We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but noisy on weekends” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but noisy on weekends”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a good hotel for the money we paid, nice rooms, excellent staff but it was very noisy on the friday and saturday night we were there. booming music outside until 6am - apparently the club district is very close by. It made sleeping very difficult and for that reason only I would not return. We were on the first floor overlooking the cafe's - perhaps a higher floor or a different overlook would have helped

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TorontoMotheroftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    45
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
114
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed at the Bristol for two nights at the end of an Easter tour of northern Greece. Bit of a final splurge although I thought the room was extremely reasonable (£80 per night) given the standard of hotel and location.

The hotel is a little tricky to find (or at least I found it hard to pin point) - you can get to the general area but actually finding the right turn was awkward. We called in the end and the manager directed us from where we were and came and stood in the street on the corner to 'wave us in'. That was much appreciated.

Parking wasn't a problem as the day we arrived and the following day were national holidays so parking restrictions weren't in force on the surrounding. Otherwise I think you'd have to put the car in a nearby (paid for) car park.

The manager was super friendly and as the hotel wasn't too full gave us a choice of two different rooms. Both lovely, large & stylish (and it goes without saying impeccably clean). I think they were just standard but were of extremely high quality and standard.

The hotel's in a great location for the seafront, and converted warehouses (bars, cafes restaurants, art galleries etc). Also the surrounding streets buzz with restaurants and bars. The cool and trendy bar area centred around Sygrou St is just a 10mins stroll (north) away too.

A great idea is use of the hotel's free bicycles. We didn't manage to use them as we had already planned our day out sightseeing in Thessaloniki but they would be a perfect way to cruise up and down the nearby seafront (with bike paths - unusual for Greece) and cafe hop.

The hotel has been converted to a very high standard and it's interesting to see the 'before and after photos' adorning the walls of the marble staircase.

Breakfast is in the associated restaurant/bar and is just great. A choice of anything you like from the very comprehensive breakfast menu. Fantastic coffee, yoghurt with fruit, nuts and honey (in fact we had to ask for one to share as the amount was too much for one each). In addition we had omelettes cooked with mushrooms and peppers but pretty much whatever you want was on the menu. They even made up my wife's favourite orange-grapefruit juice mix - freshly squeezed and delicious. Service was immaculate.

In fact, there's nothing I could fault with the Bristol. A great classy hotel, perfect location, friendly staff, amazing breakfast and free bikes thrown in. Top notch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spratticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our choice for the Bristol was based on comments and ratings from tripadvisor and it payed off - we had a perfect stay! Starting with the position, this hotel is right in the heart of the city, within walking distance from most attractions. We had a double room where everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was "a la carte", and everything prepared for us was lovely.
Last but not least, the price was amazingly low!
Will definitely come back to The Bristol !
Tip: Please ask for parking arrangements, parking can be very difficult in Thessaloniki!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler3149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel is perfect. We booked a superior double room, which turned out to be a suite. It was Greek Orthodox Weekend in Greece. There were two receptionists on duty a wonderful lady during the day and a nice gentleman at night, I wish I had asked their names but unfortunately I neglected to do so. They were great, making dinner reservations, providing information and recommendations, making calls to find opening hours of various sites on that holiday weekend and in general being helpful and nice. Breakfast is included in the price it is a la cart but they don't mind if you order every item on the menu. We had to check out at about 4 a.m. to catch a flight and the kitchen is still closed at that hour so we couldn't have breakfast. But since they knew we were leaving early when we went down we had coffee and cake waiting for us in the lobby. The hotel is located in Ladadika, there are plenty of cafes and restaurants near by. It is about five minutes walk to Aristotelus Square, and fifteen minutes walk to the White Tower and Archeological museum. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, with nice little unexpected touches like fresh flowers. The bathroom is comfortable, new and very well equipped. The towels are very thick and superb. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. When I come back to Thessaloniki I will definitely stay at the Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

All was really good. Location, lunch, breakfast, staff etc ... Only the bed was a bit too hard and uncomfortable for me but this was not due to any lack of quality. Just the type of bed and views vary on what people prefer.

The location advantage includes proximity to almost all mediums of transport while the Train Station is just two bus stops away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The2ndMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
besford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

this hotel exceeded our expectations even though our expectations were high.
first class hospitable helpful service great rooms fabulous breakfasts
all overseen by the wonderful mein host "Sapphire" and aided and abetted by his team.
everybody went the extra mile in helping resolve our travel and dining plans ; nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,070 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Bristol, in the center of Thessaloniki, is a neo-classical mansion with 20 suites, complete with period antiques and Art-Deco furniture and accessories.

Everything is perfect, beginning with the incredible service at the reception desk and all over the property. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, sparkling. All have safes, refrigerators, LCD TVs and free hotel-wide WiFi.

All in all, an unforgettable experience for myself and my mother.

Room Tip: all rooms are actually suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.2 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#2 of 60 in Thessaloniki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#12 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#11 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 2 Katouni, Thessaloniki 546 25, Greece (Formerly Capsis Hotel Bristol)
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bristol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, located in the heart of Thessaloniki's historical district, is an exquisite combination of past and present. The building (1870) was the city's post office. In 1917, this masterpiece of 19th century architecture was miraculously saved from a catastrophic fire that destroyed a major part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing