We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel, great service”
Review of Makedonia Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makedonia Palace
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, great service”
Reviewed May 11, 2009

As for a Greek hotel, the staff at the hotel was very helpful and patient. You expect better room for the price, and the air conditioner was very weak and it struggled with the high summer temperature

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ioannis_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    341
    92
    20
    10
See reviews for
160
249
44
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Great place to stay if you want to visit the sites of Alexander the Great and the overall Greek Historical sites in Makedonia Greece.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyPolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens,Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

This Hotel is one of a few hotels in Thessaloniki that are situated at the sea side.
It takes 20 min.walk to the city center or 5-10 min. by car. You can also book a taxi (anytime from the reception) at the fare of 4-5 € to the downtown..
It isn’t a new, modern hotel, however it’s a big classical 5star hotel.
The rooms are large & comfortable. The staff & service are also very good.
There are rooms that have city view & sea view. We stayed at 529 (sea view) that was a large, clean, beautiful room. There were a bottle of red wine & some “deserts” as a complimentary. The room had an angular balcony so there was a second window that added a better view! The bed (double) was very big and the bathroom clean & comfortable.
About the prices…Ι will state some services below & you can adjudge it.
The room rate was 180 per night, a club-sandwich 19€, a small bottle of water 5.50€, a simple whisky ( a shot from the room’s mini bar) 16€.
It’s worth to note that the menu of the beautiful restaurant named “ Nine” ( 9th floor) was excellent !!!
It was the 4th time we stayed at Makedonia Palace, & we can admit that it’s really a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Amoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Arriving at 3am you don't necessarily expect great service. I was very pleased with the welcome at this hotel at a very poorly organised arrival time (not their fault). Having arrived to find no taxi or transport at the airport the booking agent had conspired to fail to spell my name correctly (fairly understandble in Greece where English is not widely used). There was no reservation either when I called at the front desk suitably tired and fractious. In contrast the staff quickly made amends by providing a room (in a full hotel?) and assuring me not to worry that they would correct the errors. Quite a help to have supportive desk staff after a long journey.

The rooms I was allocated was very reasonable. On 7th floor I was very lucky to have a sea view (pictured) across the long promenade. Beds were comfortable and amenities all worked well. Good desk area. Free wireless internet access was a boon.

Agree with other reviews that the mini bar prices are very steep but this is not a problem if you don't use the mini bar! Good robe provided but the towels we a little less absorbent than I had expected. I had a suit laundered exceptionally well and very quickly (returned by 4pm on the same day as standard service). The restaurant on seventh floor was good for range and quality of foods but the meats on offer tend to be a little too fatty for my taste. The loud background music in this area is a little diconcerting.

Walk to the centre of the city is not really all that far and the proximity of the promenade is really convenient.

The fabric of the hotel is very reasonable and whiel a little unfair to say it is seventies styled while it is not that contemporary it is very pleasant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smoking is still very common in Greece in every setting so smell of smoke
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rjmacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

The good: walking distance from town; sea views (though not particularly interesting view [--] the leisure complex extends out into the near horizon - high floor is better!); the breakfast; late checkouts; friendly staff; 12 Euros to airport.
The bad: Stupid minibar prices (15 Euros for a small can of beer, 8 Euros for a chocolate bar!!); leisure suite is falling apart; no choice of air conditioning after a certain time in September; toilet seat right next to door so you have to back in; rather tired furnishings; very old TV; little space for clothes if staying more than three days.
Thessaloniki is not a great place for hotels - and top rate Lazarius is way too far out of town.

  • Liked — Free wifi
  • Disliked — Poor leisure centre
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

I was to stay at Makedonia Palace for a week, but our plans changed last minute. The staff promptly changed the dates on check-in, and they let us stay for a shorter period without any cancellation cost. The service at this property was truly great, especially for a hotel in Greece; nothing was much trouble for them. Only exception was the service at the Sea Food restaurant; it was one of the slowest i have ever experienced while the food was good. Breakfast was top notch as well. The only complaint is the condition of the hotel. It's still very 70s looking from the inside. The rooms are half updated with all the amenities someone might need, but they do need a refurbishment in order to reach 5 star standards. We liked the location, close to the city center, but in a quieter part of the city.

  • Liked — The level of service.
  • Disliked — The rooms do need a facelift, even their suites.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greece4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Makedonia palace is an excellent hotel. The location is advantageous (walking distance to the center of the city) and the view of the bay from the balconys is just perfect. On the other hand I dont mark it with 5/5 because the building seemed to be a little old, and It cant be compared with other newer hotels. Despite of that I didnt experience any kind of problem at all.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Christos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thessaloniki
0.8 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Nikopolis Thessaloniki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makedonia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makedonia Palace

Property: Makedonia Palace
Address: 2, M Alexandrou Ave, Thessaloniki 546 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#9 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Makedonia Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makedonia Palace: not just a luxury hotel.... a landmark. What makes a luxury hotel really stand out? Makedonia Palace offers 283 rooms and suites and redefines the meaning of luxury stay thanks to its"strategic" position. Right in front of the hotel, the redesigned seafront of Thessaloniki with the infinite view of the sea is the ideal destination for an afternoon walk. Just a few steps away stands the most significant monument and city landmark, the White Tower. And just five minutes away on foot, the city center of Thessaloniki invites you to discover it! A real paradise in the heart of the city. Experience hospitality at Makedonia Palace, the luxury hotel of Thessaloniki with the most heartfelt "Welcome"! Additional information: Makedonia Palace,is turning new page in its history! From the 15th of April, till the 31st of May the 8th Floor's Guestrooms will be upgraded and two more Floors, 7th & 6th ,will be upgraded between the 1st of July and the 31st of August. Our goal is to offer you a leading accommodation experience for your future visits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Makedonia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makedonia Palace - Classical Hotel Thessaloniki
Hotel Makedonia Palace Classical
Macedonia Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing