We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL "MAKEDONIA PALACE " - OUR SECOND HOME”
Review of Makedonia Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makedonia Palace
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“HOTEL "MAKEDONIA PALACE " - OUR SECOND HOME”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We are back from our 20 days holiday in Greece and one special part of our time from 22.08.2013 till 02.09.2013, we spent as alwyas till now in "Makedonia Palace"! We feel this one Hotel as if, as, it is - our second home for us and that is, what we feel realy everytime, when we are stayng there! We had as always a great time in the Hotel, great hospitality, great attention and special atitude to us with my boyfriend George on behalf of all our friends there - Mr. Perikli Magoulas, Mr. Perikli Vogiatzis, Dimitri Lazarou, Georgia, Olga and Popi, who did their best for us - special welcome gift in our room, special gift for George's Birtday at 29.08.2013, special Coffe Break on behalf of Mr. Babis for my group of 35 persons on 2nd of September'2013 in the Lobby and at the Terrace of the Hotel! They are so nice and so kind with us always and because of these amasing people, we are going everytime in this one Hotel! I was very happy to see again Mrs. Maria Laspidou, to meet the Director of Sales Mr. Konstantinos Zdralis and especialy, I am very happy for the special responce on behalf of the General Manager of Hotel "Makedonia Palace" - Mr. George Spyropoulos to my previous / first / revue from 20.05.2013! Dear Mr. G. Spyropoulos, I am very impressed, that you are writing and responding to all your clients, who has published revues about "Makedonia Palace in Trip Advisor! I beleive, that, with such one great atitude to all the clients and with this one type of Managment of al the Hotel and the staff, Hotel "Makedonia Palace" will be always the greatest place in Thessaoniki for all your clients!and all the people, who are visisting Thessaloniki! I would like to wish to all the great people from "Makedonia Palace" lots of health, happiness, love and prosperity in their personal and their proffesional life! THANK YOU FOR ALL, DEAR FRIENDS!!! BEST REGARDS, Milena Bratzova & Georgi Barbudov, 10.09.2013, Sofia , Bulgaria!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice - the city view is also very nice, but if are see lovers, choose sea view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILENA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your warm comments regarding your visit at Makedonia Palace.

Your hotel review make us to feel stronger and more efficient to our professional role which is to serve our clients with the best possible way.

We are glad to hear that we contributed positively to the success of your recent stay in Thessaloniki.

We are mostly pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our staff's great attitude, the hotel facilities and services offered.

Your positive input will be communicated to all head of hotel departments , which they will appreciate for sure!

Once again, many thanks.

Look forward to welcoming you back here at the Makedonia Palace in the near future.

With Gratitude,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    357
    93
    20
    11
See reviews for
174
265
44
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great king size bed, clean and the breakfast is well detailed. However, taking into account the level of the hotels in Tunisia, Hammamet, or Morocco Marrakech, the hotel should not be rated 5 stars. 4 stars at the most would be ok.

Room Tip: See to get a room with view at the see
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghaloak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

At first, I would like to personally thank you for choosing Makedonia Palace Hotel for your recent stay in Thessaloniki. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to meeting you during your next visit.

As we are continually trying to improve our services, I greatly appreciate the time you spent to write your comments on TripAdvisor website.

Your written feedback regarding your recent stay is very constructive for the hotel since guest satisfaction is a top priority issue for the hotel management.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope to see you again soon at Makedonia Palace Hotel.


With Gratitude,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Makedonia Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nea Moudania, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

a perfectly located hotel with excellent sea view .nowadays there are some works taking place right outside causing both noise and eyesore but hopefully they will give way to an improved seafront !friendly staff and polite people !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexia7409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

At first, I would like to personally thank you for choosing Makedonia Palace Hotel for your recent stay in Thessaloniki. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to meeting you during your next visit.

As we are continually trying to improve our services, I greatly appreciate the time you spent to write your comments on TripAdvisor website.

Your written feedback regarding your recent stay is very constructive for the hotel since guest satisfaction is a top priority issue for the hotel management.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope to see you again soon at Makedonia Palace Hotel.


With Gratitude,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Makedonia Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Big clean rooms.
Great sea view.
Big variety in breakfast and good quality
Friendly and polite people.
Swimming pool area old fashion.
One parking can be difficult some times but you have the choice of the hotel parking but it will cost 15 per day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

At first, I would like to personally thank you for choosing Makedonia Palace Hotel for your recent stay in Thessaloniki. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to meeting you during your next visit.

As we are continually trying to improve our services, I greatly appreciate the time you spent to write your comments on TripAdvisor website.

Your written feedback regarding your recent stay is very constructive for the hotel since guest satisfaction is a top priority issue for the hotel management.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope to see you again soon at Makedonia Palace Hotel.


With Gratitude,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Makedonia Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Gorgeously located hotel, just on the main beach boulevard of the city and in the coast line, location couldn't be better. Great restaurant for a nice dinner in its seafood restaurant with a beautiful outdoor terrace to enjoy delicious Greek sea food. But what really caught my attention: the fast, polite and costumer focus check in service. We got there tired after a long road trip from Turkey and the ladies at the reception counter just handed out the keys to our rooms for us to go freshen up, get comfortable, and take care of IDs and credit card info later...that was highly appreciated and should be a standard for so many high quality hotels! Also check our was quick and efficient, no more than 5 minutes per customer...hats off!!
Breakfast was also good, plenty of choices and very nice coffees to choose from. Overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely rooms with sea views are spectacular, the highest the floor the better of course. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

At first, I would like to personally thank you for choosing Makedonia Palace Hotel for your recent stay in Thessaloniki. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to meeting you during your next visit.

As we are continually trying to improve our services, I greatly appreciate the time you spent to write your comments on TripAdvisor website.

Your written feedback regarding your recent stay is very constructive for the hotel since guest satisfaction is a top priority issue for the hotel management.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope to see you again soon at Makedonia Palace Hotel.


With Gratitude,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Makedonia Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed 8 days in Makedonia Palace hotel.Although the hotel needs some renovations, especially the facade , it has a million dollar view. The hotel staff is absolutely fabulous, respectful, polite, professional and very kind. They would do everything to make you feel like a king. The hotel suites are wonderful and no hotel in Thessaloniki has a sea view like Makedonia Palace . Special thanks to Mr.Periklis who made our holidays one of the best in our life.All my respect to amazing people working in Makedonia Palace. And there is the best sea food restaurant in town with 7 star service. We will always stay in Makedonia Palace when we visit Thessaloniki. Thank you Makedonia Palace for giving us unforgetable time and making us feel very special. We cant wait to be back :-D

Room Tip: Sea view will take your breath away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

At first, I would like to personally thank you for choosing Makedonia Palace Hotel for your recent stay in Thessaloniki. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to meeting you during your next visit.

As we are continually trying to improve our services, I greatly appreciate the time you spent to write your comments on TripAdvisor website.

Your written feedback regarding your recent stay is very constructive for the hotel since guest satisfaction is a top priority issue for the hotel management.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope to see you again soon at Makedonia Palace Hotel.


With Gratitude,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Makedonia Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days as a layover Good hotel but since Grecotel dumped the property it is no longer maintained Good room with sea view 8th floor but the rooms have not changed since I used to stay here every year when they were a Grecotel property rooms with stained carpets lampshades old televisions rather than flat screens and no coffee/tea making facilities Wifi throughout hotel is good free and unlocked so unlike Hilton Athens no constant being logged out and having to re-sign Pool is good for Saloniki. especially if you compare it to the toddler pool at the Electra Palace Blaring American music which suits Saloniki well is a negative at the pool
Breakfast is average buffet and hot items are cold. This hotel gives itself 5 Stars I give it 3 It was 5 Star years ago as a Grecotel property and then it joined Luxury Hotels Of The World Now its an independant 3 Star
Really all if you want a Greek experience visit Israel I hear more Greek music at beach bars in Tel Aviv and see better maintained. museums churches etc in Israel than I do in Greece Greece has lost the plot and its time to vote with your feet/wallet When you arrive at Ben Gurion you are greeted in the Arrivals hall by an ancient mosaic "Καλοκερια" Try that in Greece. And Greek diaspora are treated way better in Israel than in Greece.

Room Tip: Sea View. high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

At first, I would like to personally thank you for choosing Makedonia Palace Hotel for your recent stay in Thessaloniki. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to meeting you during your next visit.

As we are continually trying to improve our services, I greatly appreciate the time you spent to write your comments on TripAdvisor website.

Your written feedback regarding your recent stay is very constructive for the hotel since guest satisfaction is a top priority issue for the hotel management.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope to see you again soon at Makedonia Palace Hotel.


With Gratitude,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Makedonia Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
2.3 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,078 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
956 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#8 of 58 in Thessaloniki
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makedonia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makedonia Palace

Property: Makedonia Palace
Address: 2 Leoforos Megalou Alexandrou, Thessaloniki 546 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#9 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makedonia Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makedonia Palace: not just a luxury hotel.... a landmark. What makes a luxury hotel really stand out? Makedonia Palace offers 283 rooms and suites and redefines the meaning of luxury stay thanks to its"strategic" position. Right in front of the hotel, the redesigned seafront of Thessaloniki with the infinite view of the sea is the ideal destination for an afternoon walk. Just a few steps away stands the most significant monument and city landmark, the White Tower. And just five minutes away on foot, the city center of Thessaloniki invites you to discover it! A real paradise in the heart of the city. Experience hospitality at Makedonia Palace, the luxury hotel of Thessaloniki with the most heartfelt "Welcome"! Additional information: Makedonia Palace,is turning new page in its history! From the 15th of April, till the 31st of May the 8th Floor's Guestrooms will be upgraded and two more Floors, 7th & 6th ,will be upgraded between the 1st of July and the 31st of August. Our goal is to offer you a leading accommodation experience for your future visits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makedonia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makedonia Palace - Classical Hotel Thessaloniki
Hotel Makedonia Palace Classical
Macedonia Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing