We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice”
Review of The Excelsior Bistro - CLOSED

The Excelsior Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

the restaurant is located in the centre of the town, is the restaurant of the excelsior hotel, the decoration is fresh and cozy,the cuisine is exquisite! we were welcomed and had a table comfortable,for 4 persons,even though we were 2,we faced the main road.
we had a welcome starter and we ordered roasted mushrooms with goat cheese.so yummy!
for main plate, i had a pizza,with proscuto and perorino!the other main plate was the risotto with chicken and limoncelo flavor!
the surprise was the desert! chocolate mousse so fine serviced!
amazing lunch,for sure we will visit it again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FilaretiAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

it was made of fresh and local ingredients. The appearance was fresh and the taste very good. The service was also good although a little slow as regards from sitting down to taking the order. The kitchen was fast to prepare the food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pijoalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unforgettable lunch”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

the bistro has a cozy atmosphere and a quality. Inside is so well decorated,warm colors and modern seats. The staff welcomed and friendly, our waitor explained us every plate and proposed us according to our preferences.
At the beggining they welcome you with an oval plate starter salads and warm bread. smart and kind.
we had a salad,a cheese appetizer,a fish plate,a meat plate,and the amazing deserts.
the fish was exquisite,a fillet of a greek tasty fish cooked with a greek herb,called stamnagathi,do not miss it.
The cheese was the best version i ever ate of "mastello Chios" accompagnied with figue marmellade.
do not miss this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PepNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“many likes !”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

how could i miss this bistro?i stayed so close so it is the first choice for a lunch or a coffee. i like the outside a lot, is so stylish european,in the heart of the town,mitropoleos str,the inside of the bistro is fresh and modern. i had a lemon risotto with raisins ,so yummy and my mate had a fresh salmon.
Many likes! is quiet cheap for what offers.
The service gentle and formal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zinoviat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant / Bistro”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Happy atmosphere, nice and wellcoming stuff, fair price.
Also popular among locals.
Look for the Chicken Risoto!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ofer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Excelsior Bistro also viewed

Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing