small additional cost.Awesome 35sq.m&20sq.m balcony,7th floor suite!
I really want to thank the gentle&friendly personel for my pleasant stay&the owners for the excellent maintenance.
Lucky you Thessaloniki people..Your city is magical!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo13man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The hotel is near the center of the city,the breakfast was very nice and the rooms were very large!!Very clean,double bed 2m x 2m,fast internet.I liked especially the sofa in the room were you can sit and watch a movie without having to be always lied at the bed.
Price at 70€ very reasonable for 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasparof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.3 mi away
Anatolia Hotels & Villas
Anatolia Hotels & Villas
#9 of 58 in Thessaloniki
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#15 of 58 in Thessaloniki
303 reviews
2.9 mi away
Byzantio Hotel
Byzantio Hotel
#35 of 58 in Thessaloniki
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#12 of 58 in Thessaloniki
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zaliki Boutique Hotel
Zaliki Boutique Hotel
#20 of 58 in Thessaloniki
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davitel Tobacco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davitel Tobacco Hotel

Address: 25 Agiou Dimitriou, Thessaloniki 546 32, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range: $67 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Davitel Tobacco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Davitel Tobacco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Davitel Tobacco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing