We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice tasting tour!”

Eat and Walk Food Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eat and Walk your way through Thessaloniki, learn all about the gastronomical history of the city, visit the oldest food markets and taste the famous local delicacies. This unique experience offers a number of choices: follow the standard tour or extend the tasting pleasure with a cooking class, a focused tasting or even a real Greek feast. For foodies or not, this walk will satisfy all five of your senses.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super nice tasting tour!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Super great tour ! Best to take the tour is beginning of your stay . You get so many knowledges about Thessaloniki cuisine and history. After that tour you are much more smarter where or what to eat and where to go :) That was the most intresting and best tour in Salonica.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlin1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“buy, eat and walk in thessaloniki”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

the great program , many stores , incluted the best brands with best prices , excelents restaurants and the beatiful an excited greek people a lot in all places !!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cassiolage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too fun!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I took a tour of this beautiful city last month with Sotiria, and I think she finally changed his view of "tours". We would never have had the same impression of Thessaloniki had we not walked the streets with her. The beginning was a fun taste of Greek coffee that she made for us, followed by an intriguing fortune telling at the end of your cup. The markets and shops that she took us to were colorful, interesting, and unique. My favorite was the cheese shop with organic cheese of all varieties...no preservatives and very tasty. I also finally tasted octopus that I enjoyed after 3 failed attempts at different locations in Greece. Sotiria was extremely personable and helpful. I would recommend this tour for anyone that wants to get a true taste of all that Thessaloniki has to offer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A different food tour!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

It was amazing for me to explore the gastronomical history of Thessaloniki in such a relaxing atmosphere.
We start our tour in a beautiful place, where cooking lessons for amateurs take place, having Greek coffee, sweet , savory pies and learning about the gastronomical history of the town. The slideshow on the back round was very helpful.
The fortune telling of the Greek coffee afterwards was a interesting revealing for me!!
Then we left the cooking school and started our walk to the historical center. Sotiria made a very good selection of tasting stops. Ouzo, cheeses, pies, refreshments and many other tasty Greek products. We were not tired , the tour lasted about 3 hours, and we had the time to explore, shop and feel the Greek aromas of the old markets.
A complete food tour, i would thank my Greek friends Anna and Makis who suggested the EatandWalk.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

For starters, it was teeming rain, so there wasn't much else to do that day. We made the trip downtown. Santoria was great about communicating beforehand and explaining everything to us. It started off indoors where we drank Greek/Turkish Coffee and pastries. A slideshow played in the background while she taught us the history of greek cuisine and of thessaloniki. She was very knowledgable and there was no question couldn't answer. She was also very accomodating of our 3 1/2 year old son. Then we left the "cooking club" and set off for the markets. Every place she took was really interesting and tasty. She even went back with us afterwards and helped us purchase some cheese from one of the shops. I also went back and purchased some olives and fruits from the markets she showed us. I was happy she was willing to do the tour just for my family. (3 of us). The other eating tour in Thessaloniki wouldnt' allow children under 6 so this is the obvious choice if you have small children.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rtintera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat and Walk Food Day Tours also viewed

Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Been to Eat and Walk Food Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing